PAL Metroid Prime 3 "issues".

Discussion in 'Wii - Console and Game Discussions' started by armand66, Aug 27, 2007.

Aug 27, 2007

PAL Metroid Prime 3 "issues". by armand66 at 10:11 AM (34,667 Views / 0 Likes) 161 replies

  1. armand66
    OP

    armand66 Newbie

    Hey all,

    have fully downloaded Metroid Prime 3, but have held back playing it yet (trust me, for me this is driving me insane lol) due to trying to find out more info on what this DOES to PAL systems.

    Now, i have a PAL system, with both the new updates bringing it to 3.0E, including the small net update.

    I know i can play MP3 on my system, and that it will update in a way that will produce 2 more channels, another news/weather channel each, which do not work, and cannot be deleted.



    INFO WE KNOW OF:




    A quote taken from the release post, by Redsquirrel.

    Now, we're waiting confirmation from Redsquirrel and others who have already updated, that the channels (except for the dupes) work fine, that the system settings work fine, and that your able to play online, aka, mario strikers.


    It seems this update doesn't nuff up your SETTINGS in the same way that certain PAL games (mario strikers, Big Brain Academy) nuffed up japanese and ntsc gamers.

    The more info we can get from more people who have already played Prime 3 on their PAL system the better, so if people don't mind reporting in here, with the following details, that would be great.

    SYSTEM SETTINGS PRIOR to 3.0E (include any random changes, such as dupe channels)
    DID YOU UPDATE TO 3.0E?
    HAVE YOU DONE THE MP3 UPDATE?
    HAVE YOU TESTED GAMES OTHER THAN MP3, AS WELL AS ONLINE, AND CHANNELS?



    The more reports we get the easier it will be to see how things are for PAL gamers still reluctant to play MP3.
     


  2. T-hug

    Chief Editor T-hug Always like this.

    pip
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    8,599
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Pinned for convenience.
     
  3. [Truth]

    Member [Truth] GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Messages:
    765
    Location:
    Mushroom Kingdom
    Country:
    Germany
     
  4. X-Tractor

    Newcomer X-Tractor Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Finland
    Can't all this be avoided if you first use RegionFrii, and then use Wii Brick Blocker?
     
  5. armand66
    OP

    armand66 Newbie

    No it can't.

    Regionfrii doesn't do anything different than what Wiikey "partial regionfree" does, which is simply overwriting the region blocking, while WiiBrickBlocker if used, makes MP3 simply pop up with a black screen.
     
  6. Innes

    Newcomer Innes Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    PAL Wii
    3.0E Updated with Metroid Prime 3 and recieved 2 duplication weather/news channels
    Wiiconnect24 still works.
    Channels still work.
     
  7. Shuny

    Member Shuny I'm in yr forum, reading yr postz

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,019
    Location:
    Somewhere in the world
    Country:
    France
    Hello,

    PAL Wii updated to 2.2E with WiFi Connection
    Duplicate channels appeared with the game "Pokemon Battle Revolution"
    The Nintendo Wii crashed a few day after ("The system files are corrupted. Please refer to the Wii manual ...")

    Never tried Metroid Prime 3.0E update.
     
  8. nWorulezzz

    Newcomer nWorulezzz Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    Got Pal WII with Wiikey

    Version 3.0E (latest firmware)

    Get an Disc error screen when i put dvd into the wii...
    Same error happens with Madden08 ...

    anyone got a idea?
     
  9. Innes

    Newcomer Innes Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    use better media
     
  10. Shuny

    Member Shuny I'm in yr forum, reading yr postz

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,019
    Location:
    Somewhere in the world
    Country:
    France
    Your backup is not burnt correctly ?


    Look likes playing other region of Wii games is REALLY risky [​IMG]
     
  11. Ben_j

    Member Ben_j GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Messages:
    696
    Country:
    France
    The 2 extra channels issue was already known with other games
     
  12. bradws

    Newcomer bradws Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Australia
    PAL - WiiKey
    Updated with 3.0E.
    Updated with Metroid Prime 3 - duplicate News and Weather channels appeared.
    Firmware still reads 3.0E.
    Differences between US and PAL system remain.
     
  13. Maikel Steneker

    Member Maikel Steneker M3 Fanboy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,396
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Yeah, that's one of the main reasons I don't want to install a mod chip.

    I bought a DS and GBA flashcart to play games earlier without messing up my system... That includes just modifying it.

    I'll have to wait for something like a jigkick for the Wii or something [​IMG]
     
  14. Shuny

    Member Shuny I'm in yr forum, reading yr postz

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,019
    Location:
    Somewhere in the world
    Country:
    France
    If you want to play your own backups, there is no problem. But for region issues ... [​IMG]
     
  15. Innes

    Newcomer Innes Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Shuny can you stop filling this thread with your hysteria spam please and keep it ontopic kthnx.
     
  16. martin88

    Member martin88 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    990
    Country:
    Canada
    I feel bad for PAL system owners seeing all these early NTSC releases.
     
  17. mku_i

    Newcomer mku_i Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Posted this in the release thread but I'll try here too.

    Are there any PAL games that forces you to update to 3.0E? There's something I want to try out. Does Tiger Woods/Trauma Centre or anything have an update?
     
  18. Maikel Steneker

    Member Maikel Steneker M3 Fanboy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,396
    Country:
    Netherlands
    That's what I mean, I can't play games earlier anymore [​IMG] It's nice to be able to make backups of my original games, but it's not really needed. For my DS it's another story, as I use it when I go on vacation (I want everything on one cart).
     
  19. gazab

    Newcomer gazab Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    Linköping
    Country:
    Sweden
    Is anyone else noticing any issues INGAME?

    I'm seeing some weird graphics bugs. Like the selection in menus is not where the pointer is and when I press minus some annoying shape and sound shows up and won't go away until I morph into a ball. And now most recently I can't seem to get out of the room where you wake up one month after firing that big cannon. I complete the PED test and I just can't shoot anymore. And since I can't shoot I can't open the door to get out and I have to reset my console. Tried 3 times now.

    I have a PAL machine with 3.0E and modded with WiiFree 2.45.

    Am I just stupid/paranoid/unlucky or is this a PAL issue? Sorry if I posted this in the wrong topic.

    --
    gazab
     
  20. TaMs

    Member TaMs Randomizer

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,126
    Country:
    Finland
    Just play it. Wii doesn't cost fortunes.
    And i don't think that 2 extra channels is any problem. Atleast if you can still access wii settings so you can update when there will be new firmware update. unlike with big brain academy thing when you couldn't access wii settings afaik.
     

Share This Page