PAL GC games...

Discussion in 'Wii - Console and Game Discussions' started by Eichro, Sep 26, 2009.

Sep 26, 2009

PAL GC games... by Eichro at 10:17 PM (1,010 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. Eichro
    OP

    Newcomer Eichro Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Country:
    Brazil
    Okay, I've been having some trouble for a long time with this, so I wonder if you guys could help.

    Every time I try to play my PAL Gamecube discs on my US Wii (note they are original copies), my screen goes back to the TV Video (as if I just pulled of the AV Cables from the television); that sort of thing didn't happen when I played them on my Gamecube (I used Freeloader at that time). The console actually seems to run the games okay, since I hear loading sounds from the Wii, but I can't see anything. That started to happen when I upgraded my Firmware, I think to 3.0 or 3.1 (yes, it's been a LONG time, I didn't even know about homebrews yet); previously, I think some games actually didn't run at all, while others ran great..
    I've tried about every way of playing GC games to see if that happens; Freeloader, Gecko OS, Preloader hacked System Menu, and all of them gave me the same results. Maybe it's a TV problem, but it's weird it didn't happen with the Gamecube, neither it does with PAL Wii Backups.
    Do you suggest something like forcing NTSC or PAL or whatever on Gecko OS, or something? Either way, please help me if possible!

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. Kinnikuman

    Newcomer Kinnikuman Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    United States
    With preloader what settings do you have enabled?
    And i think i might have this problem with NTSC-J games. I don't get it. When I load the game through the wii gator thing, I get to a loading screen, shows some logos and gets me to the main menu I think. Then there's a highpitched buzz and everything freezes. Btw the game I'm trying to get to work is Dream Mix TV World Fighters just fyi
     
  3. Eichro
    OP

    Newcomer Eichro Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Country:
    Brazil
    I don't quite remember the settings, but "Region Free GC Games" was definitely on.
     
  4. Retal

    Member Retal GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Messages:
    914
    Location:
    England              Sex: Daily
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There's your problem.
     
  5. Eichro
    OP

    Newcomer Eichro Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Country:
    Brazil
    But isn't that the reason people use region-free enabling homebrews?
    Or it has something to do with the copies being original or something?
     
  6. Maikel Steneker

    Member Maikel Steneker M3 Fanboy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,396
    Country:
    Netherlands
    You might want to buy the more expensive component cables. If I'm not mistaken, they solve this problem.
     
  7. Eichro
    OP

    Newcomer Eichro Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Country:
    Brazil
    Oh well... But aren't component cables for progressive scan and stuff? (I'm really noobish about this kind of stuff) My TV is really old (like, it isn't even Stereo), so I don't know if it's compatible with component cables...
     
  8. Maikel Steneker

    Member Maikel Steneker M3 Fanboy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,396
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I don't think your TV can use it then [​IMG]

    Isn't it an option to just download the NTSC-U versions of the games? It costs a few DVDs but they will more than likely play perfectly. Only downside is that you can't use your old saves.
     
  9. Eichro
    OP

    Newcomer Eichro Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Country:
    Brazil
    Well, that's a option, but I honestly would want to play with my old saves if possible.
     

Share This Page