Homebrew RELEASE [Overlay]fastCFWswitch

MultiKoopa

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 11, 2018
Messages
374
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
548
Country
United States
So I keep getting open file failed when I try to load a payload from the root of the sd card

is there no way to do this?

I've tried just payload.bin after path, I've tried /payload.bin

neither works. can this be done? or it HAS to be at least one folder deep into the sd card?
 

RednaxelaNnamtra

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2011
Messages
1,087
Trophies
0
XP
2,537
Country
Germany
So I keep getting open file failed when I try to load a payload from the root of the sd card

is there no way to do this?

I've tried just payload.bin after path, I've tried /payload.bin

neither works. can this be done? or it HAS to be at least one folder deep into the sd card?
I had my hekate payload on the root of my sd for quite some time, so that location should work too, could you maybe post your config file?
 

MultiKoopa

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 11, 2018
Messages
374
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
548
Country
United States
I had my hekate payload on the root of my sd for quite some time, so that location should work too, could you maybe post your config file?
sure

[CFWS] type=section name=CFWS [HEKATE] name=Hekate path=hekate_ctcaer.bin [EMUMMC FSS0] name=EmuMMC FSS0 path=hekate_ctcaer.bin bootId=emufss0 [EMUMMC] name=EmuMMC path=fusee.bin [SYSCFW FSS0] name=SysCFW FSS0 path=hekate_ctcaer.bin bootId=sysfss0 [STOCK] name=Stock path=hekate_ctcaer.bin bootId=stock

for FastCFWSwitch's config.ini, which didn't work. And also adding a / inbetween path= and hekate didn't work either

the ONLY thing that worked was moving hekate_ctcaer.bin (and fusee.bin) at least one folder deep into the sd card


here's what my hekate_ipl.ini looked like when I tried this:

[config] autoboot=0 autoboot_list=0 bootwait=1 backlight=100 autohosoff=0 autonogc=0 updater2p=1 bootprotect=0 {------ Atmosphere ------} [CFW - FSS0 EMU] fss0=atmosphere/package3 kip1patch=nosigchk emummcforce=1 id=emufss0 icon=bootloader/res/emu_boot.bmp [CFW - FSS0 SYS] fss0=atmosphere/package3 emummc_force_disable=1 id=sysfss0 icon=bootloader/res/sys_cfw_boot.bmp [Atmosphere EMUMMC] payload=fusee.bin id=emummc icon=bootloader/res/emu_boot.bmp {} {-------- Stock ---------} [Stock SYS] fss0=atmosphere/package3 stock=1 emummc_force_disable=1 id=stock icon=bootloader/res/stock_boot.bmp {}


...though I'm not entirely sure if the "payload=fusee.bin" line in [Atmosphere EMUMMC] section would've worked either
 

RednaxelaNnamtra

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2011
Messages
1,087
Trophies
0
XP
2,537
Country
Germany
sure

[CFWS] type=section name=CFWS [HEKATE] name=Hekate path=hekate_ctcaer.bin [EMUMMC FSS0] name=EmuMMC FSS0 path=hekate_ctcaer.bin bootId=emufss0 [EMUMMC] name=EmuMMC path=fusee.bin [SYSCFW FSS0] name=SysCFW FSS0 path=hekate_ctcaer.bin bootId=sysfss0 [STOCK] name=Stock path=hekate_ctcaer.bin bootId=stock

for FastCFWSwitch's config.ini, which didn't work. And also adding a / inbetween path= and hekate didn't work either

the ONLY thing that worked was moving hekate_ctcaer.bin (and fusee.bin) at least one folder deep into the sd card


here's what my hekate_ipl.ini looked like when I tried this:

[config] autoboot=0 autoboot_list=0 bootwait=1 backlight=100 autohosoff=0 autonogc=0 updater2p=1 bootprotect=0 {------ Atmosphere ------} [CFW - FSS0 EMU] fss0=atmosphere/package3 kip1patch=nosigchk emummcforce=1 id=emufss0 icon=bootloader/res/emu_boot.bmp [CFW - FSS0 SYS] fss0=atmosphere/package3 emummc_force_disable=1 id=sysfss0 icon=bootloader/res/sys_cfw_boot.bmp [Atmosphere EMUMMC] payload=fusee.bin id=emummc icon=bootloader/res/emu_boot.bmp {} {-------- Stock ---------} [Stock SYS] fss0=atmosphere/package3 stock=1 emummc_force_disable=1 id=stock icon=bootloader/res/stock_boot.bmp {}


...though I'm not entirely sure if the "payload=fusee.bin" line in [Atmosphere EMUMMC] section would've worked either
I see nothing obvious, but I will look into the problem.
Small tipp for hekate, use the bootloader/update.bin as payload, its in every release and that way you won't need to have an extra copy of the hekate payload anywhere.
 

RednaxelaNnamtra

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2011
Messages
1,087
Trophies
0
XP
2,537
Country
Germany
sure

[CFWS] type=section name=CFWS [HEKATE] name=Hekate path=hekate_ctcaer.bin [EMUMMC FSS0] name=EmuMMC FSS0 path=hekate_ctcaer.bin bootId=emufss0 [EMUMMC] name=EmuMMC path=fusee.bin [SYSCFW FSS0] name=SysCFW FSS0 path=hekate_ctcaer.bin bootId=sysfss0 [STOCK] name=Stock path=hekate_ctcaer.bin bootId=stock

for FastCFWSwitch's config.ini, which didn't work. And also adding a / inbetween path= and hekate didn't work either

the ONLY thing that worked was moving hekate_ctcaer.bin (and fusee.bin) at least one folder deep into the sd card


here's what my hekate_ipl.ini looked like when I tried this:

[config] autoboot=0 autoboot_list=0 bootwait=1 backlight=100 autohosoff=0 autonogc=0 updater2p=1 bootprotect=0 {------ Atmosphere ------} [CFW - FSS0 EMU] fss0=atmosphere/package3 kip1patch=nosigchk emummcforce=1 id=emufss0 icon=bootloader/res/emu_boot.bmp [CFW - FSS0 SYS] fss0=atmosphere/package3 emummc_force_disable=1 id=sysfss0 icon=bootloader/res/sys_cfw_boot.bmp [Atmosphere EMUMMC] payload=fusee.bin id=emummc icon=bootloader/res/emu_boot.bmp {} {-------- Stock ---------} [Stock SYS] fss0=atmosphere/package3 stock=1 emummc_force_disable=1 id=stock icon=bootloader/res/stock_boot.bmp {}


...though I'm not entirely sure if the "payload=fusee.bin" line in [Atmosphere EMUMMC] section would've worked either
Ok, I now finally got to testing it, and with an / in the beginning it should work, so `path=/hekate_ctcaer.bin`.
Without a / it wont work, but in the future I could maybe automatically add a / to the path.
 

RednaxelaNnamtra

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2011
Messages
1,087
Trophies
0
XP
2,537
Country
Germany
hey guys not worked for 13.2 ams 1.2.5
any fix?
Edit:Sorry double post!
What exactly is the problem? Does it try to reboot and blackscreen, or doesn't it even get to the reboot part and shows an error?
What exactly are you trying to boot? fusee or hekate?

Its generally compatible with the current atmosphere and switch os version, since it works for me with the same version.
 

Amirgh

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 13, 2021
Messages
63
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
335
Country
United States
What exactly is the problem? Does it try to reboot and blackscreen, or doesn't it even get to the reboot part and shows an error?
What exactly are you trying to boot? fusee or hekate?

Its generally compatible with the current atmosphere and switch os version, since it works for me with the same version.
I'm getting black screen emunand error after selecting Android;Why this happend ?
 

Amirgh

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 13, 2021
Messages
63
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
335
Country
United States
What does your hekate and fastCFWswitch config look like?
This is my fastCFWswitch config but did not change anything from hekate.
Just created Payloads folder on root and place hekate_ctcaer_5.6.5.bin in this folder

[ANDROID]
name=Android
path=/payloads/hekate_ctcaer_5.6.5.bin
bootpos=2

Which file you need to know from bootloader folder?
 
Last edited by Amirgh,

RednaxelaNnamtra

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2011
Messages
1,087
Trophies
0
XP
2,537
Country
Germany
This is my fastCFWswitch config but did not change anything from hekate.
Just created Payloads folder on root and place hekate_ctcaer_5.6.5.bin in this folder

[ANDROID]
name=Android
path=/payloads/hekate_ctcaer_5.6.5.bin
bootpos=2

Which file you need to know from bootloader folder?
If you installed android using hekate and an official image, its probably using the default settings, which means its config is in `bootloader/ini/00-android.ini`.
So its probably using the hekate boot id `SWANDR`.
Also if you unpack a hekate release, there is always a .bin in bootloader folder named `update.bin`, which is always matching the bootloader folders version, so its a good idea to use it as payload for hekate.
So with those two things in mind a config could look like this:
INI:
[ANDROID]
name=Android
path=/bootloader/update.bin
bootId=SWANDR

[UBUNTU]
name=Ubuntu
path=/bootloader/update.bin
bootId=SWR-UBU

[ATMOSPHERE]
name=atmosphere
path=/atmosphere/reboot_payload.bin

[HEKATE]
name=Hekate
path=/bootloader/update.bin
bootPos=0

[UMS-SD]
name=UMS-SD
path=/bootloader/update.bin
ums=sd

I also added entrys for Ubuntu, rebooting atmosphere(same as selecting reboot in the power menu), Hekate main menu and hekates SD usb access, but the first lines should be most important for your problem.
 

Zumoly

GBATemp Analyst
Member
Joined
Apr 27, 2018
Messages
1,787
Trophies
0
Location
Yorosso
XP
2,285
Country
Mali
I've just discovered this nifty awesome homebrew. Thanks to the dev and all contributors. I can now easily reboot my switch without extra steps.
Just wanted to know if there is possibility to add hekate shutdown function or simply a shutdown function. I've always wanted this feature in the overlay section.
Thanks again.
 

RednaxelaNnamtra

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2011
Messages
1,087
Trophies
0
XP
2,537
Country
Germany
I've just discovered this nifty awesome homebrew. Thanks to the dev and all contributors. I can now easily reboot my switch without extra steps.
Just wanted to know if there is possibility to add hekate shutdown function or simply a shutdown function. I've always wanted this feature in the overlay section.
Thanks again.
At least in theory it should be possible, I will look into it when I have some time.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Zumoly

Zumoly

GBATemp Analyst
Member
Joined
Apr 27, 2018
Messages
1,787
Trophies
0
Location
Yorosso
XP
2,285
Country
Mali
At least in theory it should be possible, I will look into it when I have some time.
Thank you very much for entertaining the idea.
I've just come across this interesting homebrew called "shutdown" which also happened to include a payload to just shutdown the system.
Link: https://gbatemp.net/threads/shutdown-switch.537028/
That's the beauty of the switch scene...always making great discoveries to this day.
So, conveniently enough I just created a profile under fastcfwswitch overlay to do what I suggested:

Code:
[SHUTDOWN]
name=Shutdown Console
path=/bootloader/payloads/shutdown.bin
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: https://us.vibram.com/shop/shop-all-products/mens-fivefingers/outdoor-trail/v-trail-2.0-mens-M76...