Homebrew RELEASE [Overlay]fastCFWswitch

Muxi

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2016
Messages
562
Trophies
0
Age
50
XP
1,557
Country
Germany
which leads to blackscreen under v1.3.0-B2.
I tried again today booting Lakka under v1.3.0-B2. This time, strangely enough, there was no blackscreen. I can't explain why there was a blackscreen on the first try and not on the second try, because the setting hasn't changed except for the fastCFWswitch version.
 

tman708

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 4, 2019
Messages
37
Trophies
0
Age
23
XP
692
Country
United States
Not working on atmosphere 1.10 version for me anyone having a similar problem?

EDIT: get an open file failed514 error code and the option in the overlay is stuck saying rebooting
 
Last edited by tman708,

RednaxelaNnamtra

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2011
Messages
1,004
Trophies
0
XP
2,320
Country
Germany
Not working on atmosphere 1.10 version for me anyone having a similar problem?

EDIT: get an open file failed514 error code and the option in the overlay is stuck saying rebooting
Did you test the 1.3.0 Beta from here or the latest full release?

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

I tried again today booting Lakka under v1.3.0-B2. This time, strangely enough, there was no blackscreen. I can't explain why there was a blackscreen on the first try and not on the second try, because the setting hasn't changed except for the fastCFWswitch version.
Hmm, I will test a bit more, when I have some time, maybe there is a small failure chance or somthing, because of a small mistake on my side.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Muxi

tman708

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 4, 2019
Messages
37
Trophies
0
Age
23
XP
692
Country
United States
Did you test the 1.3.0 Beta from here or the latest full release?

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------


Hmm, I will test a bit more, when I have some time, maybe there is a small failure chance or somthing, because of a small mistake on my side.

I tested on the latest full release I didn't even notice the beta post, but Ill give that a shot and see if I notice anything different on my end.
 

tman708

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 4, 2019
Messages
37
Trophies
0
Age
23
XP
692
Country
United States
After testing the beta the same error code comes up and it doesn't work. Not sure if the new atmosphere version is what broke it but before I updated to atmosphere version 1.1 it worked fully on 0.95. I also am still on firmware 12.0 for my emummc so I don't think that would be the issue.
 

RednaxelaNnamtra

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2011
Messages
1,004
Trophies
0
XP
2,320
Country
Germany
After testing the beta the same error code comes up and it doesn't work. Not sure if the new atmosphere version is what broke it but before I updated to atmosphere version 1.1 it worked fully on 0.95. I also am still on firmware 12.0 for my emummc so I don't think that would be the issue.
seems like the error code (514/0x202) is a file not found. did you maybe change the payload location after the atmosphere update, or point the config to a file that got removed in atmosphere 1.0+?
 
Last edited by RednaxelaNnamtra,

tman708

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 4, 2019
Messages
37
Trophies
0
Age
23
XP
692
Country
United States
seems like the error code (514/0x202) is a file not found. did you maybe change the payload location after the atmosphere update, or point the config to a file that got removed in atmosphere 1.0+?
no it just points to my hekate with the corresponding boot ID for android, lakka, etc.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Works fine here on 13.0.0 ams 1.1.0
Mind sharing your config file?
 

cucholix

Banners guy
Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2017
Messages
2,875
Trophies
1
Age
41
XP
3,809
Country
Chile
Mind sharing your config file?
fastcfwswitch
Code:
[Firmwares]
type=section
name=Firmwares
[STOCK]
name=OFW Stock
path=/bootloader/update.bin
bootPos=1
[ATMOSPHERE]
name=atmosphere
path=/bootloader/update.bin
bootPos=2
[TOOLS]
name=Tools
[HEKATE]
name=Hekate
path=/bootloader/update.bin
[LOCKPICKRCM]
name=Lockpick
path=/bootloader/payloads/Lockpick_RCM.bin
[SD_UMS]
name=SD UMS
path=/bootloader/update.bin
ums=sd

Hekate
Code:
[config]
autoboot=0
autoboot_list=0
bootwait=4
backlight=100
autohosoff=0
autonogc=1
updater2p=1
bootprotect=0
[OFW Stock]
fss0=atmosphere/package3
emummc_force_disable=1
stock=1
icon=bootloader/res/icon_ofw.bmp
[atmosphere]
fss0=atmosphere/package3
emummc_force_disable=1
icon=bootloader/res/icon_atmosphere.bmp
kip1=atmosphere/kip_patches/*
[Lockpick]
payload=bootloader/payloads/Lockpick_RCM.bin
icon=bootloader/res/icon_lockpick.bmp
 
  • Like
Reactions: tman708

RednaxelaNnamtra

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2011
Messages
1,004
Trophies
0
XP
2,320
Country
Germany
Here is another beta, found a potential problem, that might have coused the sx detection to fail, and also fixed a problem that got pointed out with the amsbpc and sm, which might hopefully fix the seemingly random problems some people had with rebooting.
 

Attachments

  • fastCFWswitch-1.3.0-B3.zip
    308 KB · Views: 22

RednaxelaNnamtra

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2011
Messages
1,004
Trophies
0
XP
2,320
Country
Germany
Here is the new full release: 1.3.0

On atmosphere its now using the newer ams:bpc api to reboot, wich should prevernt some file corruption, while on SXOS and ReiNX it should still use the old reboot method.

People already running the b3 don't need to update, since the only change between it and the release it the version number
 

phant0mg33k

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 2, 2015
Messages
81
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
201
Country
United States
This project is awesome. with everything set up you basically get a quick reboot for CFW, android, linux, lakka, and hekate tools thanks for the hard work. For once in my life autoboot is set up and works the exactly how it should. Thanks a million again
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye: so which one is the mistake?