Overclocking your Nintendo DS Lite

Discussion in 'User Submitted News' started by Njosnavelin, Apr 18, 2007.

Apr 18, 2007
  1. Njosnavelin
    OP

    Newcomer Njosnavelin Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
  2. Veho

    Global Moderator Veho The man who cried "Ni".

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,442
    Location:
    Zagreb
    Country:
    Croatia
  3. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Would be great to speed up the web-browser, but that's about it. I don't really see any other practical use for it......unless maybe for some homebrews or something.
     
  4. c0rderr0y

    Newcomer c0rderr0y Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United States
    looks like something I would do just for fun.... could be helpful for emulation [​IMG]
     
  5. Mewgia

    Member Mewgia drifter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,161
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Country:
    United States
    I'd love to do this, and it would help loads with Emulation (got a game running at 40% speed? Crank up the processor and the game should run faster!). The only thing I would prolly have to buy is the OC chip, I think I could get the rest from elsewhere...
     
  6. aj421

    Member aj421 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Messages:
    144
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    I'm off to blow up my ds lite and after that im overclocking my toaster. Yes 5 minutes is wayyy too much to wait for toast.
     
  7. amptor

    Banned amptor Banned

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,554
    Country:
    United States
    looks like a total waste of time unless u are replacing the case anyways and are already inside there. could easily ruin some pads, those surface mount chips aren't easy to desolder especially for amateurs. those are designed to be soldered on once and that's it. I tried to fix a guy's video card that had a capacitor busted off once, what a flop.
     
  8. aj421

    Member aj421 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Messages:
    144
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    Lol my video card is overclocked by like 200 mhz im surprised my computer still has not given up on me. And i have a crappy video card nvidia fx 5500.
     
  9. amptor

    Banned amptor Banned

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,554
    Country:
    United States
    imho, it's not that bad of a thing to overclock a cheaper component..if it fails u just replace it.. everything's going to end up in the bin some day anyways. I have an fx5200 in my server right now, great card.. I'd assum ethe fx5500 is even better. only thing is it chokes on youtube but that's probably cuz I'm only running 1ghz cpu.. a p4 would probably run it fine.

    but ya man..you're lucky..everything I overclocked besides my p4 cpu was a disaster but when I went back to standard clock, it worked fine. I overclocked a p200 once to like 266 or something and it worked like a charm for 2 days and as soon as I bragged to some spoiled kid about it, it crashed on me the same night and I went back to standard clock speed. However my p4 overclocks to like 3.6ghz or something crazy with stock cooling which is pretty cool but I leave it alone for now... might oc it later when I upgrade just for s&g.
     
  10. aj421

    Member aj421 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Messages:
    144
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    I remember when i tried to overclock my friends p4. After i rebooted it would not get past the bios screen lol. IDK but a system restore fixed it might of been the fact that i overclocked it within windows
     
  11. fischju_original

    Banned fischju_original I used to be a jerk before i got banned

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,014
    Country:
    United States
    Overclocking is just fine....My 3800+ is exactly the same as a 4200+, and I clocked it as much
     
  12. amptor

    Banned amptor Banned

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,554
    Country:
    United States
    ya mine's a northwood.. some of the older ones probably can't oc very well. I'm planning on upgrading to core2duo but still will leave it at factory clock speed anyway.. if the p4 screws up overclocked then from my experience I just put it back to standard.. I think they design them to handle that to a point and then you still have a good chance of using the cpu after the overclock failed. Also I could probalby replace the cpu for $25 if it gets fried anyway.
     
  13. imgod22222

    Member imgod22222 GBAtemp's Original No-faced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,555
    Country:
    United States
    eh... i've overclocked my ATI Mobility RADEON 9000 by like...i dunno, 250MHz core and memory? Hasn't crapped out in over 3 years, and this is in a DELL!

    Note: i did give it new thermal paste over the factory thermal pad, and also my laptop is on a cooling mat. Also note it runs 24.7
     
  14. suprneb

    Member suprneb GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Messages:
    164
    Country:
    United States
    does it actually work?

    do you notice a significant difference?
     

Share This Page