1. SuperDan

    OP SuperDan Im Aware ... Im Unaware
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Messages:
    1,827
    Country:
    United States
    Well Ive Not Touch My ps Vita In a While.. but this week i thought i would use it at work simply out of boredom ( Work is Slow This Month ) ... & i still love my Vita ........ but i tried LOLlcon 500mghz
    But it crashes my vita ... i have been using overclock.vita with no issues but thats maxed out to 444mghz .. so my question is is there a way to Overclock to 500 without the crashes ? ...
     
  2. Rahkeesh

    Rahkeesh GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2018
    Messages:
    1,392
    Country:
    United States
    There isn't. Said program is the only one to hit 500 mhz, and I've followed threads of people complaining about crashes with no solution, particularly when resuming from suspend. (Even when you aren't overclocking!)

    Other programs can run the Vita at constant max clocks (444) even in games that don't demand them, so that can improve performance a bit. There's also Vitagrafix to tune the performance of select games.
     
    SuperDan likes this.
  3. Tom Bombadildo

    Tom Bombadildo Dick, With Balls
    Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    12,776
    Country:
    United States
    Rahkeesh would be correct, only one homebrew supports 500mhz and it's not entirely stable, and eats up quite a bit of battery, too (from what I remember).

    Your best bet is to stick with the Vita's stock max clock of 444mhz, most games don't actually use that much (even if they need it, weirdly), so there is still some minor improvement with most games at those sppeds.
     
    DinohScene and SuperDan like this.
  4. SuperDan

    OP SuperDan Im Aware ... Im Unaware
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Messages:
    1,827
    Country:
    United States
    Well this is really what I did I used LOLicon .. & made .. It default 444 & just left it there ... When I tried bumping up to 500 .. I just end up crashing ... More or less every time .. Oh well . . It still works wonderfully ..

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Vitagrafix... I have not messed with that before . I'm. Pretty sure I installed it using Autoplugin ... But I didn't continue with the 2nd part of it ... Does it cause issues " crashes " ect... I might as well try it out
     
  5. kristianity77

    kristianity77 GBATemp old fogey
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Messages:
    1,549
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You all seem to have forgotten to mention the kernel overclock to 500 that locks it at all times, doesn't crash, and plays fine with adrenaline....why?

    The actual lolicon plugin is outdated now. Use the lolita500 kernel plugin instead. I've been using this for couple months. No crashes, no issues, just a total lock on 500mhz systemwide at all times.

    https://forum.devchroma.nl/index.php?topic=41.0

    Read more here
     
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2020
    SuperDan likes this.
  6. DinohScene

    DinohScene Feed Dino to the Sharks
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    19,968
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Forget LOLicon or w/e that plugin is called.

    Use PSVshell, it's a new (and better?) plugin that has the 500 Mhz overclock ability and displays CPU usage if desired.
     
    SuperDan likes this.
  7. SuperDan

    OP SuperDan Im Aware ... Im Unaware
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Messages:
    1,827
    Country:
    United States
    i did try this one but it crashed my boarderlands 2 ,,, twice while playing
     
  8. naughtyotsel

    naughtyotsel GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2016
    Messages:
    135
    Country:
    i should try this too
     
    SuperDan likes this.
  9. SuperDan

    OP SuperDan Im Aware ... Im Unaware
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Messages:
    1,827
    Country:
    United States
    im going to re try this Again later,,, i will report if it crashes my PS Vita .. like before
     
  10. Rahkeesh

    Rahkeesh GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2018
    Messages:
    1,392
    Country:
    United States
    PSVShell is pretty good so thanks for the suggestion. Although I can't seem to navigate the plugin menu in PFBA, just ignores the arrow presses.
     
    SuperDan likes this.
  11. yeshuachrist

    yeshuachrist GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    501
    Country:
    United States
    oclockvitaminimal is the best ............ just check the github pages for the other overclocking program(s) ............. TH3Y,all.......crash mid game or after a certain length of time like 1 or 2 hours. only problem is that you need low firmware like 3.60 to use oclockvitaminimal.

    have one positive thing to day

    "imc unlock" (bricked one of my pstv's) (which allowed you to use the internal memory for 3.68 hack without requiring a official memory card), did lock system memory and redefine it .......... at least from the clutches of some firmware introduced protection.

    if your not on 3.60 firmware, then, you can't benefit from overclocking.
    ...........
    ...........
    we got fortunately the most anticipated game i ever wanted, and on the vita....romancing saga 2 and 3 remakes....the vita scene is not that active....and it will take time to optimize the hacks for firmware above 3.60, with the scene dying down it seems unlikely
    ...........
    ...........
    raspberry pi4 has got some bumps most notable is/are nightly developer builds of retropie.........we haven't got working "popsloader for adrenaline", themes for vita official ones are still not done properly for the vita or no the nopaystation database, overclocking is an issue for anything that isn't on 3.60 firmware, also, which means a new plugin system is possible if enso is updated to handled this issues on multiple firmwares .............the vita isn't dead for the moment.
     
    SuperDan likes this.
  12. SCOTT0852

    SCOTT0852 GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2018
    Messages:
    1,137
    Country:
    United States
    It's not. It can only go to 444, not LOLIcon and PSVShell's 500.
    If they're crashing mid-game, it's likely your hardware starting to fail or some plugin causing a memory leak. I leave my vita on 500 all the time with PSVShell and have no errors.
    Yes you can, I used the vita VSH menu plugin when I was on 3.68 before modoru was released and overclocking worked just fine.
    None of this sentence makes any sense. Overclocking is not an issue on 3.61+, enso will never be updated to newer firmwares because Sony fixed the bug enso abuses in 3.67, and a new plugin system would have no benefits and likely cause additional conflicts, not to mention all the effort that would have to be put into replacing something that already works completely fine.
     
    SuperDan likes this.
  13. SuperDan

    OP SuperDan Im Aware ... Im Unaware
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Messages:
    1,827
    Country:
    United States
    Well I actually did the permanent 500 mghz loliicon plugin.. & it was doing fine... No crashes ( didn't play more that about 1 hour yesterday ) the Being a OCD person .. I then decided to do the 444mghz .. Being concerned that 500 might just kill the battery ... To fast ... I'm not sure if overclocking has anything to do with 3.60 or 3.65 enso ( I'm on 3.65 BTW) ... Before that I was quite happy with FRANJEC'S overcloack. Vita . I just thought this would save a lil time .. Just seems LOLicon is unstable .. & crashes the Vita alot ..
     
  14. kristianity77

    kristianity77 GBATemp old fogey
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Messages:
    1,549
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Believe it or not, going from 444 to 500 doesn't have that much effect on battery. It gives you about 10 to 15 minutes less. It doesn't affect the battery life at all to my knowledge. Ive been using a 500mhz overclock one way or the other for over a year. My battery still holds full charge
     
    SuperDan likes this.
  15. SuperDan

    OP SuperDan Im Aware ... Im Unaware
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Messages:
    1,827
    Country:
    United States
    oh really ?!? what about crashes ? often ? .... ive only been messing around with my Vita Again this week ( Recently got My 1st Real Gaming Pc ) ....... do you feel a fps increase at 500 over 444? ..... or is this just my own OCD brain kicking up a storm over nothing ? Again
    P.s Lord I Aint Seen Zippy Since i was a kid in the 80's ....
     
  16. yeshuachrist

    yeshuachrist GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    501
    Country:
    United States
    with lolicon or (1PSVShell!), click the bubble so that it loads to the top bar on the vita but don't launch these programs, vita shell, adrenaline, molecular shell, one or two more game bubbles of your choice

    .then.

    select any vita game you have (installed) that you want to play with all those bubbles loaded

    .then.

    your vita should crash from the overclocking plugin or freeze your game regardless of firmware? in less than 2 hours or mid game for anything that runs 500 mhz overclocking

    (there was a way by deleting a few registry files to remove the "feature page", long story short, some inter3t quotes disappeared, and enso was specifically designed to detect that on its installers, and would make reinstalling your firmware mandatory, for no reason, but, if enso isn't updated, either the way the plugins are handled or, perhaps enso will be updated again for 3.65/3.60 firmwares)

    EDIT

    COUNT me in for PSVShell, if its not dangaronpa 3, then i know lost child is picky with overclocking plugins, a few games are, haven't seen oclockvitaminimal give problem, maybe psvshell is that good too, 500mhz is a big big improvement (really)
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2020
    SuperDan likes this.
  17. kristianity77

    kristianity77 GBATemp old fogey
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Messages:
    1,549
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I don't have any crashes whatsoever. 500mhz is a godsend if you use emulators. It doesn't change many things in vita games but there are a few standouts that the 500 clock make a difference to. Killzone, jak and daxter, god of war, wipeout to name a few.
     
    SuperDan likes this.
  18. SuperDan

    OP SuperDan Im Aware ... Im Unaware
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Messages:
    1,827
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah that's what I ended up doing 500 .. I've not really played much today .. But if it does crash I will just go back to 444 ... & you was on the Money I've been playing Killzone Online again.... It's still a decent game ... Best FPS on Vita for me .. . & I'm quite tempted to finish the Ninja Gaiden games again . The 1st one was fine but 2 had some bad frame drops in parts of the game .. Maybe the 500 might fix that

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    500 it is .. But yeah Boarderlands 2 crashed... A few days back .... But I've not had a chance to play for more than a few hours today at all... But .. Tomorrow Thursday is absolutely dead at my job ( I have no idea why our Vet Clinic is always dead on Thursdays but slammed every other day) So I will give this a full blast on Killzone & a few others & see if it crashes again
     
  19. yeshuachrist

    yeshuachrist GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    501
    Country:
    United States
    [email protected]$omething

    re**it (banned site so can't name it)

    "Basically the opening cutscene (Final Fantasy Type 0, on, psp) that plays after starting a new game won't play if launching the game through a bubble created via ABM.............********************It seems random but more often than not the next time you open the game cutscenes will not work again and will require another driver switch. Enabling high memory layout also seems to have the same effect

    ..............
    ..............

    this is for the vita ... we stated that leaving the bubbles open (many of them), and not launching an app, so that, when you do launch an app you will still all those BUBBLES L00ADED, in memory, then your app under lolicon inn 500 mhz mode will crash after 2 hours or mid game

    ..............
    ..............

    The Crash is the same example from the Final Fantasy Type 0, that causes lolicon to crash at 500 mhz (or in general most overclocking program) ......... so they will crrassh a lot quicker..............

    updated my vita plugins, most notable::::::::::"DolcePolce.suprx" (police department .suprx) (uninstall antiblacklist first) ............AND (one complete sentence). PSVshell, also to replace "oclockvitaminimal", with updated versions of "custom warning" (had memory leak.
     
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2020
  20. kristianity77

    kristianity77 GBATemp old fogey
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Messages:
    1,549
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Don't use borderlands as a check to see whether an overclock is crashing your system. That game is the most unstable piece of trash to ever hit the system (a nice idea, but the vita was never going to powerful enough to work properly). Any crashes on borderlands can be attributed to literally anything.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - OverClocking,