Overclocking E2160 to play game.

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by dweirdo, May 28, 2008.

May 28, 2008
  1. dweirdo
    OP

Member dweirdo GBAtemp Regular

Lithuania
    My friend has upgraded his computer(from pentium 4 2.8 to E2160. new mobo 8600 Gt and 1.5GB mem)
    now he installed Assassin's creed, and when it talked about his specs it said: CPU 1.8GHZ required-1.9 XXXX
    and the game crashes in the loading when you press new game.
    if ill overclock it to 1.950 ghz will it work?(tried, crashes after just opening)
    then iv heard that some one with the same cpu overclocked it to 2.2 and the game worked, should i try it?i mean im afraid to ruin his pc and its damn high GHZ and im new in overclocking ? so some tips/thoughts would be awesome(especially about VOLTAGE). [​IMG]

Thanks in advance,
    Daniel [​IMG]

2. Lee79

Member Lee79 Hyper...Active...Team Fortress 2 Addict

United Kingdom
    Thats strange i downloaded it and it ran on my pc ok on medium settings and it only has a P4 northwood 2.66 OC to 3.10 Ghz and 1.5GB ddr400 ram and X1950xt have you tried playing it in DX9?
    Go to your \Program Files\Ubisoft\Assassin's Creed directory and right-click on the AssassinsCreed_Dx9.exe file, and select Send To>Desktop; do the same thing for the AssassinsCreed_Dx10.exe file. You can now use these desktop icons to launch the game in the relevant mode as desired.
    Have a read through this tweek guide as well http://www.tweakguides.com/AC_1.html

3. FAST6191

Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

pip
    United Kingdom
    The only thing overclocking will do to stability is decrease it if done incorrectly.

Do what Lee79 says and also have a look at your graphics settings/drivers, I suggest looking at http://www.omegadrivers.net/ as they try to make stable setups out of ATI/nvidias offerings.