Out of the box 3DS cards?

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by vika09, May 25, 2011.

May 25, 2011

Out of the box 3DS cards? by vika09 at 12:36 AM (2,508 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. vika09
    OP

    Newcomer vika09 Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Singapore
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hey guys,

    Sorry if this is done to death. But I want to clarify something.

    Most of the cards I have seen (atleast the guides on how to use them with the 3DS) instruct that a previous DS console is needed (DSi, Lite etc) for an update. I do not have such a facility and was hoping if any card on the market has an out of the box 3DS support?

    I believe my 3DS has been updated one, I believe that is alright. (Then again, I am a total newb at this).

    Could anyone please clarify this for me?

    Cheers.
     
  2. UniqueGeek

    Member UniqueGeek PMD Researcher

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,371
    Country:
    United States
    -Supercard DSTWO
    -M3i Zero (used to be awesome, not so much now)

    Did I forget anything?
     
  3. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    Some stores will update the cart for you beforehand for a small fee. IIRC (but don't take my word for it), the Acekard 2i and Supercard DSTWO come pre-flashed.
     
  4. vika09
    OP

    Newcomer vika09 Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Singapore
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  5. doodads

    Newcomer doodads Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    United States
    I've posted this several times in the past and I'll post it here again.

    I can 100% confirm that the acekard 2i being sold on this site work on the 3ds right out of the box. The site is Gamespree.net

    They do indeed ship internationally but they are based in Canada.
     
  6. jse

    Newcomer jse Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  7. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes the 'R4' is the most famous card - but for the wrong reasons.... there's an awful lot of poor quality 'clone' cards with that name

    I would definitely NOT go for THAT r4 card - there's no mention that it can run 'Wood R4', although it does seem to be still getting updated frequently there's no guarantee that in the future it will (just look @ this site & you'll see that there's been many 'R4' cards that haven't been updated for over 5months etc)

    - it's best to go for a card that can support 'Wood R4'

    If anything - if you want to buy from this site & you want an R4 - I would go for this one - if you go to the website mentioned (http://www.r4ids.cn/) -you'll see WoodR4 is supported
     
  8. vika09
    OP

    Newcomer vika09 Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Singapore
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks a lot for the replies guys! I went and bought an acekard2i. You guys have been a brilliant help!
     
  9. Taleweaver

    Member Taleweaver Storywriter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5,126
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    I know I'm a bit late, but for future references:


    I bought my acekard 2i at http://www.nintendokorting.nl/. They're based in the Netherlands, and they also preflashed it for me. [​IMG]



    (btw: if you're from England...would you please change your flag? It immediately gives the impression that you're from the US).
     
  10. vika09
    OP

    Newcomer vika09 Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Singapore
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Woops, sorry, just kept clicking 'next' and 'yes' on the registration.


    Cheers for the help, hopefully my stuff arrives on time... stupid volcano..
     
  11. shawnanastasio

    Newcomer shawnanastasio Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    Messages:
    98
    Country:
    United States
    prolly not something to worry about, but, i ordered an r4i for like 20 bucks (dont remember which site) and it never came (i ordered like 8 months ago)..........ya there are quite a few scammers online
     
  12. vika09
    OP

    Newcomer vika09 Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Singapore
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hey guys,

    sorry for the bump.

    I just got the acekard firm updater to work, but heard rumours that the HW number should be 4444? Otherwise something like 8181 is fake? could anyone clarify? My updater showsm the chip id HW to be 8181

    Thanks!
     
  13. earny

    Member earny GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    France
    you got an acekard then...why dont look at their website: http://www.acekard.com/news.php

    both acekard HW 44 and 81 are real acekard, but acekard HW 44 cant be upgrade to work with the 3DS
     

Share This Page