OS one? Wth... Isnt it suppose to be DS One? Fake?

Discussion in 'Supercard' started by crazyazn5, Apr 11, 2008.

  1. crazyazn5
    OP

    Newcomer crazyazn5 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    99
    Location:
    NorCalifornia!!! W
    Country:
    United States
    I just noticed something about my SC "DS" one.

    Instead of it having the DS on printed on the box, it says OS one. It also says it on my flash cart.

    Pictures:

    [​IMG]
    and
    [​IMG]

    theres a notch in the side which makes me wonder if its a fake. I ordered from Dealextreme and most people are receiving the order like that too. Is this normal? I read that its a French version, does it make a difference?

    The slot for the micro-sd is still on top but notice how theres no "For NDS and NDSL" on the gray part. It also doesn't have metal teeth on the back protecting the contacts. Fake?

    Heres a topic on how its a French version, which makes me wonder wth DX is doing...
    http://forum.supercard.cn/viewthread.php?tid=2856&extra=page%3D1 ://http://forum.supercard.cn/viewthrea...extra=page%3D1

    I was wondering if i should return it and get a new one. It has all the features that the SCDS1 has but the label is different than the others. There has also been disputes on whether its real or not.

    Has anyone receive a SCOS1? (Supercard OS 1) other than me?

    Also, I heard you needed a supermate to install the firmware, but for me, I copied the files and placed them on the MicroSD and it worked. So I'm guessing its just the same thing? Just with a different title.

    Has anyone had any problems with an OS 1 if they have one?

    -Thanks. Erik.
     


  2. rasputin

    Member rasputin GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    875
    Country:
    United States
    I think it's supposed to be a 'd' .. though admittedly it looks much more like an 'o' lol

    Anyway these seem to be a a new revison, and are even shown on the supercard homepage with the the side notch now.

    I don't think it's fake.
     
  3. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    If it was fake they wouldn't change the name, they'd want you to think it was real and buy it.
     
  4. Talaria

    Member Talaria ...

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    584
    Location:
    ...
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Its definitely a D mate. Its legit, the font of the D appears a O when it isn't. Have fun with it.
     
  5. Hit

    Member Hit GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    813
    Country:
    Netherlands
    If it was fake they defiantly wouldn't edit it to OS why the hell would they do that?!
    Maybe supercard team changed that

    Oh and Talaria it's an O
    The D version is like this:
    [​IMG]
     
  6. cutterjohn

    Member cutterjohn GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    648
    Country:
    United States
    OOC when you do a hw self-test what hw version does it say? (The original SCDS1 SDHCs were v1.01 IIRC.)
     
  7. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    For those saying "oh its probably not fake because they wouldn't change the name", you apparently don't have much experience in the consumer electronics market. Its common practice for makers of counterfeit product to swap out one or two letters to produce a different, but similiar-looking name. It may be China, but they do have some IP laws there, and doing that is a no-brainer way to avoid them for the most part.

    In this particular case however, all evidence seems to point to this being a legit (albeit French) Supercard cart.
     
  8. sk3tch

    Member sk3tch GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Messages:
    316
    Country:
    United States
    My recently received (from DealExtreme) SuperCard DS One had the same box (English version, too). Hopefully it isn't a fake. Seems legit.

    How do I do a hardware self-test?
     
  9. Hit

    Member Hit GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    813
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Hold L+R then turn on ds
     
  10. Hit

    Member Hit GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    813
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Maybe but they can't clone the SC DS One
    Oh and about those laws, selling illegal copy's of software/games is illegal in China, but you can almost only get illegal software
     
  11. sk3tch

    Member sk3tch GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Messages:
    316
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks.

    I get:

    Test Flash
    flash id ok!
    flash ok!

    Test sd card
    sd ok! no find test file.

    Test Psram
    psram ok!

    Now SuperCard DS Version:
    English Ver1.01

    Test finished.

    It took like 5 tries to get it to boot. Argh. Annoying. It's a brand new crimson and black DS Lite.
     
  12. crazyazn5
    OP

    Newcomer crazyazn5 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    99
    Location:
    NorCalifornia!!! W
    Country:
    United States
    So, what is the difference between the OS1 and the DS1? Is there like some games that wont work or something?
     
  13. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,674
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    From what I've understood, the OS One is a model created exclusively for the French market. When shipped, they have no Firmware on it so they're not illegal (because the anti-piracy laws got stricter in France) and then when you get it, you insert it in your SUPERMATE (something like a DS-Card programmer) and put the firmware on it. After that, it works like a normal SuperCard DS One.

    The name it's different now because "DS" is a Nintendo trademark. They've changed it to "OS" so no trademarks are used on it now.
     
  14. crazyazn5
    OP

    Newcomer crazyazn5 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    99
    Location:
    NorCalifornia!!! W
    Country:
    United States
    But theres no teeth protecting the contacts T>T
     
  15. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,674
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    They did a cheaper design to cover the added cost of the Supermate [​IMG]

    Just guessing [​IMG]
     
  16. crazyazn5
    OP

    Newcomer crazyazn5 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    99
    Location:
    NorCalifornia!!! W
    Country:
    United States
    Now I want a supermate! Well i dont really need one, but shouldnt they include it if they use the cheaper design? I mean, they took out the "For NDS and NDSL" on the gray part. Now what is it used for? I might forget [​IMG]
     
  17. sk3tch

    Member sk3tch GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Messages:
    316
    Country:
    United States
    The "no teeth" part is a bummer, as it does take a bit of work (several boot ups) to get the card to work.
     
  18. crazyazn5
    OP

    Newcomer crazyazn5 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    99
    Location:
    NorCalifornia!!! W
    Country:
    United States
    Yea sometimes i have that problem, but not anymore with my new A-data.
     
  19. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    Whether or not it has teeth wouldn't affect that (unless you got the contacts dirty).
     
  20. ojsinnerz.

    Member ojsinnerz. Damned

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,152
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    I ordered from DX a while back, and I got the same one, except on my SCDS1 it says "For NDS&NDSL".

    Mine worked perfectly for the last month and a half, and I'm very happy with it. As long as it works, and doesn't break down within a week, it should be fine.
     

Share This Page