Original VC games vs Dumped VC games

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by berlinka, Apr 22, 2008.

Apr 22, 2008
  1. berlinka
    OP

    Member berlinka You have sustained a lethal injury.

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Messages:
    3,147
    Location:
    Harderwijk, Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Yesterday I managed to install both the SMB1 and SMB3 on my Pal Wii with the WAD-installer.
    Both games have an issue: Super Mario Bros runs way too fast and SMB3 has the flickering at the side of the screen. I always thought the screen flickering was an emulator issue.

    I was wondering if I would download the original VC games, would I have the same problems? I mean I don't mind a bit of flickering but Super Mario Bros running twice as fast is quite annoying. In this case it would seem a rip-off to me.

    Right now I'm even thinking of uninstalling SMB because it's not feeling like the original when it runs this fast.
     


  2. Drkirby

    Newcomer Drkirby Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Messages:
    90
    Country:
    United States
    I may be wrong, but most likely.
     
  3. berlinka
    OP

    Member berlinka You have sustained a lethal injury.

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Messages:
    3,147
    Location:
    Harderwijk, Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    How come I can't find anything when googling it? I would expect that if the official VC games had these issues more people would complain.
     
  4. duncans_pumpkin

    Newcomer duncans_pumpkin Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    how do you know its going to fast wheres your proof. And also nintendo made there emulators as accurate as possible down to the mistakes.
     
  5. Hero-Link

    Member Hero-Link Hero of Derrr

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,185
    Location:
    Portugal
    Country:
    Portugal
    hmm i have the SMB:Lost Levels (same thing as the original, just diferent levels) and it runs "normal", it doesnt move faster or anything like that
     
  6. WeaponXxX

    Member WeaponXxX Too F'in Blonde

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,868
    Location:
    Currently in Chicagoooooooo
    Country:
    United States


    Mega suckage on the lines. A total fuck you to the fans I think.
     
  7. Animae

    Newcomer Animae Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    In Super Mario Bros. the game doesn't run too fast, only the music does.

    The flicker in Super Mario Bros. 3 is normal as far as I know. I think it had something to do with Overscan and the NES's hardware restrictions:
    CODEOverscan is extra image area around the four edges
    of a video image that is not normally seen by the viewer.
    It exists because television sets in the 1930s through 1970s
    were highly variable in how the video image was framed
    within the cathode ray tube (CRT). -Wikipedia
    So it would not normaly show, except on newer TVs and emulators.
     
  8. B-Blue

    Member B-Blue im a slut

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,444
    Country:
    Collect the coins, dammit [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  9. JohnKimble

    Newcomer JohnKimble Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    plays better on my xbox [​IMG]
     
  10. stormwolf18

    Member stormwolf18 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    321
    Country:
    Canada

    we dont care.

    back on topic, so much trouble to play old school game you can have on pc or handheld.
     
  11. JohnKimble

    Newcomer JohnKimble Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    fuck you

    you just said the same shit I did faggot
     
  12. berlinka
    OP

    Member berlinka You have sustained a lethal injury.

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Messages:
    3,147
    Location:
    Harderwijk, Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Aha! I thought there was something strange, but that's it! I know the music so well and I immediately noticed it was going to fast, but the game itself didn't feel that much faster. So probably worth playing after all. Thanks.
     
  13. aardvarks

    Member aardvarks GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    245
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    nice!
    thank you
     
  14. jalaneme

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    here here, you just gotta love the xbox when it is able to emulate every single console known to man [​IMG]
     
  15. jumpman17

    Former Staff jumpman17 He's a semi-aquatic egg laying mammal of action!

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    8,972
    Country:
    United States
  16. Hero-Link

    Member Hero-Link Hero of Derrr

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,185
    Location:
    Portugal
    Country:
    Portugal
    Super Mario 3, runs exactly like that in the Europe NES console... i have it, and thats really "normal" to happen
     
  17. aardvarks

    Member aardvarks GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    245
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    im glad you took that post off.it wasnt called for
     
  18. Awdofgum

    Member Awdofgum Wadofgum

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,884
    Country:
    United States
    smb3 has always had the little side flicker on my original VC game.
     
  19. The Teej

    Former Staff The Teej Also known as The Tjalian

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Messages:
    4,210
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That flicker in SMB3 is to recreate the original feel. To be honest, I'm used to the NES version so I never really noticed it! [​IMG]

    I've never noticed any abnormalities in SMB1, except for the general ones you'll get in the NES version.
     
  20. WeaponXxX

    Member WeaponXxX Too F'in Blonde

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,868
    Location:
    Currently in Chicagoooooooo
    Country:
    United States
    Don't fucking kid yourself. They didn't recreate shit for any nostalgic feel. If they did they would have an option to turn it on and off as MY tv didn't have the garbled shit on the sides. It is just another prime example of Nintendo saying, "recode and optimize our code? fuck you and just give us your money you dumb fanboy." And of course with my shit grin smile I just nod and say okay. Out of the 30+ VC games I bought SMB3 is the only one I regret so far except for a few TG16 gambles.
     

Share This Page