Original Games on a Modded console

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by StuMcBill, Jun 25, 2008.

Jun 25, 2008
  1. StuMcBill
    OP

    Newcomer StuMcBill Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    Hi

    My friend has a PAL launch day console, which has been chipped, however, we are unsure which chip has been installed. The system has never been connected to the internet, so still has original firmware, and the chip still has the original firmware.

    My question is, can I lend him a copy of my Original PAL Super Mario Galaxy and he can play it on his modded console without bricking?

    Thanks

    Stu
     
  2. skawo96

    Member skawo96 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,925
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yay, NO DON'T GIVE IT IT WILL BE BRICKED WHEN YOUR FRIEND WILL TOUCH A WII WITH THE DISC

    If yours friends console is PAL and game is PAL why and how it would brick?
     
  3. tomqman

    Member tomqman This Is Everyone's Fault But Mine.

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    894
    Location:
    Isle Of Wight
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yes, but he will need to update the wii using mario galaxy and also update his chip, you can try the wiikey update (it wont do anything if its not a wiikey)

    but he will not be able to play mario as it will error on startup if the chip is not up to date

    and dont ever worry about pal games on a pal wii.
     
  4. StuMcBill
    OP

    Newcomer StuMcBill Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    I remember that Super Mario Galaxy installed a system update to my Wii and I did not know if it would affect the chip that was in his system!
     
  5. jan777

    Member jan777 motion control..? srsly? so 2008. 3DS is teh bombz

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,829
    Country:
    Philippines

    hes going to use original games
     
  6. tomqman

    Member tomqman This Is Everyone's Fault But Mine.

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    894
    Location:
    Isle Of Wight
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    lol sorry got mixed up with brawl,

    mario galaxy will work fine [​IMG]
     
  7. SG

    Member SG GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    437
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    His referral to firmware makes me think that he's worried that updated firmware will kill it?

    Solution: use copied game or update chip. Find the type of chip out by asking who installed it (or is there a chip OS like my GC's Viper?).
     

Share This Page