Original Acekard 2i icon on DSi Menu glitch?

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by skystealer, Jun 6, 2010.

Jun 6, 2010
  1. skystealer
    OP

    Member skystealer Muah~

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    211
    Location:
    Agniratha, Mechonis
    Country:
    United States
    This is a weird glitch, I was playing with the card, in other wards pushing it in and out, and the DSi menu NOT NDSL/NDSP suddenly said "Acekard 2i - www.acekard.com". Wtf? I already patched the card for 1.4 too. I put it back out and in, then the Danny Phantom icon comes back. Wtf did i just do? o_o Weird Glitch...

    (Or watch the video... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rypIML8oG_8)
     


  2. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    A few people report it, and also there's a glitch reported in the Camera function which can also cause the Acekard to appear as Acekard in the DSi menu.

    If it works, don't tinker with it.
     
  3. Yuan

    Member Yuan GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,271
    Country:
    Brazil
    Well the icon on DS Lite/Phat still says Acekard 2i even after 1.4 patch. Maybe the card identifies it as DS Lite/Phat, whatever.
     
  4. Agent007

    Member Agent007 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    170
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    I'd rather them put the AceKard 2i logo instead of the Danny Phantom ...
     
  5. YayMii

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,881
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    But then it wouldn't work with DSi 1.4. And then its 'DSi compatibility' would be pointless.
     
  6. Agent007

    Member Agent007 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    170
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    Like WITH the 1.4 fix [​IMG] That would be tha best
     
  7. UniqueGeek

    Member UniqueGeek PMD Researcher

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,336
    Country:
    United States
    The cart is smart enough to detect this.
    Source: http://hackmii.com/2010/02/lawsuit-coming-in-3-2-1/
     
  8. YayMii

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,881
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    Umm, that Danny Phantom icon IS the 1.4 fix.
     
  9. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    He means a 1.4 fix that uses the AceKard 2i icon.

    The feasibility of which confuses me.
    I understand that they need the Danny Phantom (or any legit game) header info to bypass the DSi check... but it seems that the Action Replay DSi does something similar but (?)keeps the Action Replay DSi name/logo(?).
    It kind of sounds to me like it would be POSSIBLE, but more work than is needed.
     
  10. DeltaBurnt

    Member DeltaBurnt I'm bored

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,353
    Location:
    Where intellect matters
    Country:
    United States
    I think it's that making it work without using danny phantom or such is a lot more work. That or the action replay is actually using the header info from an old action replay version that wasn't blocked. I can't exactly remember how the DSi detected if the cart was a flashcart or not, but there was an article about it on hackmii a while back.
     
  11. YayMii

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,881
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    Nope, it uses a header from Game & Watch Collection. It copies the icon, the name, everything that flashcarts usually copy (answering the thing between the question marks).
     
  12. skystealer
    OP

    Member skystealer Muah~

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    211
    Location:
    Agniratha, Mechonis
    Country:
    United States
    Datel will get sued most likely for exploiting the DSi and using a Nintendo header. Unlike all flashcarts, they all have Headers that arent by Nintendo.

    EDIT: Besides, what happened to this thread, this is totally off topic of what my issue was. o_o
     
  13. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    The topic has taken it's "natural" course of getting into altered header info...
    Lot of people don't like Danny Phantom for some reason, and I can understand the want to have their choice of header info on the cart.

    As for them getting sued... I kind of doubt it.
    If it was going to happen, it would have been in the works already.
     
  14. T3GZdev

    Member T3GZdev head of T3GZdev

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    985
    Country:
    United States
    so basicly if we want the cart to boot in DSi mode we swap the header & rom id around on a DS cart game?
     
  15. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    No.
     
  16. obito

    Member obito I can have a title?! :O

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    348
    Country:
    New Zealand
    I wonder if theres a way to make the DSi think its using a nintendo header but it really isn't. that would be cool i guess
     
  17. UniqueGeek

    Member UniqueGeek PMD Researcher

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,336
    Country:
    United States
    That's what all DSi 1.4 compatible carts do already.
    Action Replay DSi
    Acekard2i
    M3i Zero
    Supercard DSONEi/DSTWO
    (list goes on...)
     
  18. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    No. They DO use a game header.

    That's why you get game icon/names when they're in a DSi, for example AceKard2i's Danny Phantom logo/name.
     
  19. stanleyopar2000

    Member stanleyopar2000 The Official GBATEMP Thread Killer. No Mercy.

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,927
    Country:
    United States
    speaking of which...it's funny that Nintendo has released no further firmware updates to add more features and things to make the DSi a better experience...

    this proves that firmware updates were not to add more features...it was just a way of blocking flashcarts

    ...you son of a bitch.
     
  20. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Too busy working on ANOTHER DS hardware revision...
    DS / DS Lite / DSi / DSi XL / 3DS -- They gotta keep pumping out new hardware for us to buy!
     

Share This Page