Orange Box

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Elisa_, Apr 30, 2008.

Apr 30, 2008

Orange Box by Elisa_ at 8:34 AM (1,899 Views / 0 Likes) 16 replies

  1. Elisa_
    OP

    Member Elisa_ GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    362
    Country:
    Australia
    [​IMG] I want to get this for my bro's birthday (since he got me some hair sprays etc..) and I was wondering what price this is. And yeah =]
     
  2. Moots

    Member Moots The Incredible Sulk

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    442
    Location:
    Niagara Region, Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    Well, amazon.com has it priced at 49.99 USD. Or used for less.


    In Australia, I think thats where your from (Browser isn't displaying flags) it looks to be 99.95 at most shops online.


    Hope that helps miss.
     
  3. fischju

    Member fischju Rehabilitated Jaywalker

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940
    Country:
    United States
    It should be cheaper on Steam
     
  4. Westside

    Member Westside Sogdiana

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,905
    Location:
    Guantanamo bay
    Country:
    Uzbekistan
    Does it even run on your system?
     
  5. JKR Firefox

    Member JKR Firefox Back.

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,130
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    As long as the PC was made in the past 2 years or so, there should be no issues with getting it to run. Valve is great for making games which don't require super computer systems to get their games to run [​IMG]
     
  6. SavageWaffle

    Member SavageWaffle GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,123
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    But if you have a slow running comp, it would take 4ever.
     
  7. Westside

    Member Westside Sogdiana

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,905
    Location:
    Guantanamo bay
    Country:
    Uzbekistan
    She said she had a Radeon 7000. The card will die four times before you finish even installing that game.
     
  8. Elisa_
    OP

    Member Elisa_ GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    362
    Country:
    Australia
    I downloaded a cracked version of CS 1.6, Cs:s and Cs: CZ. All work fine, no lag.
     
  9. GeekShadow

    Member GeekShadow GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    Messages:
    306
    Location:
    France/Vendée (85)
    Country:
    France
    Lisa_ you can buy with gift option on Steam...
    and TF2 will be playable 2 days free soon... [​IMG]
     
  10. Elisa_
    OP

    Member Elisa_ GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    362
    Country:
    Australia
    What!!! TF2 is going to be free? [​IMG]
     
  11. GeekShadow

    Member GeekShadow GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    Messages:
    306
    Location:
    France/Vendée (85)
    Country:
    France
  12. gizmo_gal

    Member gizmo_gal QWEEN of the RadioActive Force!!!

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,171
    Location:
    1st dimension, Earth
    Country:
    United States
    I never even HEARD of this on any system. I googled some pics of it. what is it? An MMORPG or something?
     
  13. Bob Evil

    Member Bob Evil The Department of Home-Made Insecurity

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3,783
    Location:
    Out of the corner of your eye
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The Orange Box is a compilation of Team Fortress 2, all the Half Life episodes & Portal ...

    It is called the Orange Box, because the box is orange ...
     
  14. superrob

    Member superrob H4X H4X H4X!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,465
    Location:
    GBATemp factory.
    Country:
    Denmark
    CS 1.6 Uses The halflife 1 engine.. You should be able to play that with a 6 year old pc.
    CS:CZ same as 1.6
    CS:S Uses Source and requires a little more.

    TF2 Uses Source2007 and has MUCH better graphichs you cannot say "I can play CSS then TF2 whould work nice [​IMG]"


    But you can try www.canirunit.com There you can test your PC specs against to minimum and recommend specs [​IMG]
     
  15. nephdj

    Member nephdj GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Messages:
    442
    Country:
    Australia
    well TF2 works on a 6600gt, card worth 15bucks 2nd hand
    pretty much can run on anything, unless ur purposly running something awful
     
  16. Gman 101

    Member Gman 101 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    438
    Location:
    Karkand & Mashtuur City
    Country:
    Australia
    The Source engine is AWESOME cos it works on lots of graphics cards. But the 6600GT IS actually a good graphics card (for its time)... there are MANY games you wouldn't think of running on a 6600GT though... World in Conflict, any game using the Unreal 3 engine like Bioshock or Rainbow Six Vegas or Company of Heroes.

    If you can run CS:S, chances are you can run TF2, but one thing is how well you can run CS:S. If the FPS drops below 30, you'll struggle running TF2.
     
  17. Trolly

    Member Trolly GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Behind you! I know you looked!
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I could play all Half-Life 2 games, TF2 and Portal all with nearly maxed settings on none other than an FX 5200 (PCI as well). Very impressive if you ask me, as the card crashes trying to play other games as old as Doom 3, or even any newer.
     

Share This Page