Opera RAM Expansion

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Nero, Oct 19, 2007.

Oct 19, 2007

Opera RAM Expansion by Nero at 8:53 PM (1,569 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. Nero
    OP

    Member Nero GBAtemp RPG Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,919
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG] I don't have a Slot-2 yet.

    P.S: I'm aware that it can't play GBA games... but I just need to know if it can be used for anything else except for the Opera Browser.
     
  2. cpm

    Newcomer cpm Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2003
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Canada
    there are some homebrew applications that come to mind (namely SNEmulDS & Moonshell).
     
  3. Lee79

    Member Lee79 Hyper...Active...Team Fortress 2 Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    920
    Location:
    ctf_2fort
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Pictodrive (Megadrive emulator) takes advantage of the official RAM pack to speed up emulation.
     
  4. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    Image viewer.
     
  5. Fat D

    Member Fat D GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,117
    Country:
    Germany
    DSLinux. But the 3in1 might be better...
     
  6. Maikel Steneker

    Member Maikel Steneker M3 Fanboy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,396
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Probably: the Opera RAM Expansion has only 10 MB extra, the 3 in 1 has 16 MB. The question is whether the homebrew uses it or not. I think DSLinux does.

    Btw, the M3 Perfect is even better: it has 32 MB [​IMG] The M3 Pro has 4 MB btw.
     
  7. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    The Opera RAM expansion has 8 MB, not 10, and yes DSLinux has support for both the Opera RAM pack and the 3in1 expansion pack. The extra RAM can be used to launch larger applications without crashing.

    SNEmulDS v0.6 Alpha can also use the extra RAM to store large roms if you don't want to use the paging system.
     
  8. Lee79

    Member Lee79 Hyper...Active...Team Fortress 2 Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    920
    Location:
    ctf_2fort
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Spelling mistake but not by me i pasted this quote from the Opium's EZ V review URL=http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=42399
    it is mentioned twice in the "3-in-1 Expansion Pack" part of the review that Picodrive takes advantage of the official RAM pack to speed up emulation. [​IMG]
     
  9. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Then the reviewer was probably wrong. The official PicoDriveDS website says absolutely nothing about the external RAM speeding things up. It only says that it can be used to play large games by appending them to the emulator core. In addition, external RAM is slower to access than main RAM, so it doesn't make sense that it would speed things up. Personally I tested a game using both the filesystem method and the appended rom method, as I have a slot-2 Supercard that can handle both, and there was no noticeable difference at all.
     
  10. 1man1dream

    Member 1man1dream GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    161
    Country:
    Australia
  11. Kellicros

    Member Kellicros GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    Messages:
    409
    Country:
    Moonshell uses it? That's a news to me...
     
  12. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Moonshell can use the additional RAM to help decode large JPEG images.
     

Share This Page