OpenWii at 3.0E?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by superrob, Aug 12, 2007.

Aug 12, 2007

OpenWii at 3.0E? by superrob at 12:50 PM (1,007 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. superrob
    OP

    Member superrob H4X H4X H4X!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,465
    Location:
    GBATemp factory.
    Country:
    Denmark
    Hi all i finaly decided to get a chip.
    Ive chosen the OpenWii, But which of the 4 chips should i get?
    And will they work on 3.0E?

    Thanks!
     
  2. nloding

    Member nloding GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Messages:
    400
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    Country:
    United States
    3.0 didn't disable any of the current mods ............
     
  3. superrob
    OP

    Member superrob H4X H4X H4X!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,465
    Location:
    GBATemp factory.
    Country:
    Denmark
    Hmm can i solder the other things that the chip needs on the Atmega8L socket?
    Becurse i dont want to solder directly to the chip becurse of the chance to overheat.
     
  4. Salamantis

    Member Salamantis GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,945
    Country:
    Canada
    You cannot solder on the socket. Well at least I don't think so, but it's pretty easy to solder on the chip, since the pins are much bigger than on the Wii.

    I have a ATMega8L chip, because it's the one that's designed to work the best with OpenWii. And all their new upgrades always come with the ATmega build first.
     
  5. superrob
    OP

    Member superrob H4X H4X H4X!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,465
    Location:
    GBATemp factory.
    Country:
    Denmark
    Ty i have choosen it now and im preparing to operation. [​IMG]
     
  6. HisshouBuraiKen

    Member HisshouBuraiKen GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    214
    Location:
    Nowhere
    Country:
    United States
    Of course you can solder to the socket. It works fine.
     
  7. Wuschmaster

    Member Wuschmaster GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    515
    Country:
    United States
    I bet the new firmware analyzes everyone's Wii and sends data to Nintendo, so they one day CAN block them. [​IMG]
     
  8. captain^k

    Member captain^k GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Messages:
    124
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Just like how the United States of America monitor everyones thoughts if they're not wearing a tinfoil hat.

    [​IMG]
     
  9. gamez2003

    Newcomer gamez2003 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    85
    Country:
    Australia

    what are they really going to block?? Personally I dont use the internet side of the wii whats the point [​IMG]
     

Share This Page