Open source vs wiikey

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by phoisgood495, Jan 15, 2008.

Jan 15, 2008

Open source vs wiikey by phoisgood495 at 10:35 PM (1,375 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

1. phoisgood495
    OP

Newcomer phoisgood495 Member

United States
    Now before you talk i'm not very good at soldering, but i'm at least serviceable. My question is would it be better in the long run to do an open source external mount or install a wiikey? Brawl's delay has pushed me over the edge, and I no longer feel any guilt with modding my wii.

2. diglett

Member diglett GBAtemp Regular

United States
    If you're concerned about updates, Openwii is DVD upgradeable. Though an external mount would make it easier to switch chips later.

3. phoisgood495
    OP

United States
    How much harder is it to do the external mount rather then putting it inside the wii and just opening it up for the crucial openwii updates?

also, if would you suggest using a 8 leg pic or a 16 leg atmega8? How much harder is the installation on an atmega8, how about external on an at mega8?

4. diglett

United States
    It depends how elegantly you want to mount it externally. On my first install, I just made a hole through the bottom vent which worked fine, but damaged the vent plastic and screen. That isn't very hard to do.

The atmega8 is programmable in system, so you could install it anywhere and update via dvd. For that reason, I would recommend it over a pic, which is not as easily reprogrammed.

Only a few of the legs are actually used, so not much difference there. They will both comfortably fit inside the system.

5. phoisgood495
    OP

United States
    With the atmega8 i'm assuming an external mount wouldnt really be necessary then? The main reason i would do an external mount is so i could easily access it for updating, also how much would a compatible programmer run for an atmega8?

6. paul1991

Banned paul1991 Banned

United States
    I would go with a pic beacuse of Wlip.