Open source R4.

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Kellicros, Sep 23, 2007.

?

Yes or No?

  1. Yes.

    2 vote(s)
    100.0%
  2. No.

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. Don't care.

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
Sep 23, 2007

Open source R4. by Kellicros at 11:30 AM (3,564 Views / 0 Likes) 42 replies

  1. Kellicros
    OP

    Member Kellicros GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    Messages:
    409
    Country:
    Let's see how many of you would wish the R4 to follow Acekard's footsteps, releasing the source codes for its firmware!

    but lets not get too serious, do post your thoughts though, and maybe, take the poll. [​IMG]
     


  2. rhyguy

    Member rhyguy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    well, if they did make it open source, the bug where some games would have jap names could be fixed
     
  3. Trel

    Newcomer Trel Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    United States
    I voted yes. If there's ever a reason they couldn't continue releases firmware, the product needn't stagnate.
     
  4. Kellicros
    OP

    Member Kellicros GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    Messages:
    409
    Country:
    but looking at the Acekard somehow, it gives the impression that the developers are being some lazy ass and releasing the codes solely hoping that the homebrewers would clean up their mess. I mean, just look at how buggy their current firmware is...
     
  5. backlash

    Newcomer backlash Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Messages:
    55
    Country:
    Australia
    when i look at teh acekard i dont think of the developers being lazy. i see them working hard with the community to make the card even better. hence i would like to see this happen too with the R4 as i really love this cart and dont want to see it fail. (yet)
     
  6. .::5pYd3r::.

    Member .::5pYd3r::. Viva La Pizza

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    766
    Location:
    The GREAT Southern Land :D
    Country:
    Australia
    I'd love the R4 to be open source it would be so awesome!
     
  7. superrob

    Member superrob H4X H4X H4X!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,465
    Location:
    GBATemp factory.
    Country:
    Denmark
    Well i think it would be a very stupid move.
    Becurse off the R4 is so populair then they would give free cloners all they need.
     
  8. shakirmoledina

    Member shakirmoledina Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    6,611
    Location:
    Dar es Salaam
    Country:
    Tanzania
    exactly .... if they have reached so far on their own and exceeded all expectations like D/P then why is it not so they can do more on their own...?
     
  9. rest0re

    Member rest0re GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Messages:
    755
    Location:
    WINLAND
    Country:
    Finland
    how many people here can for example code or improve firmware? none? except cory1942 maybe...
     
  10. Wii_DS.

    Banned Wii_DS. ウォリアー

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    681
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That would just being a total ass for copying some other slot-1 device.

    I would like it, but its not going to happen.
     
  11. Kellicros
    OP

    Member Kellicros GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    Messages:
    409
    Country:
    any DS homebrew coders with slight interest on the R4 could.
     
  12. rest0re

    Member rest0re GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Messages:
    755
    Location:
    WINLAND
    Country:
    Finland
    winner of idiotic quote of month award...
     
  13. rhyguy

    Member rhyguy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    you can just decrypt the firmware and replace all the places where it says r4ds (or m3 simply) with their flashcard name
     
  14. Kellicros
    OP

    Member Kellicros GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    Messages:
    409
    Country:
    So? Your point is?
    Erm, no offense but you quoted my replies, and I don't see how your post have anything to do with anything I typed.
     
  15. rest0re

    Member rest0re GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Messages:
    755
    Location:
    WINLAND
    Country:
    Finland
    woah, that's smart! you COULD WRITE "POOP" INSTEAD R4DS .. ? no shit, sherlock
     
  16. rhyguy

    Member rhyguy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    All i'm saying is that you wouldnt need the source code to make a clone and use the r4's firmware
     
  17. bobrules

    Member bobrules GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,942
    Location:
    Toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    I don't like open source, I'll wait for the next official frimware.
     
  18. sasuke_kun12

    Member sasuke_kun12 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Messages:
    202
    Location:
    Tokyo 3
    Country:
    Australia
    agreeing with backlash. I reckon the best thing a flashcart company can do is to work with developers and work with them and also with their customers so that they can make the best flash cart possible
     
  19. Wii_DS.

    Banned Wii_DS. ウォリアー

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    681
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well done child, you have just proved you are a arse.
     
  20. backlash

    Newcomer backlash Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Messages:
    55
    Country:
    Australia
    editing the "r4ds english version" text is already possible via injektor. that and many (perhaps all) of the dialog.

    and if a clone is real enough that it looks for the r4 firmware files, then does it matter if it runs the official firmware or maybe my modified firmware?

    if they ever do release the source, i know id switch the top and bottom screeens :x and maybe bypass the games/multimedia/slot2 menu and go straight to the games. and pressing up on the 1st item brings to the last item. and definitely gui enhancements.
     

Share This Page