OMG! LINK YOUR SUPERCARD MOONSHELL WITH A SLOT1 CARD!!&#33

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by nicky041192, May 5, 2008.

  1. nicky041192
    OP

    Member nicky041192 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,433
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I was thinking 'can you use a slot2 moonshell and access media from slot1'.
    i knew this could be possible. so i started doing some experiment.
    and came up with a conclusion. IT WORKS.

    1.install the slot1 version of moonshell onto your supercard.
    2.install the supercard version of moonshell onto your supercard.
    3.make sure you have moonshell installed correctly onto your slot one card.
    4.make sure you have films/images/music etc on the slot one.
    5.run moonshell on the supercard( the moonshell for the slot one)
    6. BANG, you can watch films/music/images that are on your slot one card from your supercard!
    7.soft reset on moonshell for the slot1 that is on the supercard, reboots it to the slot1 main menu.
    8.install the supercard moonshell onto your slot1 card. (so you have both versions of moonshell on the slot1 and supercard.
    go on different version of moonshell to boot up what you want. supercard/slot1.

    Note-Install the moon shell with the boot .nds box checked.(only for slot2)
    -----------------
    Confirmed compatibility
    R4ds Supercard SD

    need testers as i dont have other flash carts. credit will be given.
    FOUND BY ME -Nicky041192-
     
  2. nicky041192
    OP

    Member nicky041192 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,433
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    TESTERS NEEDED.

    USE DIFFERENT SLOT1 AND SLOT2 CARDS AND USE DIFFERENT COMBINATIONS AND POST IN HERE WHETHER IT WORKS.
     
  3. PikaPika

    Member PikaPika GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    695
    Location:
    AZ
    Country:
    United States
    I figured this out a few months ago when I ran an R4 patched Moonshell on my M3 Lite, but that was with no SDHC in the M3. I tried it with my 4GB SDHC in the M3 Lite and running Moonshell off of the R4, and it didn't work. So pretty much: M3 Lite->R4=OK, R4->M3 Lite=OK, and R4->M3 Lite with SDHC=No. I'm pretty sure it will work between any carts with DLDI, as long as the card you run it from doesn't have auto DLDI patching. Even then, most auto DLDI carts can disable the DLDI with a key press or something. I know you can disable it on the CycloDS Evo and the EDGE by holding Select when you launch the homebrew.
     
  4. pasc

    Member pasc GBATemps official GBA Freak

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,572
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    using psychowoods dldi tool you can even lock out the mechanism after patching it for preventing autopatching altogether.
     
  5. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    It's not that complicated. If you patch the moonshell.nds file (or any .nds file for that matter) with the DLDI driver for the slot 2 cart, you can run it from slot 1 and access the files in slot 2 (or vice versa). You will need to put the moonshl folder on the same cart that you want to put the media files on.

    Note that if the cart you're running the .nds file from has autopatching you'll need to use NoAutoPatch (this is built in to DLDI Right Click).


    p.s. Your avatar and sig are both over the file size limit.
     
  6. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Indeed you can.

    Congratulations on "discovering" something the was tried as soon as dldi came out [​IMG]

    There's even a "Dual DLDI" Dual slot file browser.



    Also, MAD CAPITALS are hard to read and don't be a credit whore. Unless you spent your own time writing it, it's not really yours to keep.
     
  7. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Indeed, very old news. NDS games have no clue where they're launched from, so once they're launched it's all up to the DLDI file to dictate where the media files are. This has been known for a while.
     
  8. OSW

    Former Staff OSW Wii King

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,796
    Country:
    Australia
    exactly.

    OP: no need to complicate things
     
  9. nitrodude150

    Member nitrodude150 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    210
    Country:
    United States
    Dude... OLD NEWZ...... [​IMG]
     
  10. quartercast

    Member quartercast GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    250
    Country:
    Australia
    Do you have to reiterate what 4 people above you have already said?
     

Share This Page