Older Pc...needs a DVD burner

Discussion in 'General Off-Topic Chat' started by iza, Feb 15, 2007.

Feb 15, 2007

Older Pc...needs a DVD burner by iza at 3:59 PM (1,365 Views / 0 Likes) 18 replies

1. iza
    OP

Member iza gbatemp, the new crack

United States
    okay, from what i've gathered by looking, the pioneer 111D is a decent DVD burner for my future wii backups(if you know of any cheaper, just as good ones, please post those too!). but i'm a noob when it comes to computer internals. okay, i have a pretty old pc. its a dell with windows xp, pretty low speed and only like 256megs of ram. but anyways, to the point; does any of this matter when i'm upgrading my cd-rw into a dvd-rw? and also, can anyone point me to a pretty detailed instruction or faq about installing an new internal drive?
    Thanks!!
    Isaiah
    btw...in the usa is a plus.

2. legendofphil

Member legendofphil Phil no Densetsu

United Kingdom
    Replacing a drive is just a simple matter of opening the case, taking out the cables connected to the old drive, un-screwing the old drive and then swapping the drives over screwing it back in and replacing the cables. All you need is a Phillips screwdriver.

But being a Dell you might have an issue with the case being riveted shut.

3. iza
    OP

United States
    i dont think it's sealed shut, i've opened it before when i put in my wireless card in it, but i thought that was way simple, but from the sounds of it, so is the DVD drive (permitting i can get it out)...but the speed and memory of the computer shouldnt effect it right? i just have to burn on a very very low speed, correct?
    Thanks
    Isaiah

4. Veho

Global Moderator Veho The man who cried "Ni".

Croatia
    The PC speed doesn't determine burn speed. I think you're all set.

But you should burn game DVDs at lower speeds, because the Wii could have problems reading them otherwise.

5. nintendofreak

Member nintendofreak Around. Shoot me a PM.

United States
  6. FAST6191