OLD TV & New Xbox 360

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Games & Content' started by Apego, Aug 6, 2008.

Aug 6, 2008

OLD TV & New Xbox 360 by Apego at 10:28 PM (1,101 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. Apego
    OP

    Banned Apego Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    will a xbox 360 connect to a old tv that only has the one circuler connection for cable ? I think i need a RF adapter?

    how will it look?
     
  2. MystikEkoez

    Member MystikEkoez GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Messages:
    346
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, you need an RF adapter.
    How big's the TV?
     
  3. Apego
    OP

    Banned Apego Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    its 20 inch
     
  4. MystikEkoez

    Member MystikEkoez GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Messages:
    346
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, it'll look fine.
     
  5. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
  6. Apego
    OP

    Banned Apego Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
  7. deathfisaro

    Member deathfisaro Narcistic Deathfisaro Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,053
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Country:
    Canada
    If you're planning on getting a new TV, use component cable for better quality in 480i.
    Seeing as how the one in the link you posted doesn't take in HDMI, component is the best choice out there.

    PS2 can also output via component cables.
     
  8. Damademan3

    Newcomer Damademan3 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    78
    Location:
    Cr, IA
    Country:
    United States
    a rf is not going to look "fine." it will be blurry and not high quality. Although i understand this is all you have a option to but i would ask for a Tv for Christmas.
     
  9. MystikEkoez

    Member MystikEkoez GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Messages:
    346
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Dude, he's playing on a freaking 20" television. My computer monitor is bigger than that. Plus, RF signals are based off a composite resolution. It'll look the same as if you used an RCA connector. Or at least very close with some interference.
     
  10. deathfisaro

    Member deathfisaro Narcistic Deathfisaro Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,053
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Country:
    Canada
    Actually if he has 9 year old 20" CRT, RF would do fine.
    Ask an average Joe if he can tell the difference between composite and component video.

    Heck, I had one guy e-mail me saying there's no PS2 that officially supports component and whoever is trying to sell me component cable for PS2 is selling me snake oil.
    This is after I explained to him that I'm not getting component for better video quality, NOT resolution higher than SD (although some PS2 games actually support HD). And PS2 does support component output. I am so very certain because I'm using one right now, and Sony is selling me snake oil.
    I'm getting the idea that he confused component with HDMI. That's how much normal people don't care about cables.

    TC wouldn't want to use RF on his new TV, that's for sure, but on his old one?
     
  11. dinofan01

    Member dinofan01 Misses the old days...

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,842
    Country:
    United States
  12. 754boy

    Banned 754boy :D

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    3,469
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Country:
    United States

Share This Page