Old DVD-burner

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by hef, Feb 17, 2007.

Feb 17, 2007

Old DVD-burner by hef at 6:12 PM (1,480 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. hef
    OP

    Newcomer hef Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Location:
    Moscow
    Country:
    Russia
    I'm waiting for my wiinja's delivery now and there is a question that's warrying me.
    I have an old DVD-burner - NEC ND-1300A, and it's in use for about 3 years. I'm not sure this drive will burn images for wii well, cause wii is very sensitive to the quality of record. Does anybody have an experience of using such old stuff?
     
  2. deufeufeu

    Member deufeufeu GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    880
    Country:
    Cote d'Ivoire
    I've used an old pioneer with good media, and so far I've got flawless results.
     
  3. hef
    OP

    Newcomer hef Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Location:
    Moscow
    Country:
    Russia
    Ok, sounds optimistic!
     
  4. sambobuk

    Newcomer sambobuk Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    New Zealand
    What about an HP DVD Writer 300e? I just got that second-hand and it seems to be working, but I don't know whether it will burn Wii images though...???
     
  5. _Mazza_

    Member _Mazza_ GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    279
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    the writer doesn't really matter just use good quality dvd-r and burn the image at 4x speed with nero or imgburn
     
  6. hef
    OP

    Newcomer hef Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Location:
    Moscow
    Country:
    Russia
    Hm, there is another problem with this drive. It doesn't see TDK DVD+R by Taiyo Yuden. I'm going to buy something new..
     
  7. paulchen2k6

    Newcomer paulchen2k6 Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
  8. hef
    OP

    Newcomer hef Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Location:
    Moscow
    Country:
    Russia
    paulchen2k6,
    It's very strange. I installed 1.0C Bitsetting Final Test 2 and nothing was changed. Nero info tool doesn't see the manufacturer ID.
    I'm running MSCE with 10cf-t2.bin and i see that there is YUDEN000 T03 in the list of supported codes by this firmware.
    I'll test my media tomorrow on NEC 7173A. I hope it will work there...
     
  9. Scha

    Newcomer Scha Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Messages:
    54
    Country:
    Norway
    I had that exact burner, and had to go buy a new one. Its kinda nice tho, because the new burner is SOOOO much faster than the old NEC.
     
  10. BlueStar

    Member BlueStar GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,094
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Don't warry, be hoppy!
     
  11. 111111111

    Member 111111111 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    516
    Country:
    Zimbabwe
    The gcn worked best with discs burned by NEC drives. I dunno if the wii will be the same - time will tell I suppose.
     
  12. Ben_j

    Member Ben_j GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Messages:
    696
    Country:
    France
    I have a crappy DVD Burner, noname DVDs and so far no problems [​IMG]
     
  13. NoNameFace

    Member NoNameFace GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    127
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I have NEC 1300A on my computer,too.
    It is not able to change the booktype so you may have to use dvd-r disc's
    to back up your games.
     
  14. hef
    OP

    Newcomer hef Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Location:
    Moscow
    Country:
    Russia
    One more reason to buy new burner...
     

Share This Page