Ok...so this seems like the best way to go...

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by DeltaBurnt, May 7, 2009.

May 7, 2009
  1. DeltaBurnt
    OP

Member DeltaBurnt I'm bored

United States
    Ok so I'm a pro at DS and PSP hacking and somewhat new to Wii hacking. I've been looking into for the like last 1.5 - 2 weeks. I for the most part decided this would be my best course of action when bannerbomb comes out (No I'm not a noob, I'm just lazy. I knew about the TP exploit when it came out but I didn't feel like buying the Wii version and I also knew 4.0 blocked it):

1. Use bannerbomb to downgrade to 3.2
    2. Install HBC with bannerbomb
    3. Install the latest cIOS by Wanni
    4. Install preloader/starfall/bootmii and use the hacks.ini to make my life extremely easier
    5. Use WiiSCU so I can still go on the Shop Channel and what not.
    6. Install the homebrew and apps I want and be happy

Now does that plan seem good or should I change/add anything to it? Honestly I see no need in updating to 4.0 again because...I mean wow it's an SD Menu...and some other things I don't care about.

2. Gamemaster1379

Member Gamemaster1379 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

United States
    Since you're already at 4.0 legitimately, you may not be able to install a cIOS, as it's installation relies upon a trucha bug. (somebody correct me if I'm wrong about this)

As for the choices of loaders, I suggest Preloader for the time being. I've not used starfall, but from what I understand, it depends on the fact you have the Twilight Hack to recover from a brick, whereas you can boot directly into the HBC with Preloader. Bootmii has yet to have come out, but there's rumors that it may be patching the exploit that backed up Wii games run on. If you have any intent to run backups, Bootmii won't be your best bet.