Ok, so I'm getting an R4 and DS

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by K2Valor, Nov 27, 2007.

Nov 27, 2007
  1. K2Valor
    OP

Newcomer K2Valor Advanced Member

United States
    I'm going to get an R4, 1GB SD Card ( any suggestions on which brand? ), and a crimson & black DS.
    Now, I have a few questions that I would like clarified

- Will the R4 work with Windows 2000?
    - Is it really simple to do?
    - Are the new kernels necessary? ( What is a kernel anyways? )
    - If I wanted the Castlevania game to work, what MicroSD card do I get?
    - How exactly do the saves work?
    - How does the organizing work?
    - What are some essential programs I will need to make my whole experience easier?

Thanks for all the help, and if any more questions arise I will ask them here.

2. AuthorX

Newcomer AuthorX Member

United States
    Well, I'm new to this too, but since I've had a couple weeks to play around with mine, i think I can answer some questions.

1: If your computer can read and write to an SD card (there's also a microSD USB adaptor included with the R4), it will work with the R4
    2: With the newer firmware, just drag and drop files onto the flash card.
    3: The kernel is just the file you put on the flashcard that acts as firmware. In other words, to get a new kernel, just download it, put it in the right folder instead of the old one, and the firmware will be updated. I'd suggest getting the updates if you don't know which version you have, or just to be on the safe side, but mine already came with 1.11, which works perfectly well (there's only one more recent version, and it barely updates anything).
    4: I heard that Kingston Japanese ones are the best for various reasons, and the deal I found included one of those, so that's what I got. There's a full list here.