Ok... so I was downloading this torrent using my a local unsecured net

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by icefox2, Aug 19, 2008.

  1. icefox2
    OP

    Newcomer icefox2 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    62
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    And yeah everything was going fine for like 2 days I was connected and downloading and now suddenly I wasn't able to access the internet anymore even though I could connect to the network just fine. It says "successfully connected to xxxxx" but I can't use the internet or anything did they perhaps block my IP or something? I'm using my connection now and yeah I would just like to know... the reason I didn't use mine in the first place is because my internet service provider has a download limit below what I want to download. Again don't lecture me I just want to know it's their fault they didn't encrypt their internet.

    edit: disregard that "my" in the topic title.
     


  2. BiscuitBee

    Member BiscuitBee Semi-Resident Cookie-Bug

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    689
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    I kind of understand what you are trying to say/ask.

    If they cut off your internet, how is "I'm using my connection now" make sense?

    Anyhow, it's probably Rogers or something (whatever Canadian ISP you are using) cutting you off for downloading too much on P2P stuffs.
     
  3. genuisgeek

    Member genuisgeek GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    256
    Location:
    Taiwan
    Country:
    United States
    ahhh i had this problem as well!!!
    but it kinda got fixed
    my suggestions are check ur pc for viruses,rtks, malware,spyware, etc
    or u can try reinstalling browsers(least useful)

    i think for me it was some virus thats ur best bet
    i remember i made a thread about this

    EDIT: AHH HERES THE THREAD I MADE try using some ideas given there
    P.S. try using network/internet needed programs and if they work or not such as AIM,MSN, IRC, etc.

    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=97171
     
  4. icefox2
    OP

    Newcomer icefox2 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    62
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Well no I mean when I am connected to my secured network (I'm using my laptop) everything works fine. However, when I go on this unsecured network which has worked before it tells me successfully connected but nothing works no internet. That's why I'm saying is it possible they blocked my IP? I only got like 1.8 gigs downloaded so far.
     
  5. fischju

    Member fischju Rehabilitated Jaywalker

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940
    Country:
    United States
    They could have turned on mac address filtering


    And what if they have the same limit that you do, and you get their internet shut off?
     
  6. BiscuitBee

    Member BiscuitBee Semi-Resident Cookie-Bug

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    689
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh, you're using someone else's wireless!

    Yeah, they probably caught one and turned on some filtering. Or their internet modem needs to be reset.

    PS:
    And I WILL lecture you on how this is wrong.

    This is wrong.
     
  7. icefox2
    OP

    Newcomer icefox2 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    62
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    yeah that's what I was trying to say. Damn that sucks though that was like the one good connection around my place... I didn't think they would block me.
     
  8. icefox2
    OP

    Newcomer icefox2 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    62
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    XD I know it is but oh well a lot of things are wrong.
     
  9. BiscuitBee

    Member BiscuitBee Semi-Resident Cookie-Bug

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    689
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Not to make you paranoid, but... one of the reasons I try not to use unsecured wireless networks from a, seemingly, home user is that they could be some knowledgeable computer person with a linux-box running as a DHCP/DNS.

    From there, they could capture any packets that you send/receive and even poison your connection to send you to a phishing site instead of, say, gmail.com

    Sure, that's a bit extreme... but it's possible. (And mostly legal?)
     
  10. icefox2
    OP

    Newcomer icefox2 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    62
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    yeah it's fine though I'm pretty sure that I know where this person lives and if that's the case I know they aren't too computer knowledgeable. Also what kind of knowledgeable computer person leaves their network unsecured is it so hard to just encrypt it with an admin password?
     
  11. BiscuitBee

    Member BiscuitBee Semi-Resident Cookie-Bug

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    689
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Said knowledgeable person leaves their network unsecured as a trap for passers-by........

    EDIT:

    As for the evil side of things...

    You can always check if you can connect to their router.

    192.168.0.1 or 192.168.1.1 using your favourite internet browser.

    That's a pretty good indication that you aren't on a mac filter and that the internet is just down.

    Also, try out the default passwords to get into the router and jump over to the status page. You can doubly check there if there is a WAN IP of some outside network. If that WAN IP happens to be 192.168 or any other reserved internal IP, you may have to start worrying.
     
  12. icefox2
    OP

    Newcomer icefox2 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    62
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Well nm it seems as though some minor problem happened I can connect to the internet again now. But thanks for the info... I won't be using it as much anymore maybe during nighttime only.
     
  13. fischju

    Member fischju Rehabilitated Jaywalker

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940
    Country:
    United States
    I've done this to my neighbors: upload dd-wrt firmware to their routers and increase the antenna power 50% so it is easier to connect to.
     
  14. Diablo1123

    Member Diablo1123 Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,432
    Location:
    Underground
    Country:
    United States
    I would get into the router, and change the wireless password before anyone else can get in and change it.
    [​IMG]
    But they turned off the router or something now...
     
  15. BiscuitBee

    Member BiscuitBee Semi-Resident Cookie-Bug

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    689
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Haha, I've never been THAT daring before. That's pretty sweet
     
  16. Trolly

    Member Trolly GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Behind you! I know you looked!
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well, I'd hate it if someone was nicking my internet connection, but then I use all I get tbf. If it's someone who isn't using the internet most of the time, I don't really see it as a major problem anyway.
    Besides, you could ask them whether it's okay if you share their internet I guess. If they're nice, they might let you aha. Then again, it's not exactly likely they'll let you (especially if they don't know much about computers).

    Still, you can install firmware that makes your router more powerful and transmit further? That's awesome, where can I get it?
     
  17. fischju

    Member fischju Rehabilitated Jaywalker

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940
    Country:
    United States
    You can use DD WRT or Tomato, there are versions for many routers
    http://www.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv3/index.php
    http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Tomato_Firmwa...pported_devices
     
  18. Diablo1123

    Member Diablo1123 Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,432
    Location:
    Underground
    Country:
    United States
    They are mostly for D-Link routers aren't they?
    I have a 2Wire so it doesn't work, been wanting a new one for a while though.
     
  19. fischju

    Member fischju Rehabilitated Jaywalker

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940
    Country:
    United States
    http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Supported_Devices
    3 Supported Devices
    3.1 Accton
    3.2 Actiontec / Verizon
    3.3 ADI Engineering
    3.4 Airlink 101
    3.5 AirLive
    3.6 Allnet
    3.7 Askey
    3.8 Asus
    3.9 Gateworks
    3.10 Belkin
    3.11 Buffalo
    3.12 Conceptronic
    3.13 Compex
    3.14 Corega
    3.15 Dell
    3.16 D-Link
    3.17 FON / OEM Accton
    3.18 Gateway
    3.19 Iomega
    3.20 Lanready
    3.21 Linksys (all the rest that is not re-engineered til today)
    3.22 Linksys
    3.23 MagicBox
    3.24 Meraki
    3.25 Microsoft
    3.26 Mikrotik
    3.27 Motorola
    3.28 Mitsubishi
    3.29 NewMedia
    3.30 NETCORE
    3.31 Netgear
    3.32 OSBRiDGE
    3.33 Ovislink
    3.34 PC-Engines
    3.35 Ravo
    3.36 Senao / EnGenius
    3.37 Siemens
    3.38 Sitecom
    3.39 SOEKRIS Engineering
    3.40 SparkLAN
    3.41 Tonze
    3.42 Toshiba
    3.43 TRENDnet
    3.44 Ubiquiti
    3.45 US Robotics
    3.46 Verizon
    3.47 Viewsonic
    3.48 Watchguard
    3.49 WiliGear
    3.50 Wistron
     
  20. Trippy

    Member Trippy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    200
    Country:
    United States
    Well I used to use my neighbors wireless connection until I got a faster one than his. I believe it's fair game since it's not exactly hard to set a password. I didn't do any heavy downloading on his connection or anything.
     

Share This Page