Ok im Wondering what gamecube Memmory card to get

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Princess Rozalin, May 26, 2010.

  1. Princess Rozalin
    OP

    Member Princess Rozalin †GBAtemp Official Princess Of Roses†

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    544
    Location:
    Netherworld
    Country:
    United States
    Ok i dont want to waste a lot of Money i heard a lot that some Gamecube Memory card corrupts on the Wii.So help me out here lol.I bought a GC card but after a Day my Games Corrupted and it was ffrom gamestop the memory are Low its 128 Blocks.So can anyone recomend a good card that wont Corrupt my saves.or maybey a way i can back up my saves or a way to be able to save fromt he sd or USB ect ect
     
  2. Exaltys

    Member Exaltys GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    287
    Country:
    United States
    Ones that probably won't corrupt you Wii, even though I've never heard of such things, are the official Nintendo ones. I recommend the 1019; it's only about $12 on Amazon.
     
  3. Princess Rozalin
    OP

    Member Princess Rozalin †GBAtemp Official Princess Of Roses†

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    544
    Location:
    Netherworld
    Country:
    United States
    Does are Expensive even on Amazon plus i heard that its because of the Wii it need to be Wii Compatible apparently.
     
  4. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    What you hear doesn't have to be true. I doesn't need to be marked as Compatible with the Wii, all GC memcards are compatible with the Wii.
     
  5. Exaltys

    Member Exaltys GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    287
    Country:
    United States
    $12 is expensive? I guess you could opt for the 256 black one from Nintendo.
     
  6. Slimmmmmm

    Member Slimmmmmm GBAtemp MoNkEeE

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,687
    Location:
    the land of lol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Have a read of this...
    http://gbatemp.net/t228605-gamecube-memory-cards

    It's a work in progress, but some good links to check out. A lot of reading and research was done to narrow the cards down, I get all of them featured soon and will be testing each one out with "problem games" and homebrew backup apps.
     
  7. Gnargle

    Member Gnargle The day I set a profile picture is the day I die

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    581
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No Gamecube memory card can corrupt your Wii. A GC memory card can corrupt itself if it's really bad, but I have multiple 3rd party cards and none of them have ever corrupted. Buy any one you want, you'll be fine.
     
  8. Princess Rozalin
    OP

    Member Princess Rozalin †GBAtemp Official Princess Of Roses†

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    544
    Location:
    Netherworld
    Country:
    United States
    not Corrupt Wii the gamecube saves anyways my GC card got Corrupted on the wii again i Exchanged it today for a better one im Testing it out but im wondering is there a applications like to back up GC saves in case any Corruption happens cause im playing a Couple games and so far i done a lot of Work on it.
     
  9. The Real Jdbye

    Member The Real Jdbye D:

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    8,582
    Location:
    Doing your mom
    Country:
    Norway
    http://www.play-asia.com/SOap-23-83-fxgs-7...4-j-70-5g4.html

    That's the one to get. It's an official product, and probably has more space than you'll ever need.

    EDIT:
    Good overview, but the datel memory cards suck.
     
  10. ciris

    Member ciris GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    142
    Country:
    United States
    I like using the third party memory cards because you can use gamecube memory manager to transfer saves to the sd card and back. You cant do this with the official memory card.

     
  11. Slimmmmmm

    Member Slimmmmmm GBAtemp MoNkEeE

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,687
    Location:
    the land of lol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes you can with one of the homebrew apps.

    Read here : http://gbatemp.net/t228605-gamecube-memory-cards about NuGaSa, it crashes but DOES work with official cards many people have reported. Also there are hardware options for backing up saves *note* some saves are not able to be restored to a diff card or after a format no matter what card you use.
     
  12. ciris

    Member ciris GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    142
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the clarity Slim. I just bookmarked your thread. Thanks again!
     
  13. Princess Rozalin
    OP

    Member Princess Rozalin †GBAtemp Official Princess Of Roses†

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    544
    Location:
    Netherworld
    Country:
    United States
    since i have a third part card i can use it but wh does it Crashes?
     
  14. Slimmmmmm

    Member Slimmmmmm GBAtemp MoNkEeE

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,687
    Location:
    the land of lol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No the app wont crash with 3rd party card. NuGaSa crashes if you use an official card, but still works.

    There are 2 other apps you can use also if you have a 3rd party card.
     
  15. Princess Rozalin
    OP

    Member Princess Rozalin †GBAtemp Official Princess Of Roses†

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    544
    Location:
    Netherworld
    Country:
    United States
    Ok i tried NuGaSa i had a littlle prob when i backed up my pokemon save when i tried to put it back it shows on the data management it works but when you boot up the game it says no save data on slot A.
     
  16. elimist

    Member elimist GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    282
    Country:
    United States
    I use a 3rd party card that has a ton of memory. I dont remember how much but it was like 5x the official ones when I bought it and it works fine.
     

Share This Page