ok i have a 4gig sdhc card and a regular gig and my question is..

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by legendss, Apr 16, 2009.

  1. legendss
    OP

    Newcomer legendss Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United States
    can i use the 4gig sdhc cause i hear it works but it could have problems
    so should i just stick with the regular 2gig?
     
  2. Tokiopop

    Member Tokiopop Caffeine fiend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,833
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you look, there's a thread confirming 16GB Micro SDHC cards work. So you're 4GB certainly will.
     
  3. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    acekard has SDHC support, so yes it will work
     
  4. Briankealing

    Member Briankealing GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    641
    Country:
    United States
    There's theoretical SDHC support.

    Just keep in mind that normal SD cards are the most stable.
     
  5. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    what do you mean by theoretical? are you talking about untested volume sizes like 16gb+? the acekards contain a very real sdhc slot, and akaio has been coded and tested to work with sdhc. i'm not sure what is theoretical about that.

    -another world
     
  6. klopfdreh

    Member klopfdreh GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    147
    Country:
    Germany
    /sign

    I'm going to buy a new greater sdhc card for my ak2i [​IMG] - I love it - 4GB in the dsi in the right side for playing music and +XGB at the top in my flashcard. Reaaly nice at all [​IMG]
     
  7. zero383

    Member zero383 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    649
    Location:
    Vancouver - #1 City in Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    It's not theoretical. Acekard has full support for SDHC and so does AKAIO. Do you have proof that normal MicroSD cards are more stable? My 8GB Class2 Sandisk work just as well as my 1GB Kingston. The SDHC's are actually faster too. Around 5MB write /17MB read vs 3MB write/10MB read.
     
  8. tokenwizard

    Newcomer tokenwizard Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    Umm.
    I have the AceKard 2i and a 4GB SDHC Card and no matter what I try I get a "System File is Missing" error. However, when I setup my 1GB card EXACTLY the same way, it works fine. Anybody got any ideas? I'm using the official 4.16 firmware.
     
  9. italianmod

    Newcomer italianmod Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    89
    Country:
    United States
    i'm using an 8GB sdhc card with 0 problems, it works perfectly, i almost got a 16GB but I didn't want to spend the extra money [​IMG] so i can confirm that at least up to 8GB works, but 16GB has been confirmed in other places as well
     
  10. tokenwizard

    Newcomer tokenwizard Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, I know many people have had success all the way up to 16GB. I'm just trying to figure out why I'm not.
    [​IMG]
     
  11. italianmod

    Newcomer italianmod Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    89
    Country:
    United States
    I suggest formatting your 4GB with the panasonic sd formatter software, then setup the 1GB the way you are supposed to and make sure it works, if it does then simply copy the files from the 1GB to the 4GB (if you can't do it directly then obviously put the files in a folder on your PC first then go to the 4GB) and try again
     
  12. Briankealing

    Member Briankealing GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    641
    Country:
    United States
    Of course it works.

    I'm just saying that the higher capacity you go, the less stable things may become. I don't think the AK has a PERFECT sdhc support - but its pretty good.
     
  13. tokenwizard

    Newcomer tokenwizard Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    The Panasonic Formatter did the trick! Very strange. I had already tried formatting with both Windoze and my Linux box. Wonder what is so different about the Panasonic formatter?

    Anyway, thanks for the great advice!
     
  14. Kaoz360

    Newcomer Kaoz360 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well i'm using a sandisk mobile ultra 4gig class 6 micro sdhc with my acekard and it works very well with no problems so far,all roms play well with no lag and it roughly writes at about 13 - 15 meg with very good read speed
     
  15. italianmod

    Newcomer italianmod Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    89
    Country:
    United States
    no problem, glad i could help [​IMG]
     

Share This Page