Oh god, I feel like a tard, but i need to ask..

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by isaac52, Feb 19, 2009.

Feb 19, 2009
  1. isaac52
    OP

    Member isaac52 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    277
    Location:
    MD, USA
    Country:
    United States
    I'm sure this has been asked countless times before, but I've been looking for my solution for... at least 2 weeks now.

    I have a japanese, 3.2j wiikey 1.9s wii.

    I have a scrubbed japanese brawl(4.37 gb, seems to be small enough for a single layer) and burn on single layer DVD+RW memorex disks.

    I do not have DL disks.

    I tried burning it without doing ANYTHING to it, and at the disk channel, it wanted me to update, and that's a no-no.
    And Gecko OS, gave me a green screen(like it does with every single game ive tried on it)

    Then, i burned by removing the 001 error via trucha + GWP, and brickblocking the update.
    This didn't give me an update, but it went to a black screen after loading from disk channel.
    And gave me green screen from gecko OS

    I have a legit ntsc-U copy of brawl, which doesn't work either.

    Please, someone tell me what to do? I recently have a massive craving to play brawl [​IMG]


    Also note, i do not have the homebrew channel, it never worked for me [​IMG] I'm just loadin GeckoOS from LoZ each time.
     


  2. kitt050383

    Member kitt050383 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    648
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    make sure your using the newest version of geckoos....
    also go into options and use the vidtvpatch...
    patch the game to ntsc-u...
    force region to usa...
    -kitt050383
     
  3. isaac52
    OP

    Member isaac52 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    277
    Location:
    MD, USA
    Country:
    United States
    I believe i got the newest version of gecko OS, but it won't load [​IMG]

    Says it failed to read (-1)

    Edit: Downloaded from http://wiibrew.org/wiki/GeckoOS

    used region free, gecko OS (for TWH), and the top one, that said it was compatible with HBC, none of em worked.
     
  4. kitt050383

    Member kitt050383 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    648
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    format your sd card to fat16 aka fat...
    if it is already format it again...
    -kitt05383
     
  5. isaac52
    OP

    Member isaac52 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    277
    Location:
    MD, USA
    Country:
    United States

    Okay, formatted it to FAT16(my pc displays it as just FAT though) but it was FAT before as well.

    It didn't work, but i did get a different reaction.
    A bunch of numbers appeared on the screen, about 4 lines of em in the top of the screen.

    and 3 that go to half way across the middle of the screen.
     
  6. GhostSonic

    Member GhostSonic GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    188
    Country:
    United States
    Why can't you update?
     
  7. isaac52
    OP

    Member isaac52 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    277
    Location:
    MD, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Cauuuuse it could brick me perhaps?
     
  8. isaac52
    OP

    Member isaac52 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    277
    Location:
    MD, USA
    Country:
    United States
    seems like no one can help me [​IMG]
     
  9. isaac52
    OP

    Member isaac52 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    277
    Location:
    MD, USA
    Country:
    United States
    bump... help?
     
  10. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    Dunno if it helps, but don't use DVD+RW
    Use DVD-R
     
  11. isaac52
    OP

    Member isaac52 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    277
    Location:
    MD, USA
    Country:
    United States
    What about DVD-RW?
    I fuck up too much to use DVD-R :/
     
  12. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    Wii doesn't like RW (or maybe doesn't read at all, but that might be different since you have a modchip)
     
  13. isaac52
    OP

    Member isaac52 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    277
    Location:
    MD, USA
    Country:
    United States
    All my burns are DVD+RW
    In fact, only until i started using RW did my burns work. i have about 20 failed burns on DVD+R... but this was due to my own stupidity mainly.
     
  14. Wilson735

    Member Wilson735 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    Messages:
    125
    Country:
    United States
    The DVD+RW drive seems to be the problem. Burn onto a DVD-R and it should be smooth.

    Also, if it's a Japanese Wii and the game wanting to update is also Japanese, you can update it without the risk of a brick.
     
  15. Sstew

    Member Sstew GBAtemp's Grim Reaper.

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,463
    Location:
    Florida
    Country:
    United States
    Some wii's wont even read RW, get -R if you can.

    Make sure your burning properly too
     
  16. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,674
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    By the way, be sure to have a ripped version of SSBB, and not just a scrubbed one.

    The ripped version is a Single Layer DVD, the scrubbed version occupies less space on HD, but it's still a Dual Layer DVD.
     
  17. isaac52
    OP

    Member isaac52 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    277
    Location:
    MD, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Well, brawl IS japanese... but are you -certain- this won't either brick, or semi-brick?
     
  18. isaac52
    OP

    Member isaac52 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    277
    Location:
    MD, USA
    Country:
    United States
    How can i tell which is which?
    This brawl was 4.37gb when i downloaded it... so it could be burned on single layer, but is there a way i can tell which this is?
    All the title said was this
    (Wii)[080131] Super Smash Bros. Brawl X JAP
     
  19. isaac52
    OP

    Member isaac52 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    277
    Location:
    MD, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Is everyone certain i can't use DVD-RW on my wiikey modded wii?

    I -really- mess up a lot... the ability to retry is a neccesity for me really.
     
  20. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,674
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    I guess it's the ripped version then.

    BTW, I use DVD+RWs regularly on my WiiKey modded Wii, but I dunno about DVD-RWs. Maybe it could be just that.
     

Share This Page