1. bad3ip420

    OP bad3ip420 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2021
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Philippines
    So update just went live. Instead of the rumored 11.4.0, it jumped straight to 12.0. Safe to update or wait for news? I'm hesitant right now as it might break my cfw/saves. Any help or guides out there?
     
  2. pinbi7

    pinbi7 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    415
    Country:
    Canada
    I'd wait rill more info comes out
     
  3. Noimus

    Noimus Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    United States
    Don't update yet. Wait till the latest Atmosphere + Sig Patches and all the other updates come through. I would wait a whole week after release prior to updating. If the games you're playing don't require it then don't update it at this time.
     
  4. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    afaik atmosphere needs to be rewritten a lot so you should wait to update if you want to use AMS :o
     
  5. linuxares

    linuxares I'm not a generous god!
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    8,598
    Country:
    Sweden
    Never update.... it's the rule nr.1 with homebrews.
    Just wait for news...
     
    KiiWii and BigOnYa like this.
  6. bad3ip420

    OP bad3ip420 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2021
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Philippines
    Thanks everyone!

    Question, If I update my legit switch. Can I still play Diablo 3 local multiplayer on my legit 12.0 switch with my 11.0.1 sysnand switch?
     
  7. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    20,749
    Country:
    Norway
    At the very least you need new sig patches, usually a new Atmosphere version is needed as well. General rule of thumb is to only update when a game/update/DLC needs it, there's no reason to update to the latest on emuNAND, and sometimes there are issues with latest FW on CFW even after Atmosphere is updated to support it, so it's safer to stay behind.
    You can safely update your OFW sysNAND if you have an RCM exploitable Switch though.
     
  8. SkyDX

    SkyDX Anime Signature Creator, PM me if you want one! :)
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Messages:
    528
    Country:
    Germany
    I have a question as after setting up emuMMC Atmosphere there wasn't any update for me yet. Can I update my sysMMC safely and just keep my emuMMC on 11.x?
     
  9. Ill87

    Ill87 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Germany
    I just did it by mistake, thought it was a game update but updated sysnand to 12.0 with emunand 11.0.1 .... :toot:

    Now I can no longer start the sysnand through hekate, only normal boot without rcm works...
    (emunand on 11.0.1 still work)

    Now waiting for atmosphere update :bow:
     
    Last edited by Ill87, Apr 6, 2021
  10. xtrem3x

    xtrem3x GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    147
    Country:
    So does this update stop 11.01 emunand working?
     
  11. Ill87

    Ill87 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Germany
    No, emunand on 11.0.1 is still working. Only starting sysnand trough hekate doesn't work for me atm
     
  12. xtrem3x

    xtrem3x GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    147
    Country:
    Ok, cheers
     
  13. xabier

    xabier GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2006
    Messages:
    577
    Country:
    United States
    Completely disagree. RCM exploit on nintendo switch is privileged enough and easy enough to let you update your sysnand whenever you want and still be able to load other OS from the sdcard.

    I wouldnt even trade not being able to use my switch online on OFW for a software coldboot exploit, rcm is easy and convenient.
     
  14. SkyDX

    SkyDX Anime Signature Creator, PM me if you want one! :)
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Messages:
    528
    Country:
    Germany
    Alright thanks, so I can safely update as I always clean-boot anyway :P
     
  15. bad3ip420

    OP bad3ip420 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2021
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Philippines
    Doing a clean boot burns fuses right? or is it due to a downgraded console?
     
  16. Goku1992A

    Goku1992A GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2019
    Messages:
    1,389
    Country:
    United States
    I was just told it will work but idk how you modded your switch if you did everything correctly it should work. If you update your SYSNAND normally yes you would burn fuses like a normal switch. If you updated your sysnand abnormally you might experience problems.
     
  17. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    14,933
    Country:
    United States
    Booting a firmware higher than the current fuse count through the stock bootloader burns fuses.
     
  18. Escape1975

    Escape1975 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2021
    Messages:
    84
    Country:
    Canada
    In this case though I think, there was no burned fuses going from 11.0.1 to 12.0.0 ...
     
  19. Theone5000

    Theone5000 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    97
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Firmware 12.0.0 is available for download (317.0M).
    I first upgraded to Atmosphère 0.19.1 alongside with hekate v5.5.5 & Nyx v1.0.2.
    After that I used Daybreak to update from firmware 11.0.1 to firmware 12.0.0.
    Using the appropriate sigpatches I did not experience any problems with games. Though some of the homebrew apps may experience problems.

    [​IMG]

    And after the update(s).
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited by Theone5000, Apr 14, 2021
  20. Escape1975

    Escape1975 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2021
    Messages:
    84
    Country:
    Canada
    My switch is always offline and running from sysNAND, the easiest way to update is using Daybreak I assume ?
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - update,