1. recgame77

    OP recgame77 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2015
    Messages:
    182
    Country:
    Cameroon
    Hi I m launching henkaku 7 from offline installer. Is it possible from there to launch henkaku 8 somehow and have latest molecularshell and spoofing.

    edit : i mean is it safe to relaunch the installer to upgrade to henkaku 8
     
    Last edited by recgame77, Mar 28, 2017
  2. Zukov

    Zukov Dinosaur
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2016
    Messages:
    320
    Country:
    Chile
    Only if your offline installer is able to update to Henkaku 8.
     
  3. Sonic Angel Knight

    Sonic Angel Knight GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    13,975
    Country:
    United States
    Run the offline installer, that is all. After you do, just open email and it will load henkaku 8. Is written in the instructions. "To keep henkaku updated, run offline installer when a new one is available." :P

    Henkaku 8 has spoofing already. just load it like normal. Open molecule, press start, turn on enable psn spoof, unsafe homebrew, and firmware spoof. Set firmware spoof to 3.63. Then reload taihen plugin in (maybe no need to) That is all.

    Yifan did not update vitashell so you will still get 1.43 molecule when you activate henkaku. If you want molecule to have vitashell 1.61, you have to open either one of them, browse to ux0:apps/vitashell Then copy the eboot.bin to MLCL00001 (you will know which folder cause it has 2 henkaku plugins in it.) Then paste it there. Reload molecule and it will load vitashell 1.61

    Bad news is if you reboot system you have to enable henkaku again and it will reinstall molecule with 1.43. So is just until new henkaku is released.
     
    Last edited by Sonic Angel Knight, Mar 28, 2017
    recgame77 likes this.
  4. Zukov

    Zukov Dinosaur
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2016
    Messages:
    320
    Country:
    Chile
    How can we ignore this part.
    There must be one way to mantain the molecule in 1.61 without it checking it at every reboot.
     
  5. Sonic Angel Knight

    Sonic Angel Knight GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    13,975
    Country:
    United States
    Well is been a bug for me for long time now. The main reason is that the settings are different weather you use the molecule bubble or vitashell bubble. Molecule has more settings, spoofing, unsafe homebrew, reload taihen plugins, etc. Vitashell hides those options.

    Currently unless you set up your own webhost server with henkaku 1.61, it will always do that until yifan_lu updates it. So maybe contact him and ask if he can push a updated vitashell to molecule. I would also suggest just maybe unlocking the extra settings so that standalone vita shell can access them instead of needing molecule. :P
     
  6. YugiSenpai

    YugiSenpai GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2017
    Messages:
    238
    Country:
    Canada
    I installed vita shell on a formatted memory card and it asked me to update right after I opened it, after clicking yes it updated to 1.61
    I thought the automatic updater was no long working.
     
  7. Sonic Angel Knight

    Sonic Angel Knight GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    13,975
    Country:
    United States
    Well i guess is fixed. Though it updates VITASHELL not MOLECULE :P
     
  8. yifan_lu

    yifan_lu @yifanlu
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    663
    Country:
    United States
    Stop telling people to bother me. I'm also not going to automatically install unaudited closed source kernel modules with known instabilities onto every vita. You install it at your own risk. If you can backport VitaShell 1.61 with all the bug fixes and without any kernel stuff (USB, uma0, etc), go ahead and send a pull request.
     
  9. Zukov

    Zukov Dinosaur
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2016
    Messages:
    320
    Country:
    Chile
    So, this is because the latest versions of Vitashell are unstable?
    Thanks for your words, yifan. Now that I know, I get the idea of keeping molecule as stable as possible.
     
  10. yifan_lu

    yifan_lu @yifanlu
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    663
    Country:
    United States
    No, VitaShell/molecularshell has always been buggy but it's contained within the app. Latest VitaShell includes kernel plugins which can potentially make the whole system unstable. At the very least having kernel plugins might use more battery life. I see no point in bundling/forcing the user with dozens of features at the cost of stability and battery. People who want specific features can install specific apps/plugins. The whole point of hacking is decentralization--that's why I find these psp, PS3, 3DS cfws so appalling.
     
    gudenau likes this.
  11. Sonic Angel Knight

    Sonic Angel Knight GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    13,975
    Country:
    United States
    Does the psvita tv usb loading have anything to do with the unstable plugins? Or is there more like usb connection to pc and other such things? :unsure:
     
  12. yifan_lu

    yifan_lu @yifanlu
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    663
    Country:
    United States
    Isn't that what I said? All the USB stuff is done with kernel patches.
     
  13. Sonic Angel Knight

    Sonic Angel Knight GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    13,975
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, i concede your decision. I didn't make that statement to cause trouble for anyone. It was only a noticable thing I was pointing out. So then I have two questions. Why does only molecule have the advance options instead of both and is it possible to maybe have a skip check for molecule install button and just activate henkaku feature when loading it?

    I'm just a bit confused as to why vitashell does not include the options that molecule has when they both are the same homebrew.:wacko:
     
  14. yifan_lu

    yifan_lu @yifanlu
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    663
    Country:
    United States
    No, henkaku is installed to the molecularshell app. That makes it easy to uninstall (delete molecularshell and reboot). If we install the files elsewhere you would have to manually delete the files or run some sort of uninstaller (we're not going to be like windows). Also, only molecularshell can modify settings or any homebrew and disable safe mode. Honestly a lot of thought has been put into this and it's easier if you just install VitaShell separately if you want to.
     
    MadMageKefka likes this.
  15. Sonic Angel Knight

    Sonic Angel Knight GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    13,975
    Country:
    United States
    Haha, windows. :P

    Okay i understand a lot better about the situation. Thank you for explaining it. Sorry about what i said earlier, i had no place to tell people to "Bother" you about it, though what i could have said was ask about it. :)
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - offlinerhenkaku, upgrade, henkaku