Hacking Official Xbox One Retroarch Thread

Donnie-Burger

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2021
Messages
221
Trophies
0
Website
www.youtube.com
XP
265
Country
United States
hi all, I have a very strange problem regarding the Xbox device portal .... I updated my Xbox One few days back, then switched to dev mode, Retroarch would not start (took too long to load error). Today I installed the latest version (RetroArch-msvc2019-UWP_x64), set it up, pointed browser to ROMs, played games, etc .... when I tried to upload some BIOS files to the LocalState > system folder via FireFox web browser the spinner went round but nothing uploaded.

Thing is, I can infact upload files to other Retroarch folders via the portal but the system is not accepting files, therefore I cannot play Neo Geo arcade, PS1, SEGA Naomi .... has anyone else encountered this & has a solution ? Its been many months since I uploaded via the portal using Firefox, maybe something has broken in the latest Firefox version ?

I have found this post but the fix method described didnt work: https://forums.hololens.com/discussion/9283/i-can-no-longer-upload-files-through-device-portal
Change retroarch from app to game. Put files anywhere retroarch has access to. Have retroarch point to the bios file in settings. You can also ftp in and do this or file explorers with access.
 
  • Like
Reactions: hooky1992

DeanCode

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Nov 27, 2021
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
19
Country
United States
I was having issues with Mupen64Plus-Next just showing a black screen, so I copied the v1.9.5 core into the current retroarch build, and that seemed to fix the black screen issues I was having. However, some games are working flawlessly (Super Mario 64, Mario Kart 64), some are stuttering a lot (Mario Party 2, Dr. Mario 64), and some are giving me weird visuals where I can't see much (Pokemon Stadium, Pokemon Stadium 2). I'm assuming I could fix this by messing with the settings, but nothing I've been trying has helped. Would anyone with a XBOX ONE S and a working Mupen64Plus-Next core be willing to share their settings with a noob?
Someone can help me i have the same problem ? Where can i get the 1.9.5 core ?
 

hooky1992

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 13, 2021
Messages
30
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
233
Country
United States
Change retroarch from app to game. Put files anywhere retroarch has access to. Have retroarch point to the bios file in settings. You can also ftp in and do this or file explorers with access.

I eventually copied the BIOS files to another folder & pointed retroarch to it via settings.

I did try the ftp route (youtube.com/watch?v=uCl9zgqb0Jo) (https://www.mediafire.com/file/bz4uwdj5enqq5om/UniversalFtpServer_1.4.4.0_Debug_Test.zip/file) and was able to connect to my Xbox with Filezilla, but after the internal folders were listed & I clicked on LOCALFOLDER it threw a 451 error and I could not get any further. I was able to open all other folders though.

I can only assume the latest version (RetroArch-msvc2019-UWP_x64) has some sort of read / write protection on system folders ?
 

hooky1992

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 13, 2021
Messages
30
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
233
Country
United States
I eventually copied the BIOS files to another folder & pointed retroarch to it via settings.

I did try the ftp route (youtube.com/watch?v=uCl9zgqb0Jo) (https://www.mediafire.com/file/bz4uwdj5enqq5om/UniversalFtpServer_1.4.4.0_Debug_Test.zip/file) and was able to connect to my Xbox with Filezilla, but after the internal folders were listed & I clicked on LOCALFOLDER it threw a 451 error and I could not get any further. I was able to open all other folders though.

I can only assume the latest version (RetroArch-msvc2019-UWP_x64) has some sort of read / write protection on system folders ?

Seeing as the official LibRetro advice is to put ROMs outside the internal folder structure (https://gbatemp.net/threads/official-xbox-one-retroarch-thread.518329/page-80#post-9475535) I think I am correct, see video below:


I encountered another problem I have not seen before but was able to fix ..... after playing Tekken on PSP I then tried a Dreamcast game, it crashed back to Retroarch with the error message "Failed to load file_path/game_name (during copy read)". Had a browse of the internal folders and seen the following in LocalState:

LocalState full.PNG


As we know, there is an internal limit of 2GB. Doing some research I discovered that if a Cache folder is not specified, RetroArch extracts temporary files to the LocalState folder. Since I was loading large game files it was full after loading Tekken.

After a fresh install, I then designated a Cache folder outside the RetroArch file system via the Directory settings:

cache.png


I was able to play a PSP game, then a Dreamcast game, and when I checked the LocalState folder there was no temporary copy of either game (there wasnt in the new Cache folder I created either).

However, there is now a quirky behavior I was hoping someone could help me solve ....

Previously (using version RetroArch-msvc2017-UWP_x64) I was able to play SEGA Naomi arcade games via flycast emulator with no issues. Using the updated RetroArch-msvc2019-UWP_x64 I tried to play Asian Dynamite (asndynmt.zip), it crashed with an error message of "Core does not support VFS". I then tried to open Capcom vs SNK (capsnk.zip) and the game played with no issues. Both game files are in the same folder outside the internal xbox folder structure by the way .

Had a browse of the internal folders and in LocalState there was copies of both games (asndynmt.zip and capsnk.zip). I was able to delete capsnk.zip straight away but no matter how many times I tired asndynmt.zip would not delete it took several attempts to delete asndynmt.zip .

Any ideas why this is happening & how to fix ? All feedback is much appreciated as always !!
 
Last edited by hooky1992,

Digitalecho

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Dec 18, 2021
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
4
Country
Australia
Hey guys, when trying to enter DEV mode, it tells me I need to update my Xbox when there's no update available for download.
I'm on Skip Ahead Insider program.
Anyone have a solution?
Hey yes, you need to go to the xbox store and download devkit activation. Once downloaded, open the app and you should get into dev mode
 
  • Like
Reactions: Donnie-Burger

hooky1992

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 13, 2021
Messages
30
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
233
Country
United States
well that's the end of that 😡


UPDATE: Microsoft says it has no plans to remove or disable dev mode on Xbox consoles. A number of Partner Center accounts were disabled by mistake. “We are actively working on identifying and re-enabling these accounts as soon as possible.”

1641457487452.png


1641457562745.png


 
Last edited by hooky1992,
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: https://youtu.be/ICscZNJLpOU