Homebrew WIP [Official] switch-lan-play

Vaddum

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 16, 2010
Messages
7
Trophies
0
XP
53
Country
France
Hi there! I own 2 Switches and I'd like to play with both using switch-lan-play. Unfortunately when I launch [lan-play-win64.exe] each Switch is trying to connect to the server by disconnecting the other one... Is there a way to connect them both to play together? Thanks for your help.
 

Pienkaito

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2016
Messages
101
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
969
Country
Austria
It has been explained before but I don't think there is.

Hopefully someone more understanding of the tech behind this will correct me but in the meantime:

The architecture of the lan-play system is such that you setup your Switch to connect to a private network (*not* a VPN), broadcast over your wifi, and on which the connection to their router is done via a routing mechanism on a second machine (your PC) that pretends to be the real lan-server (that's the closest we get to the "V" in VPN). Your Switch doesn't have to do any more actual work in this respect, only the actual game's local play protocol needs to be considered (and that is done via protocol injection / "man in the middle" (mitm) ).

For the Switch to be able to do on this by its own, the first and foremost thing that would be needed would be that its wireless interface driver was able to host two IPs on two networks (which I already don't know if it's physically doable) so that it can connect to the real wifi for the actual internet access and to the private network at the same time; then it would have the ability to add routing tables that lead to itself, so your Switch can see "a different machine" (itself but on the other network) as the routing exit. And *then* it'd still have to have enough memory and CPU left to run the slp component itself that does the redirection.

Considering that things like Tesla menu overlays get very little leeway to work on the Switch, it's unlikely that all this would work.

OTOH, it's almost fire-and-forget to run the slp component on a Linux machine (there's a docker image for it), or on an Android phone (there's a package for F-Droid).

There's a docker version of the client version? Where can I find it?
 

Sauron63

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Jul 6, 2021
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
9
Country
France
Hello I have a little problem when I run switch lan play, I can write the ip address etc but when I press enter to connect the application closes by itself. Would someone have the solution to my problem have a nice day
 

impeeza

¡Kabito!
Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2011
Messages
778
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
1,184
Country
Colombia
Hello, for any body to help.

on my case, I have a PC connected by Ethernet cable to my router (a WLRFS 4g one) and my switch via wireless.

When setup everything following the instruction on OP nothing works, the check on step 4 of http://www.lan-play.com/install-switch, for me only shows:
1635832409812.png

instead of
1635123628937.png

So my switch did never get connected, thinking was my windows installation or something wrong with PCAP I did boot on a DEBIAN Linux on my computer and repeat all the PC side installation, but works neither.

Then hit me: all the Lan-Play is based on PCAP protocol which is a sniffer, and so many routers do not allow sniff between interfaces nor VLANs, so I did install a USB Wireless adapter on my PC and disable the Ethernet interface, restart the LAN-Play and voila! all starts working just fine.

Reboot to Windows and setup the Wireless Interface, selected that interface on the command line of
Code:
lan-play-win64.exe
using
Code:
--netif <interface>
parameter and everything work like a charm.

Also on my windows 10 I did prefer to install NCap (https://nmap.org/npcap/) instead of WinPCap because it have windows 10 support, you need to be sure of select the next options on the second installation wizard dialog:
1635124151230.png

The WinPcap API-compatible Mode is essential for Lan-Play.

If you internet router doesn't allow sniffing between interfaces like mine and your PC like me isn't wireless connected you should consider using a wireless connection on PC if you have troubles.
 
Last edited by impeeza,

zuli

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 27, 2020
Messages
11
Trophies
0
Age
22
XP
32
Country
Ukraine
About new Mario Superstars: lan-play with ldn-mitm enabled doesn't work for this game. I've tried it with several people, they just won't find your room. Hope this game will be supported in further updates
 

Cubuss

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 4, 2017
Messages
515
Trophies
0
Age
29
Location
High Quality Shitposter
XP
2,846
Country
Netherlands
Will Mario Party Superstars work over LANplay?

I think it will, theres a lan play option right from the start of the game.

About new Mario Superstars: lan-play with ldn-mitm enabled doesn't work for this game. I've tried it with several people, they just won't find your room. Hope this game will be supported in further updates


New release of LDN-MITM to work with latest AMS feel free to test it out to see if it works with Mario party:

https://github.com/spacemeowx2/ldn_mitm/releases/tag/v1.11.0
 

Cubuss

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 4, 2017
Messages
515
Trophies
0
Age
29
Location
High Quality Shitposter
XP
2,846
Country
Netherlands

impeeza

¡Kabito!
Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2011
Messages
778
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
1,184
Country
Colombia
Hi, does any body know if the nifm ctest patches, interfere with Lan-Play, on my system, with the nifm ctest patch installed Lan-Play shows me:
1636423876681.png

and nothing seems to works, but I get no error whatsoever.

if I do remove the patch and restart the switch Lan-play show:
1636423886760.png

and the games works fine, by now i will keep my atmosphère folder without that patches. I already use DNS mitm and DNS90
 

teve

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Nov 13, 2019
Messages
3
Trophies
0
Age
40
XP
31
Country
Australia
I suspect this won't work with Plants vs. Zombies: Battle for Neighborville? as it requires a Nintendo Switch Online subscription?
 

DJPlace

the hater of something i can't recall.
Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2008
Messages
5,392
Trophies
1
XP
2,894
Country
United States
is there a difference between LAN play and Local Play? cause alot of the games need CFW... is there ever going be a fix with all games with out CFW or is it not possbile?
 

microchipman

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 1, 2018
Messages
63
Trophies
0
Age
46
XP
99
Country
Canada
Is there a Dying Light server or community with a decent amount of switch users and lan play. I would really like to play dying light co-op with some stellar humans. Can’t seem to find anyone or any info about it and if it’s supported.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: https://youtu.be/irWBd9OquUc