Official G6 Lite (4Gbit) 2nd Opinion Review

Discussion in 'GBAtemp & Scene News' started by Opium, Sep 17, 2006.

Sep 17, 2006
  1. Opium
    OP

    Former Staff Opium PogoShell it to me ™

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8,185
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Official G6 Lite (4Gbit) Review

    [​IMG]

    GBAtemp.net adds another official review to it's arsenal! I've just finished a 2nd opinon review of the final English G6 Lite which can be found HERE.

    There are plenty of pictures and even videos to help you decide whether this is the flashcart for you. I've covered some points not covered in Qrayzie's earlier review. Most noticably I'm using final hardware and updated software (G6-Manager 4.4). The good, the bad, the G6 Lite laid bare. Read the review to find out how the G6 Lite stacks up!
     


  2. TheSpade

    Member TheSpade GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    504
    Location:
    Eastern U.S.A.
    Country:
    United States
    Talk about overkill of pictures and movies. No one can ask "Can I see anything else?" with this review. Excellent and detailed, Opium. Nice work indeed. Thanks for mentioning the Guides & FAQ too, as that's going to get some more updates very soon.
     
  3. zedrac

    Newcomer zedrac Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Messages:
    54
    Country:
    Australia
    I feel sorry for any dialup users...but other than that, excellent review, the detail is great.
     
  4. motorcity_madman

    Newcomer motorcity_madman Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United States
    Great review.Thanks! [​IMG]
     
  5. Opium
    OP

    Former Staff Opium PogoShell it to me ™

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8,185
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Yes, please accept my appologies 56kers [​IMG]

    I hope the review is helpful for those considering buying a G6 Lite!
     
  6. SpaceJump

    Member SpaceJump Where's my new 2D-Metroid?

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,648
    Location:
    Zebes
    Country:
    Germany
    Great review as everytime. Keep 'em comin' (DS-X anyone?) [​IMG]
     
  7. WishCow

    Newcomer WishCow Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Messages:
    85
    Country:
    Hungary
    Very great review, don't want to be nitpicky but you didn't mention the advanced save management, like you can transfer saves from/to an original DS cart by pressing the select button. (or all of the flashcarts can do this?)
     
  8. SD5k

    Member SD5k GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    113
    Location:
    Vlissingen, The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I've got a question about this picture:
    [​IMG]


    Did you trim your ROMs with the U-disk software or did you use an external tool for it?

    My Brain Trainig ROM is 102Mb and my FF3 ROM is about 950Mb. I would like to trim them all as much as possible offcourse. [​IMG]

    Oh, excellent review by the way, you got to love the G6L.
     
  9. Opium
    OP

    Former Staff Opium PogoShell it to me ™

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8,185
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    I trimmed them with the G6-Manager, I didn't use any other tools. Strange that you got different sizes...
     
  10. SD5k

    Member SD5k GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    113
    Location:
    Vlissingen, The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Can it be that a ROM doesn't get trimmed as much when I use safe mode?
     
  11. Opium
    OP

    Former Staff Opium PogoShell it to me ™

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8,185
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    I used safe mode for FF3 as well so I can't see why it trimmed differently. The rom file will have identical padding and that should be trimmed identically whether you use safe mode or Dofat. Very strange.
     
  12. SpaceJump

    Member SpaceJump Where's my new 2D-Metroid?

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,648
    Location:
    Zebes
    Country:
    Germany
    I have a question: How do you change the background wallpaper of the DS menu?
     
  13. kohkindachi

    Member kohkindachi GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Messages:
    464
    Country:
    Singapore
    Does the Package comes with a manual? kicktrading state that there is
    And did you state approximately how may games(NDS) can we put?

    btw I Like the review [​IMG] since i'm already thinking of buying G6
     
  14. Opium
    OP

    Former Staff Opium PogoShell it to me ™

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8,185
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    No manual. There is an old G6-Flash manual available for download though, might be on the included CD as well. But it is incredibly outdated.
     
  15. x_comp

    Member x_comp GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,054
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Good work, Opium!

    I like how all the later flash carts show the DS game icon in their menu unlike the older models. I really don't think the menu needs skinning with all those icons there!

    512MB is kind of small for me though because I like keeping a selection of games to play and also leave some space to try new ones that are dumped.
     
  16. SpaceJump

    Member SpaceJump Where's my new 2D-Metroid?

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,648
    Location:
    Zebes
    Country:
    Germany
    Then how come my brother's G6L has a yellowish background?
     
  17. 754boy

    Banned 754boy :D

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    3,469
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Country:
    United States
    Great review......but guys its spelled OPINION [​IMG] Just thought I'd point that out
     
  18. science

    Member science science rules

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,695
    Country:
    Canada
    It holds together strongly and does not scrap when inserting or removing it into your DS.

    In the hardware paragraph
     
  19. Master Mo

    Member Master Mo F.R.E.E.

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    2,176
    Location:
    Man Mo Temple
    Country:
    Germany
    I can confirm, that the background of the G6 is somehow skinable. Mine has a "yellowish" background. But I didn`t do it myself.

    But it looks great [​IMG]
     
  20. lenselijer

    Member lenselijer GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,497
    Country:
    Netherlands
    because he uses the english beta firmware [​IMG]
     

Share This Page