1. Brayton1-7

    Brayton1-7 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2020
    Messages:
    81
    Country:
    United States
    Not even then could you do it, the new headsets will force you to link one no matter what.
     
  2. jeffyTheHomebrewer

    jeffyTheHomebrewer Neato Burrito!
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2018
    Messages:
    728
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, I meant to hack it. I mean, EVERY device that runs Android at its core that I've ever had has always had some kind of recovery-download thing. Only exception being my Fire TV Cube, and my Chromecast with Google TV, but I know there's a way to get those to download an image somehow! Even my Nest Hub has a recovery thing where it'll accept an image! Sure, it runs some version of "Cast OS" and not Android, but if you look in the open source licences, you'll see that lotsa stuff in it is from the Android Open Source Foundation. As I was saying, holding volume down while applying power will make it try to download an image via the hidden Micro USB port. Now, I haven't opened mine, but other people have opened theirs! So if you have the Quest 2, maybe try holding the volume down button and power? (If there's a home button on the headset, try holding that too!)
     
    Mama Looigi likes this.
  3. Mama Looigi

    Mama Looigi Deum de felibus, temp mater
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2018
    Messages:
    736
    Country:
    Ireland
    As far as I’m aware, holding those buttons just force restarts the headset
     
  4. urherenow

    urherenow GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3,878
    Country:
    United States
    No, VOL - and power opens a recovery menu. If you rebooted, then you held it too long. Just power all the way off, hold vol-, then press and hold power, until you see the oculus logo, then let go. Put it into update mode, or whatever, and send the update.zip with adb.
    For content, there is also side-quest. I put Mame4Droid on my headset, and I may have put Retroarch on it as well...

     
    Last edited by urherenow, Apr 17, 2021
  5. jeffyTheHomebrewer

    jeffyTheHomebrewer Neato Burrito!
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2018
    Messages:
    728
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah! That's what I meant! Push a custom Android image so that we can use it without needing a facebook account!
     
  6. robertsteven

    robertsteven Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2021
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Damn. This thing is so cool, what would you even need to hack it for?
     
  7. KazoWAR

    KazoWAR GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,949
    Country:
    United States
    money
     
  8. Memoir

    Memoir Hi, I'm Cynical!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    10,436
    Country:
    United States
    I was able to play games purchased from the Oculus store through VD. Played Population One and a couple others just fine.
     
  9. jeffyTheHomebrewer

    jeffyTheHomebrewer Neato Burrito!
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2018
    Messages:
    728
    Country:
    United States
    so that you don't need a facebook account
     
  10. urherenow

    urherenow GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3,878
    Country:
    United States
    Anyway, if any are interested, a link to the update file is now on the v28 megathread on Reddit.
     
    Last edited by urherenow, Apr 21, 2021
  11. shaunj66

    shaunj66 GBAtemp Administrator
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    11,259
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just tried this out and can happily confirm it blows Virtual Desktop out of the water. Both visual clarity and latency feel noticeably better on Airlink. It's actually quite incredible and continues to make the Quest 2 the defacto VR experience.
     
    Mama Looigi likes this.
  12. urherenow

    urherenow GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3,878
    Country:
    United States
    did you compare it with the LATEST virtual desktop? It's possible it might be a beta version, but VD had already been updated for 120hz. Air link, however, is hardly enabled for anybody yet. It's a next week thing. And also is still limited to 90hz in home, unless you play around with the debugger.
     
    Last edited by urherenow, Apr 25, 2021
  13. shaunj66

    shaunj66 GBAtemp Administrator
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    11,259
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I don't have the hardware for 120hz to be a concern. But yes I did compare the latest version and Airlink is miles better.
     
    Mama Looigi and urherenow like this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - wirelessly, headset, Oculus