Homebrew o3ds on 2.1 stuck on Plailects guide

Sinvanor

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 13, 2016
Messages
20
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
33
Country
First I hope I put this in the right place. If there is a specific help section on the site (I didn't see one) let me know and I'll put it there.

The exact guide I am following is this one https://github.com/Plailect/Guide/wiki

Not this one, which I found randomly searching for the problem and how to fix it. https://github.com/Plailect/Guide_RedNAND/wiki

I'm now totally confused which one I should follow or what to do.


But regardless, here is how things went down.

Okay, so I followed everything to the letter on the guide. I then got to "Section IV - Restoring the System" on part 3. Everything was fine until I hit the part where it says to use system update. The update failed and the system would shut down.
Maybe I'm dumb, but I moved on to
Section V - Injecting FBI and everything went fine, except when I open Health and Safety, the screen just freezes.
I tried getting to homebrew through the browser hack, but it just freezes as well (I assume it's not possible on a 2.1)

From what I gathered the system update if it had worked would of gotten me back to 9.2 so I could get to homebrew and follow Section VI - Finalizing setup

I'm not bricked in anyway. It boots up with SD card and gives me the main menu and is on 2.1, but I'm just really lost on where I went wrong, why the system update failed and what to do next.

Any help is greatly appreciated.


P.S: I saw a thread about something similar, but it didn't help my issue as it was talking about some now outdated things like Cakey.
 

Ar5chK3ks

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2016
Messages
133
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
102
Country
Gambia, The
I hope I am not mistaken, but if I understood everything correctly you were on 2.1, installed a9lh and tried to update.
You have no NAND backup from 9.2 or any other version since you started on 2.1 and now the update doesn't work?
If that is the case and I didn't missed anything try this:If you are on New 3DS (or Old 3DS if the update doesn't work) and do not have any usable NAND backups, follow 9.2.0 ctrtransfer

This is from Plailects guide (the one you linked) and should match your situation.

Good luck
 
  • Like
Reactions: proflayton123

Sinvanor

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 13, 2016
Messages
20
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
33
Country
I hope I am not mistaken, but if I understood everything correctly you were on 2.1, installed a9lh and tried to update.
You have no NAND backup from 9.2 or any other version since you started on 2.1 and now the update doesn't work?
If that is the case and I didn't missed anything try this:If you are on New 3DS (or Old 3DS if the update doesn't work) and do not have any usable NAND backups, follow 9.2.0 ctrtransfer

This is from Plailects guide (the one you linked) and should match your situation.

Good luck

I've done the 9.20 transfer when I realized in the guide that I did not have a NAND back up.

"Update your CFW SysNAND to the latest version using system settings (if it is not already)" this is the part that did not work after the the 9.2.0 ctrtransfer. It would not update. It just said an error occured.

I have the NAND backup, a9lh back up and the stuff from files9 backed up just like the guide said to.
 
Last edited by Sinvanor,

Ar5chK3ks

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2016
Messages
133
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
102
Country
Gambia, The
So you did the transfer, the update, thr update failed and ended up on 2.1?
That should be impossible. I would suppose the 9.2 ctrtransfer went wrong.
 

Sinvanor

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 13, 2016
Messages
20
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
33
Country
So you did the transfer, the update, thr update failed and ended up on 2.1?
That should be impossible. I would suppose the 9.2 ctrtransfer went wrong.
It was already on 2.1 when I was doing the update I'm pretty sure.
From what I gather on section II and III it was supposed to be on 2.1 which it was, and then the 9.2 ctrtransfer to get the NAND files.
It would make sense that the transfer didn't work if it was supposed to update to 9.2 given that the system update required at the last part of the transfer instructions didn't work.

Maybe I should try the 9.2.0 transfer again? I'm just scared of hard bricking since I'm now not in line with the instructions perfectly.

I've also created the FBI_inject_with_banner.app and tried injecting. I hope that doesn't cause issues if I need to try to do the 9.2.0 ctrtransfer again.
 

Ar5chK3ks

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2016
Messages
133
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
102
Country
Gambia, The
The fbi inject shouldn't cause the update to fail. You have a backup from 2.1 and Luma3DS protects a9lh. That way you can always restore a backup pre transfer. Just try the transfer again, mqke sure you have the right files and that your system version is 9.2 after the transfer.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Sry doubleposting .... the System Update will bring you to 11.0 not 9.2. This is no problem since you are runnning a9lh with Luma3DS.
 

Sinvanor

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 13, 2016
Messages
20
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
33
Country
The fbi inject shouldn't cause the update to fail. You have a backup from 2.1 and Luma3DS protects a9lh. That way you can always restore a backup pre transfer. Just try the transfer again, mqke sure you have the right files and that your system version is 9.2 after the transfer.
Will do. Thank you so much for your help. I will report back and let you know if it worked.

Edit: Oh, okay should I not do system update then?
 

Ar5chK3ks

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2016
Messages
133
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
102
Country
Gambia, The
No problem :3
Good luck

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Since you are running Luma3DS it should be no problem to update. Looking at the threads of the 11.1 update Luma3DS seems to work fine with it.
 

Sinvanor

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 13, 2016
Messages
20
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
33
Country
Now I have a different problem. I'm in the process of restarting the 9.2.0 ctrtransfer, but there is no room on my SD card. There was before when I did the transfer the first time. Is there anything I can move temporarily to make room?
Here is a pic of what is on there.
Screen Shot 2016-09-13 at 17.07.13.png
 
Last edited by Sinvanor,

Ar5chK3ks

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2016
Messages
133
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
102
Country
Gambia, The
What cia files are in the cias folder? Probably don't need them right now.
The backup in the files9 folder and the .sha file from it. Move those to a safe location on your computer should give you some space.

Edit: how much space does it have anyways?
And what about that updates folder?
 
Last edited by Ar5chK3ks,

Sinvanor

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 13, 2016
Messages
20
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
33
Country
What cia files are in the cias folder? Probably don't need them right now.
The backup in the files9 folder and the .sha file from it. Move those to a safe location on your computer should give you some space.

Edit: how much space does it have anyways?
And what about that updates folder?

CIAS folder
FBI.cia
hblauncher_loader.cia
lumaupdater.cia

Files9:

files9.png



Updates:
uopdates.png

and a few others that I couldn't screen capture which are generally the same. A string of numbers and .cia



The SD card has 3.93 GB capacity and 227.9MB available.
 

Ar5chK3ks

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2016
Messages
133
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
102
Country
Gambia, The
The updates folder is not necessary at all for you. Just cut and put it somewhere on the computer.... i don't think you will need it but just to be safe. The cia files are small ... so no need to delete them and you need them later. Cut the backup files in the files9 folder and put them on your computer should give you enough space.


Edit: driving home from work now.... will take up to an hour till I am available again
 
Last edited by Ar5chK3ks,

Sinvanor

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 13, 2016
Messages
20
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
33
Country
Okay, I backed up and deleted the updates folder. Now when you say cut the back up filed in the files9 folder, do you mean to back up everything in the files 9 folder so that only the 9.2.0 ctrtransfer .bin and .bin.sha are there?

Or is it a specific folder that is in the screen cap of my files9?
 

Sinvanor

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 13, 2016
Messages
20
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
33
Country
Look for the biggest files on your sd card. What are they called? do you have any nand backups?
Sorry, I'm dumb and forgot how Mac's work. I had to delete the trash to get rid of the updates on the card. That took up at least 3 GB of space. I'm now in the process of the part that says "Backup SysNAND to NANDmin.bin when prompted by pressing (A)" on the guide.
 

uribemaster

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2010
Messages
310
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
483
Country
United States
Sorry, I'm dumb and forgot how Mac's work. I had to delete the trash to get rid of the updates on the card. That took up at least 3 GB of space. I'm now in the process of the part that says "Backup SysNAND to NANDmin.bin when prompted by pressing (A)" on the guide.
Ahh ok very nice. Good luck!
 

Sinvanor

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 13, 2016
Messages
20
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
33
Country
Okay, I've backed up the NAND and pressed start to reboot. I am now on 9.2! Yay! Okay, now the instructions say to use system update. Do I need wifi to do this?
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: Uremum made me a sandwich