O3DS hardware problem

spaceworld_5

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 18, 2022
Messages
21
Trophies
0
Age
22
Location
USA
XP
30
Country
United States
So i have a bit of a problem: my o3ds xl only works while being plugged in. When i plug it in it says it is at full battery, so it recognizes that the battery is there but completely disregards it. I bought a new battery with the same result. I just have no clue what to do
 

Sypherone

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2019
Messages
597
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
964
Country
Germany
What does it say when there is no battery insert and powercord is plugged in? So the battery can be charged? But cant used as standalone Powersource.

So it could be that there is a transistor damaged on the board, or maybe a chip that manages the battery.
 

CoolMe

Old Soul..
Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2019
Messages
3,029
Trophies
1
Age
27
XP
9,466
Country
United States
Does the console perform as normal when it's in this state and plugged in? Have you tried playing a game, and it doesn't stutter or anything? Increase the volume to hear if the sound is continuous and not-breaking..
 

IC_

Cossus cossus
Member
Joined
Aug 24, 2017
Messages
1,527
Trophies
1
Location
The Forest
XP
3,621
Country
Poland
Could be set into kiosk unit mode, in which case it would be normal behavior. But if you had this 3DS before and this started happening only at some point, then it's a really weird issue, although I think it happened to others before.
 

spaceworld_5

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 18, 2022
Messages
21
Trophies
0
Age
22
Location
USA
XP
30
Country
United States
Does the console perform as normal when it's in this state and plugged in? Have you tried playing a game, and it doesn't stutter or anything? Increase the volume to hear if the sound is continuous and not-breaking..
It works perfectly fine while plugged in with the battery. Games work fine. It just displays that it’s at 100%
 

spaceworld_5

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 18, 2022
Messages
21
Trophies
0
Age
22
Location
USA
XP
30
Country
United States
What does it say when there is no battery insert and powercord is plugged in? So the battery can be charged? But cant used as standalone Powersource.

So it could be that there is a transistor damaged on the board, or maybe a chip that manages the battery.
it completely disregards the battery. i bought a new one with the same problem. when i unplug it it shuts off.
 

spaceworld_5

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 18, 2022
Messages
21
Trophies
0
Age
22
Location
USA
XP
30
Country
United States
I think it may be a fuse problem. are these places where the two fuses are?
 

Attachments

  • 043E001C-4C87-44B2-9CB4-066715E52531.jpeg
    043E001C-4C87-44B2-9CB4-066715E52531.jpeg
    1 MB · Views: 6

spaceworld_5

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 18, 2022
Messages
21
Trophies
0
Age
22
Location
USA
XP
30
Country
United States
What does it say when there is no battery insert and powercord is plugged in? So the battery can be charged? But cant used as standalone Powersource.

So it could be that there is a transistor damaged on the board, or maybe a chip that manages the battery.

ok i checked the the fuses and there seems to be no continuity in the F2 fuse (i check the F1 fuse and there is continuity), if the the thing i circled was correct. Should i just buy new 3ds fuses or are the fuses not the problem?
 

Sypherone

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2019
Messages
597
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
964
Country
Germany
Yes these are correct, they are the fuses. Try replacing the F2. Get the right one with the correct size for your model.
But the question is why it breaks? There may be a short circuit or a temporary overvoltage. Check all ribons and connectors (they may get lose) that they are not damaged and correctly pluged in.

Source: https://www.reparation-electronique.fr/fusible-nintendo-3ds-xl/

When your Nintendo console does not turn on at all or when charging becomes impossible, a quick trip to the fuses may be necessary...

On the 3DS XL model, two fuses are located on the motherboard, the first is at the charging circuit input near the transformer power plug and the second is right next to the battery contacts since it protects the main circuit.

Fuse F1 (3DS charging circuit):

3DS_XL_fuse_02

Fuse F2 (main power 3DS):

3DS_XL_fuse_03

Obviously we will avoid MacGyver-style repairs such as replacing them with aluminum foil, tin ball, wire, etc. If the fuse has failed, there is surely a good reason, so it will be necessary to check the absence of short circuit before restarting. It can however happen that they let go because of a small overvoltage and that finally nothing behind is HS. These fuses have the K mark so they are 1.5A fuses

3DS_XL_fuse_04

These fuses for Nintendo 3DS XL are in CMS format…. Be careful not to tear the tracks when replacing them!
 

spaceworld_5

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 18, 2022
Messages
21
Trophies
0
Age
22
Location
USA
XP
30
Country
United States
Yes these are correct, they are the fuses. Try replacing the F2. Get the right one with the correct size for your model.
But the question is why it breaks? There may be a short circuit or a temporary overvoltage. Check all ribons and connectors (they may get lose) that they are not damaged and correctly pluged in.

Source: https://www.reparation-electronique.fr/fusible-nintendo-3ds-xl/

When your Nintendo console does not turn on at all or when charging becomes impossible, a quick trip to the fuses may be necessary...

On the 3DS XL model, two fuses are located on the motherboard, the first is at the charging circuit input near the transformer power plug and the second is right next to the battery contacts since it protects the main circuit.

Fuse F1 (3DS charging circuit):

3DS_XL_fuse_02

Fuse F2 (main power 3DS):

3DS_XL_fuse_03

Obviously we will avoid MacGyver-style repairs such as replacing them with aluminum foil, tin ball, wire, etc. If the fuse has failed, there is surely a good reason, so it will be necessary to check the absence of short circuit before restarting. It can however happen that they let go because of a small overvoltage and that finally nothing behind is HS. These fuses have the K mark so they are 1.5A fuses

3DS_XL_fuse_04

These fuses for Nintendo 3DS XL are in CMS format…. Be careful not to tear the tracks when replacing them!

alright thank you for the help. im not sure what caused the fuse to blow i thought it was just because i’ve used my 3ds xl a ton
 

spaceworld_5

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 18, 2022
Messages
21
Trophies
0
Age
22
Location
USA
XP
30
Country
United States
Yes these are correct, they are the fuses. Try replacing the F2. Get the right one with the correct size for your model.
But the question is why it breaks? There may be a short circuit or a temporary overvoltage. Check all ribons and connectors (they may get lose) that they are not damaged and correctly pluged in.

Source: https://www.reparation-electronique.fr/fusible-nintendo-3ds-xl/

When your Nintendo console does not turn on at all or when charging becomes impossible, a quick trip to the fuses may be necessary...

On the 3DS XL model, two fuses are located on the motherboard, the first is at the charging circuit input near the transformer power plug and the second is right next to the battery contacts since it protects the main circuit.

Fuse F1 (3DS charging circuit):

3DS_XL_fuse_02

Fuse F2 (main power 3DS):

3DS_XL_fuse_03

Obviously we will avoid MacGyver-style repairs such as replacing them with aluminum foil, tin ball, wire, etc. If the fuse has failed, there is surely a good reason, so it will be necessary to check the absence of short circuit before restarting. It can however happen that they let go because of a small overvoltage and that finally nothing behind is HS. These fuses have the K mark so they are 1.5A fuses

3DS_XL_fuse_04

These fuses for Nintendo 3DS XL are in CMS format…. Be careful not to tear the tracks when replacing them!

Would these be the right fuses?
 

Attachments

  • 4BA12B75-6428-4056-B349-82306B742D74.jpeg
    4BA12B75-6428-4056-B349-82306B742D74.jpeg
    711.1 KB · Views: 6

spaceworld_5

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 18, 2022
Messages
21
Trophies
0
Age
22
Location
USA
XP
30
Country
United States
both of them are black or dark blue but i don’t see a “K” on them. I do see the “F1” and “F2” labels right by them
 

Attachments

  • 549ADDF2-2AB9-4E19-9098-FB91D79EB1CE.jpeg
    549ADDF2-2AB9-4E19-9098-FB91D79EB1CE.jpeg
    1.3 MB · Views: 6
  • EDE45DFA-16B2-4307-B84D-A4B156689767.jpeg
    EDE45DFA-16B2-4307-B84D-A4B156689767.jpeg
    1.2 MB · Views: 7

Sypherone

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2019
Messages
597
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
964
Country
Germany
I know only the f1 f2 fuses with K on it are for 3DS, 3DS XL/LL. Sorry i dont find any clear specification. I dont know if its only old, new or both 3DS Modells. The pictures i posted are defently your Motherboard. So i would say they are correct. But to be sure 100%, maybe ask a seller wich sell them for replacment for the Nintendo 3DS.

 
Last edited by Sypherone,

spaceworld_5

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 18, 2022
Messages
21
Trophies
0
Age
22
Location
USA
XP
30
Country
United States
I know only the f1 f2 fuses with K on it are for 3DS, 3DS XL/LL. Sorry i dont find any clear specification. I dont know if its only old, new or both 3DS Modells. The pictures i posted are defently your Motherboard. So i would say they are correct. But to be sure 100%, maybe ask a seller wich sell them for replacment for the Nintendo 3DS.

heres the full picture motherboard just for clarity
 

Attachments

  • EA626D97-D0AF-4CBB-892F-4A25E16F4CC1.jpeg
    EA626D97-D0AF-4CBB-892F-4A25E16F4CC1.jpeg
    3.6 MB · Views: 7

spaceworld_5

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 18, 2022
Messages
21
Trophies
0
Age
22
Location
USA
XP
30
Country
United States
I know only the f1 f2 fuses with K on it are for 3DS, 3DS XL/LL. Sorry i dont find any clear specification. I dont know if its only old, new or both 3DS Modells. The pictures i posted are defently your Motherboard. So i would say they are correct. But to be sure 100%, maybe ask a seller wich sell them for replacment for the Nintendo 3DS.

oh and how do i check the voltage of the fuses with a multimeter?
 

Sypherone

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2019
Messages
597
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
964
Country
Germany
U cant directly. For Voltage checking u need two phases wich u should know as positiv and negativ. So u need to find the second Contact. But iam sure its the same Voltage wich is provided by the battery or the poweradapter. But as i see they are different. 😕 Battery gives 3,7 V and the Poweradapter gives 4,6 V.
 

spaceworld_5

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 18, 2022
Messages
21
Trophies
0
Age
22
Location
USA
XP
30
Country
United States
U cant directly. For Voltage checking u need two phases wich u should know as positiv and negativ. So u need to find the second Contact. But iam sure its the same Voltage wich is provided by the battery or the poweradapter. But as i see they are different. 😕 Battery gives 3,7 V and the Poweradapter gives 4,6 V.

oops i think i meant amps since they are 1.5A
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    I have no idea what's happening with all my friends from other places
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    It's weird people in their mid 50s-20s seems to like social media more than TikTok and YouTube
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Unless they get paid to upload videos
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    I used TikTok a couple of days and got tired
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    But it's still better than Facebook
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    One dude here swore I was trolling him on twitch and I never even used it
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    But that's a thing with social media; it creates an illusion of proximity, when in truth everyone is overwhelmed with all the information and all the social demands in the platforms
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    And a lot of people are addicted to the phone, checking social media or talking with someone. Some exercise in the gym while being glued to the phone, not even activity takes them away from it
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    And I was like that too, until I left social media. Now sometimes I'm grabbing my phone, opening the browser and thinking: I've seen everything I wanted to see, I don't have a reason to use the phone. And I put it down
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    I'd rather look at my phone than sit at a computer 24/7
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Funnily when I'm out I hardly use my phone other than checking a message here and there
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    I'm mostly too busy making sure my neighbor doesn't get himself arrested
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    This evening two guys were speeding head first into my car in these:
    bolt-announces-a-custom-built-scooter-model-2-1024x536.jpg
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    I didn't make case, I made my manoeuver to park the car. But I caught them off-guard, the one ahead hit the brakes and had to jump from the scooter. For a second I thought he would go against the car. They were trying to race through a gap they perceived, thinking I was going to always drive forward
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    I guess they learned a valuable lesson, don't assume that real roads are a playground
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    I had a woman walk in the middle of the intersection once I was debating on flooring it
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    In those cases I honk
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    I need to get my uncle to install a cow horn
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    Those scooters go 40km/h, and the kids were riding them with no helmets
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    And trying to make for the gap like they're Millennium Falcon
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Annoying can't find any type c to usb adapters in my place at least they're like $3
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Sweet found one installing emudeck
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Lol stupid ips is blocking rom sites time for a vpn
    Gift
  • Gift
  • sley @ sley:
    hrth
    Gift
    sley @ sley: hrth