Homebrew NXMP Nintendo Switch Media Player

proconsule54

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2019
Messages
563
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
1,405
Country
Italy
thanks dude but i cannot connect and i dont see a icon for smb...when i go to playlist i see only the message "Empty Playlist"
You see the server in Network menu.

On my switch i can connect to win10 share without problems, some others can confirm me that samba is working?
 

laraklara

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 27, 2020
Messages
70
Trophies
0
Age
56
XP
237
Country
Germany
i cannot see the network menu...
 

Attachments

  • WhatsApp Image 2021-12-02 at 18.25.26 (1).jpeg
    WhatsApp Image 2021-12-02 at 18.25.26 (1).jpeg
    114.5 KB · Views: 12
  • WhatsApp Image 2021-12-02 at 18.25.26.jpeg
    WhatsApp Image 2021-12-02 at 18.25.26.jpeg
    142.7 KB · Views: 15

laraklara

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 27, 2020
Messages
70
Trophies
0
Age
56
XP
237
Country
Germany
Here is my report....

.m2v, .mkv, .avi. mp4 files doesnt work or freeze after 5-10 seconds after start
mp3 works greatfull
 
Last edited by laraklara,

sashka69

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 24, 2013
Messages
32
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
887
Country
Gambia, The
Samba works great here.
Switch fw 13.1
AMS 1.2.4
Samba: on a qnap nas

Very fast seeking and buffering. Very good. Even on directory with looooots of files. This folder via ftp is a nightmare but with samba no problem!

Touch works fine too.

Question: why doesn't the resume function work when I connect via ftp or Samba to a network source? Locally resume is working fine.
I've got the same problem with my smart TV. It can't resume on my network sources either. Seems to be a general issue...
 

laraklara

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 27, 2020
Messages
70
Trophies
0
Age
56
XP
237
Country
Germany
did had sone anyone the problem too that the screen was freeze or flashin lights in the video files via samba ?

My OS Win 2022 Server Data
 

proconsule54

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2019
Messages
563
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
1,405
Country
Italy
smb share is working for me win11 <=> switch fw 13.1.0 ams 1.2.5
the sftp share will not work with pubkey authentication, right? backlogging says "yes"

thanks a lot for the app @proconsule54
The key auth will come too in next version
Samba works great here.
Switch fw 13.1
AMS 1.2.4
Samba: on a qnap nas

Very fast seeking and buffering. Very good. Even on directory with looooots of files. This folder via ftp is a nightmare but with samba no problem!

Touch works fine too.

Question: why doesn't the resume function work when I connect via ftp or Samba to a network source? Locally resume is working fine.
I've got the same problem with my smart TV. It can't resume on my network sources either. Seems to be a general issue...
Strange i will investigate
 
  • Like
Reactions: sashka69

sashka69

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 24, 2013
Messages
32
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
887
Country
Gambia, The
Question: why doesn't the resume function work when I connect via ftp or Samba to a network source? Locally resume is working fine.
I have to comment this again. It seems that NO file can be resumed anymore. I tried avi, mp4, mkv and none of them could be resumed whether on local dir, usb or network.

Database is enabled in options, setting screen shows database v0.6.0 and sqlite v3.7.3

In switch/nxmp is a nxmp.db with its default 4kb size. I saw so many videos but none of them were inserted in the database. Before I enabled database in v0.6 beta I deleted the old one so v0.6 had to create a new one.

I will try 0.5.1 again. Before that I will delete the database file again.

Edit:
Now I got resume working in v0.6.
Here is what I successfully did.

1. Started from scratch with v0.5.1 so I deleted the old database and deleted the database setting in config.ini
2. Started v0.5.1 and enabled database.
3. Watched several avi, mp4, mkv from local SD, USB and ftp. Resume works.
4.upgraded all files to v0.6
5. Started it and got a message that my db was updated to v0.6
6. Tried my files I started to watch before the upgrade: success I can resume them
7. Tried more files via samba: I can resume them!


So I think there is a bug in v0.6 when it has to create a NEW database. Upgrade from 0.5.1 was flawlessly

I hope this helps.

This player is going to be a masterpiece. Please add the possibility to jump around in the videos via touch. So it would be like this: I press dpad down to get the progress bar and then I touch it where I want to jump around in the video where I want.
 
Last edited by sashka69,

proconsule54

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2019
Messages
563
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
1,405
Country
Italy
Good i will check the routine for new database, i focused more time on update existing one (to not corrupt things) maybe i left out something.
Thanks for the report.
 
  • Like
Reactions: sashka69

proconsule54

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2019
Messages
563
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
1,405
Country
Italy
So it would be like this: I press dpad down to get the progress bar and then I touch it where I want to jump around in the video where I want.
i will work on touch seek on progress bar.
for showing player controls if touch are enabled just swipe down with two finger, it will do as dpad down
 
  • Like
Reactions: sashka69

sashka69

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 24, 2013
Messages
32
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
887
Country
Gambia, The
Nice to see your progress.
Before you release the next beta, here is my findings regarding the Playlist.

I start nxmp, go to network, select my smb source, get a list of files from that directory. Now I use dpad down to mark a file and press dpad left to add it to the playlist.

Is this the right procedure? I ask because dpad left does nothing, my playlist keeps empty.


Edit:
Oh my God, I had another wish for a (I think at least) great feature. But... It's gonna be a hard way, maybe it's even impossible - or you think it's useless.

Question: Would it be possible to add openvpn connectivity?

My qnap NAS runs a VPN server to which I connect my laptop when I'm not at home (in a hotel with wifi for example) so I can stream and access all my files from everywhere (without opening and forwarding tons of ports from my NAS to the whole internet).

It would be awesome if I could use my switch for that too.

(I already can via switchroot android but I think that drains battery more than your player under nintendos horizon os would do)
 
Last edited by sashka69,
  • Like
Reactions: proconsule54

proconsule54

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2019
Messages
563
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
1,405
Country
Italy
The “tunnel” part is in my todo list but have less priority over protocols implementation. After protocols are done and rock solid i can test the vpn stuff.
I dont know if is possible but i can do some test.

For samba and playlist i have to check, maybe i left something out.
 
  • Like
Reactions: sashka69

proconsule54

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2019
Messages
563
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
1,405
Country
Italy
I need to know if other than playlist and db bug the rest is solid and stable?
I implemented libssh2 and libsmb2 into ffmpeg from scratch so i need to know if there is any bug there
 

proconsule54

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2019
Messages
563
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
1,405
Country
Italy
Last edited by proconsule54,
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: https://youtu.be/g3U7tCipvdQ