NVIDIA Becomes A Nintendo WorldWide Third Party Tools Provider With Ph

Discussion in 'User Submitted News' started by F0ur2o, Mar 19, 2009.

  1. F0ur2o
    OP

    Member F0ur2o GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    145
    Country:
    Canada
    NVIDIA Becomes A Nintendo WorldWide Third Party Tools Provider With PhysX SDK For Wii

    Hopefully this means some graphic improvements.


    "Nintendo has reshaped the home entertainment and video game market with the success of the Wii console. Adding a PhysX SDK for Wii is key to our cross-platform strategy and integral to the business model for our licensed game developers and publishers,” said Tony Tamasi, senior vice president of content and technology at NVIDIA. “With NVIDIA PhysX technology, developers can easily author more realistic game environments for the evolving demands of a broad class of Wii gamers.”

    The NVIDIA PhysX software development kit (SDK) consists of a full-featured API and robust physics engine, designed to give developers, animators, level designers, and artists unprecedented creative control over character and object physical interactions by allowing them to author scalable physics in real time."

    Source
     
  2. nIxx

    Member nIxx GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,459
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    Unfortantly PhysX have nothing to do with graphics.
     
  3. Neko

    Member Neko Been a while.

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    799
    Location:
    #gbatemp.net
    Country:
    Germany
    PhysX on wii ? AWESOME! [​IMG]

    This could mean we are going to get some really cool physic games soon. [​IMG]
     
  4. DKAngel

    Member DKAngel GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    659
    Location:
    Perth,Australia
    Country:
    Australia
  5. CockroachMan

    Member CockroachMan Scribbling around GBATemp's kitchen.

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    3,889
    Location:
    Brazil
    Country:
    Brazil
    Yep, hopefully developers will use this and make some prettier games [​IMG]


    It's funny cause the Wii uses an ATI video card..
     
  6. nIxx

    Member nIxx GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,459
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    From the official site
    So it uses the GPU for physical effects and so on.
     
  7. DKAngel

    Member DKAngel GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    659
    Location:
    Perth,Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    but says to use a gforce gpu, its allready been stated that the wii has an ati gpu, so what is really going on here?
     
  8. nIxx

    Member nIxx GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,459
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    You can use physix with ATI GPU´s too (not official but it works and it shows that it´s only a marketing thing from NVIDIA to sell there graphic cards) and i mean they using free GPU processing power for physical effects.
    I don´t see why this should not work with ATI graphic cards.
     
  9. Neko

    Member Neko Been a while.

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    799
    Location:
    #gbatemp.net
    Country:
    Germany
    Because it's based on CUDA.
    CUDA is NVidia's own "way" to let their cards do anything else than just graphics.
    They could port it to ATI but it would require some extra work and they won't get anything from it.
     
  10. Trolly

    Member Trolly GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Behind you! I know you looked!
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nintendo paid them to do it?

    But yeah, it is a bit weird seeing as it's an ATI card like you lot have said. Can't say PhysX will make a massive improvement though, as it would be difficult to implement the feature efficiently in a game with the Wii.
     
  11. Raestloz

    Member Raestloz GBATemp's Lone Wolf

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,775
    Location:
    The World of Illusion
    Country:
    Indonesia
    Well, maybe I'm wrong, it's a copy-paste from Wikipedia. It looks like a GeForce is not needed, nor is an ATI card, what it needs is one whole another processor, specifically designed to process the PhysX, leaving the GPU to process other things. This might not be a graphcial improvement, but maybe it's a framerate improvement, or a bit GFX improvement for the same framerate
     
  12. PettingZoo

    Member PettingZoo yesss

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,707
    Location:
    in the trap
    Country:
    Australia
    One step closer to moar realistic games.
     
  13. Richy Freeway

    Member Richy Freeway GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2006
    Messages:
    776
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    PhsyX doesn't need a special card or to run on a GPU. It's just an SDK for physics.

    It will run on a normal CPU quite happily, it just runs better on proper hardware.

    But in this case, they're just talking about the SDK.
     

Share This Page