NTSC GC iso's on PAL consoles.

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by MADKATZ99, Aug 30, 2007.

Aug 30, 2007
  1. MADKATZ99
    OP

    Member MADKATZ99 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    839
    Location:
    AUS
    Country:
    Australia
    I 'obtained' a copy of MKDD, however its in NTSC... without doing a thing with it, I burned it to a verbatim DVD-R with imgburn. Chucked it in the o'le PAL wii, it came up with a gamecube logo, so i clicked start and the screen went black.


    Can anyone solve my ketsup problem? [​IMG]

    Can I, or can I not use regionfrii on GC games? That would make life alot easier [​IMG]

    EDIT: I dont know what a GCOS is, or what it does, but im trying it now.
    Oh, and I tried to eject RE4 out of my wii, and it wouldnt budge O_O
    That was one of the scariest moments in my life... So I shook it upside down and pressed eject and it slowley fell out [​IMG]

    EDIT: No luck.. I have no idea what im doing :'(
     
  2. sidneyyoung

    Member sidneyyoung GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    895
    Country:
    Bermuda
    Don't have my wii chipped yet, but i would imagine using Gcos is a simple matter of just setting it to run in NTSC mode, when you choose to start the game... at least thats what options came up with the GC Gcos.
     
  3. captaineos

    Newcomer captaineos Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    Australia
    Its very easy to do, and it will also allow Progressive Scan output if your running component cables and a display capable of 480p.

    Now, to get it to boot:
    1) Download this zip file: http://gbatemp.net/index.php?download=828
    2) extract it to your C: drive (no folders please)
    3) Move the MKDD ISO/GCM file to your C: drive
    4) RENAME your MKDD ISO from whatever it may be called, to 'MKDD.ISO'
    4) Click on the start button -> run
    5) in that dialogue box, type 'cmd'
    6) in the 'dos' prompt box that appears, type 'cd C:\' and press enter
    7) type the following 'make-multiv3.exe burnme.gcm USA MKDD.ISO' then press enter
    8) all things going well this should create a nice GCM file.
    9) Once done, burn the file 'burnme.gcm' with Nero or IMGBurn
    10) Insert the disc into you modded wii, it will show up as a Gamcube game.
    11) Start the disc from the disc channel and wait 10 seconds odd
    12) GCOS will ask you to press A to boot a disc, press A twice
    13) You should now see Mario Kart Double Dash, press the start button on your gamecube controller, then A for auto select NTSC.

    Thats it!

    If you want progressive scan output, still select 'A' for auto select but immediately hold down the 'B' button, and keep holding it down becuase you will see the Nintendo logo, then Dolby pro logic logo THEN press A for progressive scan as it should ask you.

    Good luck and post back for help
     
  4. MADKATZ99
    OP

    Member MADKATZ99 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    839
    Location:
    AUS
    Country:
    Australia
    Wow, thanks alot for your help. Ill ty it tomorow.

    lol... very easy to do [​IMG]


    EDIT:
    ... no good. I downloaded it, extracted it to my documents, tried to open the app thing, and a DOS thing pops up for half a second and dissapears... It happend on both computers too :wtf:

    My computer hates me [​IMG]


    nevermind, ill try again tomorow.
     
  5. Edgedancer

    Member Edgedancer Director of Moon based operations

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Canberra
    Country:
    Australia
    Use command prompt and then make your way to the folder through that.
     
  6. captaineos

    Newcomer captaineos Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    Australia
    No no it sounds like you are opening make multi v3, it DOES NOT OPEN BY ITSELF
    that is why you use cmd to run it in full with the command line i specified.

    Follow it carefully step by step and perhaps use a little common sense and I am sure it will work.
     
  7. sidneyyoung

    Member sidneyyoung GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    895
    Country:
    Bermuda
    So with my pre-burned GC ntsc backups, i can't just use the wii version of Gcos to run them on my new PAL Wii ?
     
  8. Critical_Impact

    Member Critical_Impact GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    171
    Location:
    QLD, AUS
    Country:
    Australia
    If you have a copy of GCOS on a seperate disc put that in, wait untill it asks you to press a to spin up the disc. Eject GCOS and put in your NTSC backup and press A. The game will come up and run it in NTSC mode.
    Its easier to have the game with gcos already on it so you don't have to swap but you can also swap between the GCOS and NTSC disc once GCOS has booted.
     
  9. sidneyyoung

    Member sidneyyoung GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    895
    Country:
    Bermuda
    ahh thanks

    yes it would seem to make sense to have gcos on it already. much more convinient


    can't wait for my wiikey to turn up
     
  10. sasuke_kun12

    Member sasuke_kun12 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Messages:
    202
    Location:
    Tokyo 3
    Country:
    Australia
    i feel soo sorry for you, you didn't know what you signed up too.....
     
  11. MADKATZ99
    OP

    Member MADKATZ99 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    839
    Location:
    AUS
    Country:
    Australia
    Sweet! So theres still a chance [​IMG]

    I have plenty of common sence.... just not when it comes to computer [​IMG]

    I tried that thing you told me, and I finnally got somwhere!!! But it says file not found. [​IMG]
    Which is weird, because I named it MKDD.ISO like you said, but it still see's it as a RAR file [​IMG]
    That wouldnt have anything to do with it would it? It see's all my other ISO's as RAR files too...

    [​IMG]
     
  12. Dirtie

    Former Staff Dirtie :'D

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Messages:
    3,705
    Location:
    Zealer
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Here's the easiest way if the game is already burnt:

    1. Download this: http://gbatemp.net/index.php?download=980
    2. Burn the ISO for your region (so if you have a PAL Wii use the PAL ISO)
    3. Put it in your Wii
    4. Choose the load option or whatever it's called
    5. Eject the disc and put in your USA backup (just follow the instructions)
    6. It'll identify the game then give you some options, just use "Auto-detect"

    Alternatively you can download an ISO of the PAL freeloader and modify a few things, but that's getting a bit technical.

    By the way, a couple of suggestions why it can't find the ISO using captaineos' method:
    1. Windows is hiding associated file extensions, so your ISO is actually called MKDD.iso.rar or something (and would still need to be extracted in that case)
    2. The ISO isn't in the same folder as the make-multi app
     
  13. MADKATZ99
    OP

    Member MADKATZ99 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    839
    Location:
    AUS
    Country:
    Australia
    Thanks alot dirtie! Got it working... to an extent. Gcos was really slow for some reason... and when the MKDD started up, about 1 min later it got a DRE. Gonna try to burn it again and see what happens.

    But still couldnt get the multiv3 thing to work? I put the ISO in so many differnt places, I think I put it everywere.. I have no where that I havnt put it, and it still cant find it. So the RAR extention thing must be whats causing the trouble, any Idea's how to get it off? [​IMG]

    Thanks for the Gcos help!!! [​IMG]
     
  14. rhyguy

    Member rhyguy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    download win rar from rar labs and extract the file
     
  15. MADKATZ99
    OP

    Member MADKATZ99 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    839
    Location:
    AUS
    Country:
    Australia
    .... It is extracted, its an ISO, but it still comes up as a winrar file :wtf:

    Nevermind, got it working 100%

    Thanks to everyone!!! [​IMG]

    And it doesnt matter about that multidisk thing anyway, i like having them on seperate disks... makes me feel like I have more games [​IMG]
     

Share This Page