NTSC GC games on Pal Wii with VGA cable

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by zoner, Apr 15, 2010.

Apr 15, 2010
  1. zoner
    OP

Newcomer zoner Member

Australia
    Hi total newbie here, but I have done quite a bit of reading.

I'm using my pal wii with a VGA cable. I haven't soft modded it yet, but what will be the best method/loader to play NTSC backup GameCube games that support progressive scan on the pal wii. Also, I'll need a gamecube memory card to save my games too, correct? Are there any GC loaders that can force 480p on non 480p games? Finally, is it okay to trim games for multi loading on one disc?

Thanks for the help.

2. NoBot

Newcomer NoBot Member

Germany
    1. Yes, you need a memory card for gc-games.
    2. Yes. For example Waninkoko's cMIOS lets you select the video mode if you hold B while loading a backup. (Didn't test it myself.)
    3. In general, yes. Depends on which games you shrink and burn together. You can look at one of the compatibility lists.

3. zoner
    OP

Newcomer zoner Member

Australia
    Great, thanks for the response. So I take it Waninkoko's cMIOS can be used together with a GC loader of choice? Can it also be used with a Wii USB loader? I'm thinking about Madworld, since it doesn't support 480p but has been forced successfully before.

4. NoBot

Newcomer NoBot Member

Germany
    MIOS is only used for gamecube games. Wii games use some version of IOS. Most usb-loaders have an option to manually set the video mode.

5. zoner
    OP

Newcomer zoner Member

Australia
    Which USB loader for Wii games which has the video mode changer would you recommend?

6. Taleweaver

Member Taleweaver Storywriter

Belgium
    [quote='zoner')but what will be the best method/loader to play NTSC backup GameCube games that support progressive scan on the pal wii.
    That'll be gamma or neogamma. There aren't the same, but I think the differences are mostly for wii games (someone please correct me if I'm wrong)