Hacking nsp unable to start software

entrapm3nt

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 28, 2019
Messages
13
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
73
Country
United States
Hey just installed a fresh sd from sdsetup with newest sig patches running 8.0.1 on ams 0.9.2. It appears only some of my nsp backups are working. Most are not. They do work on my older sd set up but cant seem to get this one right. My sd card is a sandisk 400gb formatted to fat32. Am i missing something?
 

Lacius

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 11, 2008
Messages
17,720
Trophies
2
XP
17,429
Country
United States
It sounds like you're missing either the ES patches or the FS patches (but not both). I recommend doing the following to troubleshoot:
  1. Remove all CFW files/folders from your SD card (Atmosphere, Kosmos, etc.)
  2. Download the latest Atmosphere from github
  3. Download the latest fusee-primary (next to Atmosphere)
  4. Download these signature patches
  5. Put Atmosphere and the signature patches onto your SD card
  6. Put the SD into your Switch
  7. Boot your Switch into RCM
  8. Launch Atmosphere using fusee-primary
Do your games work?
 

entrapm3nt

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 28, 2019
Messages
13
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
73
Country
United States
It sounds like you're missing either the ES patches or the FS patches (but not both). I recommend doing the following to troubleshoot:
  1. Remove all CFW files/folders from your SD card (Atmosphere, Kosmos, etc.)
  2. Download the latest Atmosphere from github
  3. Download the latest fusee-primary (next to Atmosphere)
  4. Download these signature patches
  5. Put Atmosphere and the signature patches onto your SD card
  6. Put the SD into your Switch
  7. Boot your Switch into RCM
  8. Launch Atmosphere using fusee-primary
Do your games work?

I did exactly what you said and im still getting the same message on over half of the nsp. Should i have repalced the whole patches folder or replaced each file inside? I feel like i need the most updated sig patches as well as the sweet ones everyone recommends. So far ive tried one or the other and only half games working. Does it matter what version the nsp is? a lot of them are v1 without the updates.
 
Last edited by entrapm3nt,
  • Like
Reactions: NoNAND

Lacius

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 11, 2008
Messages
17,720
Trophies
2
XP
17,429
Country
United States
I did exactly what you said and im still getting the same message on over half of the nsp. Should i have repalced the whole patches folder or replaced each file inside? I feel like i need the most updated sig patches as well as the sweet ones everyone recommends. So far ive tried one or the other and only half games working. Does it matter what version the nsp is? a lot of them are v1 without the updates.
If you followed my steps, you should only need the ones I linked to.
 

modern

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 4, 2018
Messages
7
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
89
Country
Brazil
Had the same issue yesterday... I updated to 8.1 thinking it was that then also formatted the sd but still didn't work

what fixed it was following this hxxps://gbatemp.net/threads/how-to-fix-archive-bit-for-all-sd-files-and-folders.515258/
 

entrapm3nt

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 28, 2019
Messages
13
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
73
Country
United States
Not sure what did it but I formated the sd again and did what Lacius said and it worked. Sdsetup didnt work for me no matter what i tried. Just using bare bones set up worked for me thanks.
 
  • Like
Reactions: NoNAND

entrapm3nt

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 28, 2019
Messages
13
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
73
Country
United States
I spoke too soon. It seems there are still a good bit of games that are giving me this message :( unable to start software.
 
Last edited by entrapm3nt,

NoNAND

Give me back my legions!
Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2015
Messages
2,280
Trophies
1
Location
Somewhere
XP
4,931
Country
Albania
Not sure what did it but I formated the sd again and did what Lacius said and it worked. Sdsetup didnt work for me no matter what i tried. Just using bare bones set up worked for me thanks.
Sometimes it's best to manually pick the necessary files to run homebrew/CFW on your switch.
While at first glance SDSetup may seem a quicker solution that provides everything in a click of a button, its prone to bugs and download corruptions oftentimes.
Glad you got them working.


EDIT: are you sure those NSPs you speak of are proper dumps?
 

entrapm3nt

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 28, 2019
Messages
13
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
73
Country
United States
Yes the NSP work on my other sd card that is outdated. I think im just going to try to copy whatever sig patches i have on that one because ive tried every sig patch possible and can only get half the games to work.
 
  • Like
Reactions: NoNAND

NoNAND

Give me back my legions!
Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2015
Messages
2,280
Trophies
1
Location
Somewhere
XP
4,931
Country
Albania
I think your current SD card could be at fault.
A 400GB SD card, either the FAT32 file system could not be compatible with it or it could possibly be a fake SD card
Try testing it with H2testw.
 

entrapm3nt

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 28, 2019
Messages
13
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
73
Country
United States
im using a 400gb sandisk formatted to fat32. It appears to be working fine other than some games not wanting to start. You think a faulty card could do that?


edit: tested fine :(
 
  • Like
Reactions: NoNAND

NoNAND

Give me back my legions!
Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2015
Messages
2,280
Trophies
1
Location
Somewhere
XP
4,931
Country
Albania
Usually when some games not starting is an apparent sign of data corruption.
Consider doing a full format with guiformat (or try exFAT) but backup your data beforehand.
then, download atmosphere with it's respective signature ES/FS patches provided by Lacius in the posts above. Make sure to boot atmosphere with its version corresponding fuse primary.
Alternatively you might try out ReiNX or other CFWs.
 
  • Like
Reactions: entrapm3nt

Lacius

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 11, 2008
Messages
17,720
Trophies
2
XP
17,429
Country
United States
If you followed my instructions in my first post, and the problem is still persisting, then the problem is likely being caused by one of three things:
  1. Your SD card is bad or needs to be reformatted.
  2. The NSP files need to be reinstalled, preferably using the DZ version of Tinfoil.
  3. The NSP files need to be re-downloaded from a different source.
 
  • Like
Reactions: NoNAND

entrapm3nt

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 28, 2019
Messages
13
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
73
Country
United States
Going to try and reformat again. I have not tried exfat in a while i might give that a go as my old card was exfat and gave no problems but everyone recommends fat32. Yeah i guess other CFW will be my last resort. I really like the cfw i use as it gave me no problems in the past with smaller sd cards. ive tried reinstalling nsps but i use goldleaf. The nsp work with my old card so its not them. Guess it has to be reformatted again. Ill update soon thank you both for your help.
 
  • Like
Reactions: NoNAND

entrapm3nt

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 28, 2019
Messages
13
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
73
Country
United States
Reformatted to exfat and did everything. Still same problem. Different games work now that didnt work before but the ones that worked before no longer work. Im going to try fat32 again but i wont be able to update this post until tomorrow.
 
  • Like
Reactions: NoNAND

cars

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Jul 29, 2019
Messages
4
Trophies
0
XP
128
Country
United Kingdom
I had some nsps that had the error "Failed to start software, try again from the home menu", what I did was I downloaded the xci version and then converted that xci version to nsp using "4nxci".
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: Saw a bles in folder so figured they go there but not showing under games