Hacking Now that bootmii is out

xDarkElement

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Yeah just incase, i dont have the money to pay off a full wii.
Im guessing all wiis that have the LU64+ are not bootmii compatible?

Puma

Trophies
XP
Country
United States
You do realize charging them is illegal, and if one of them finds out about it, you can go to jail for quite a long time.

smash_brew

I may or may not have fallen
Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
United States
There is nothing wrong with charging for installation as long as he's not charging for the software it self. Just because the software is free it doesn't mean his time is.

knowthing

Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
smash_brew said:
There is nothing wrong with charging for installation as long as he's not charging for the software it self. Just because the software is free it doesn't mean his time is.

Well, I'm not a lawyer of course, but the bootmii installer says you can't redistribute it. I expect the creators wouldn't be that happy if they knew someone was charging for their work which they gave away for free. I think its bad karma, but I'm not about to try tell anyone else what they can or can't do with their wii!

smash_brew

Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
United States
It's just like if someone charges you to set up linux. You are paying for their expertise and time. the redistribution thing was to stop the twilight hack being hosted on other servers. From what you are saying it would be wrong for anyone other then the owner of the wii to obtain the software and install it regardless if it was done for free or not.

thebobinc

Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
Canada
you should read carefully the screen when you are about to install the homebrew channel beford starting an topic asking if it is safe for you to charge people to install stuff that is made to be free and not to be sold as an app or to be include in a package,

Sazzles

Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Belgium