1. DerekTheWolf

    OP DerekTheWolf GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Messages:
    137
    Country:
    United States
    You're right...
    Sorry about that...
     
  2. DocAmes1980

    DocAmes1980 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2016
    Messages:
    873
    Country:
    United States
    No sweat. Patience is not one of my virtues. I could see myself doing something similar with another piece of tech. I try not to be super careful with consoles because something simple like a failed update can render it a paperweight. Quite a few people bricked their Wii Us because the progress bar on the initial update stopped moving so they turned their consoles off thinking that it froze. I've done some dumb stuff with my phones and have come close to bricking several times (quite a few soft bricks though).

    At least your fast RMX progress is safe and sound ;)
     
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2017
    DerekTheWolf and Saiyan Lusitano like this.
  3. linuxares

    linuxares I'm not a generous god!
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    7,164
    Country:
    Sweden
    So... Did it redownload in the background and do a CRC repair or how the heck did they just spring back to life? I know Android phones can be a dick but this is just out of the ordinary.
     
  4. Gonna take your advice. Dunno if my Switch has auto-updated but in case it hasn't, I won't. I'm not sure Binding of Isaac European cartridge will come with an OFW update but if it does, in that instance it's safe to upgrade.
     
  5. linuxares

    linuxares I'm not a generous god!
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    7,164
    Country:
    Sweden
    Can you go to "settings" - "Support" and Error History.

    Do you have one from today or yesterday?
     
  6. DerekTheWolf

    OP DerekTheWolf GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Messages:
    137
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, I can go to settings. I have a bunch of 'em from yesterday.
     
  7. RealLatias

    RealLatias GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2015
    Messages:
    192
    Country:
    United States
    I found something online that may help you (possibly). Here:

    It may not be off at all, it may just be frozen on the black screen. Skip to like 1:50 for the solution, It's pretty simple but it may work. It's to hold the power button for around 30 seconds and then let go, then wait and then hold the button down again.
    NVM IM AN IDIOT I DIDNT SEE IT WAS FIXED
     
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2017
  8. DocAmes1980

    DocAmes1980 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2016
    Messages:
    873
    Country:
    United States
    Sometimes you have to not only turn off a device but you have to remove power completely. There must be something it stores in volatile memory. Maybe some "flag" or "state" is trigger/written some point during the update process. The flag tells the Switch that the next time it powers up it should boot in to an update mode to finish installing the update. You would think that even if that was the case it would check the hash of the update file(s).

    I dunno, I'm talking out of my ass. Basically, by running down the battery, he did the equivalent of removing a phone battery and putting it back in. Sometimes it magically fixes shit.
     
  9. DerekTheWolf

    OP DerekTheWolf GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Messages:
    137
    Country:
    United States
    I really don't know. Unless when It was stuck on the logo, it was doing stuff on the background as you said... perhaps? because even if it was stuck, the joycons were able to connect to the console detached.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Thanks for sharing it, but I fixed it a few hours ago by doing nothing...
    unless leaving it last night powered on a few hours did something.
     
  10. linuxares

    linuxares I'm not a generous god!
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    7,164
    Country:
    Sweden
    Anyone that might be related to the update and start of the Switch?
     
  11. DerekTheWolf

    OP DerekTheWolf GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Messages:
    137
    Country:
    United States
    All that I have listed are related to the 2168-0002 error.
     
  12. linuxares

    linuxares I'm not a generous god!
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    7,164
    Country:
    Sweden
    And that is the wifi chip error code. Maybe this is because it dropped during the download. I'm so confused still how it suddenly poped up and working. My best guys is that it downloaded and got done, and it froze during the update. Once the battery or the Switch got it's chip cleared after the battery dropped down, it restarted whatever it was and it came back to life.
     
  13. DerekTheWolf

    OP DerekTheWolf GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Messages:
    137
    Country:
    United States
    I guess so. Anyway, I want to thank everyone for helping me.
    I really appreciate it. Next time, I will be even more careful about updating it. :D
     
  14. migles

    migles All my gbatemp friends are now mods, except for me
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    Messages:
    8,034
    Country:
    China
    Nice, so you wanna be buried with a ps4 and Xbox, in case Egyptians were right and you can bring them into afterlife?
     
    Jonna and sarkwalvein like this.
  15. Ace_Axel

    Ace_Axel Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    United States
    Bloody hell, that's scary to even read. I'm here cradling my Switch saying "There there no worries, little one!" Nonetheless, glad to hear it's working again! I'm on my 2nd switch cause I accidentally left my first one in a taxi traveling to my cousins house one day and was in a rush. So I'm a little wary over the health and safety over my new one.

    So much for "Stability" from your updates, Ninty... :glare:
     
  16. sarkwalvein

    sarkwalvein There's hope for a Xenosaga port.
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    7,721
    Country:
    Germany
    Golden.
     
  17. 2DSGamerdude

    2DSGamerdude GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2015
    Messages:
    374
    Country:
    Greece
    lol, very strange issue here,
    I had no issues with my switch when I did the update
    when the update finished to 100% via WIFI,
    then my system restarted and for a bit the screen was black after the switch logo, but then it came back on just fine ;)
     
  18. jt_1258

    jt_1258 Human?
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2016
    Messages:
    2,622
    Country:
    United States
    likely it just processing the update is what the black screen was
     
  19. DerekTheWolf

    OP DerekTheWolf GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Messages:
    137
    Country:
    United States
    Its stuck on the Switch logo again. I think it happens when the Switch's WI-FI chip disconnects for a unknown reason and when you reset, it fails to boot up again? At least that's what I think its happening.
     
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2017
  20. DerekTheWolf

    OP DerekTheWolf GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Messages:
    137
    Country:
    United States
    I will try to call Nintendo tomorrow and request a repair for my Switch. I think it's behavior is kinda obscure because from what I read if the Switch disconnects randomly (like mine) on reboot, it should work normally, not get stuck on the logo. I guess there's not much information on to what happened to mine. But I found a post on Support Nintendo basically saying the same thing I said but my problem is with the Wi-Fi, not the Joycons.

    https://en-americas-support.nintend...HOGlQd19UR1N2OHhna3VxdmM0ZHliWnhCZyUyMSUyMQ==
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - updating, Nothing, bricked