Not able to connect to eshop after region changing modded O3ds

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by RaphaelFR, Dec 9, 2016.

  1. RaphaelFR
    OP

    RaphaelFR Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    1
    Dec 9, 2016
    Brazil
    Ok... i'l try to explain my situation the best i can. My friend has a CFW o3ds running arm9 + luma 3ds, E region. And i have a stock 3ds U region. I've been trying to change his modded 3ds region to be able to dsiware downgrade my stock 3ds but no luck so far. I followed Plailect's guide and managed to change region to U, but the problem is... i can't connect to eshop it keeps showing error code 005-5964 (or something like that, didn't write it down, but it's not that error code for wrong region setting). The guide says it should work, and i've been trying to get help from the wonderfull people of 3ds hacking discord channel but they also don't know why it wont work. So... what are my options ? i heard that this kind of data from eshop stay tied to secureinfo_A. Is there a way to make sysnand fresh only keeping a9lh of course then do the region change and maybe make it work ?
     
  2. Sketchy1

    Sketchy1 gbatemp's shadiest warez dealer

    Member
    1,492
    370
    Aug 9, 2016
    United States
  3. ScarletDreamz

    ScarletDreamz [Debug Mode]

    Member
    2,562
    1,112
    Feb 16, 2015
    United States
    California
  4. Sketchy1

    Sketchy1 gbatemp's shadiest warez dealer

    Member
    1,492
    370
    Aug 9, 2016
    United States
    O and that data is tied to the 3ds hardware, so it can't be changed unless you have a donor 3ds
     
  5. ScarletDreamz

    ScarletDreamz [Debug Mode]

    Member
    2,562
    1,112
    Feb 16, 2015
    United States
    California
    do you see the bold paragraph?
     
  6. RaphaelFR
    OP

    RaphaelFR Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    1
    Dec 9, 2016
    Brazil
    but i can create another NNID of other region, in fact if i try to enter eshop before creating an NNID it says i changed region, start trying to connect and show the error, if i create NNID and try to connect to eshop it shows the first log in message (about credit card, balance and stuff) tries to connect and then show the same error
     
  7. Sketchy1

    Sketchy1 gbatemp's shadiest warez dealer

    Member
    1,492
    370
    Aug 9, 2016
    United States
    He's trying to sys transfer so he can dsiware downgrade...
     
  8. ScarletDreamz

    ScarletDreamz [Debug Mode]

    Member
    2,562
    1,112
    Feb 16, 2015
    United States
    California
    ninjad.
     
  9. RaphaelFR
    OP

    RaphaelFR Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    1
    Dec 9, 2016
    Brazil
    About region changing not being necessary ? i'm trying to dsiware downgrade my stock 3ds, so i need both o3ds's to be same region to perform system transfer
     
  10. Sketchy1

    Sketchy1 gbatemp's shadiest warez dealer

    Member
    1,492
    370
    Aug 9, 2016
    United States
    Again its not that simple; your hardware is tied to the eshop region your using, and gets registered to a server. so no matter how many times you try and connect, your friend ds is tied to EU servers, even if you region changed, its either gonna

    A) connect using its EU registered hardware using an american eshop where the hardware isn't stored on their data servers

    Or

    B)connect to an american server with EU registered nnid
     
    Last edited by Sketchy1, Dec 9, 2016
  11. Alex658

    Alex658 GBAtemp Maniac

    Member
    1,150
    340
    Jun 4, 2010
    Venezuela
    Venezuela
    You need to remove the NNID before attempting the system transfer with a region changed console. AFAIK.
    Then create a new one.
     
  12. RaphaelFR
    OP

    RaphaelFR Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    1
    Dec 9, 2016
    Brazil
    The guide says that after creating a new NNID it should work, there must be something out of the equation with my friend 3ds, or the guide isn't correct

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    there's isn't one before the region change, and i need to enter eshop at least (and i need to download the dsiware title for the dsiware downgrade) one time to be able to system transfer
     
  13. Ronhero

    Ronhero Too Weird to Live, Too Rare to Die

    Member
    3,002
    1,054
    Jun 28, 2014
    United States
    Arizona Bay
    Ive has successfully done this a ton of times with the 3 sd card trick as well as a modified cfw with cardboard patches for o3ds. N3ds only modified cfw works
     
  14. RaphaelFR
    OP

    RaphaelFR Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    1
    Dec 9, 2016
    Brazil
    oww ! that's good to hear, i thought about trying the 3d card method, but as the modded 3ds is not mine i dont have all the time to try.
    What was your situation exactly for you need to region change ? same as me ?
     
  15. Ronhero

    Ronhero Too Weird to Live, Too Rare to Die

    Member
    3,002
    1,054
    Jun 28, 2014
    United States
    Arizona Bay
    I just mod and resell them. I usually get a lot of limited edition jpn models that fetch a fair price once in English
     
  16. RaphaelFR
    OP

    RaphaelFR Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    1
    Dec 9, 2016
    Brazil
    So you changed region and was able to create a new NNID and connect to eshop ? Which of the two methods do you recommend ?
     
  17. Ronhero

    Ronhero Too Weird to Live, Too Rare to Die

    Member
    3,002
    1,054
    Jun 28, 2014
    United States
    Arizona Bay
    Honest i don't really see a point for either. The only reason i use either is for system transfers and for that a modified cfw is cool if you dual boot between cfw. The 3 sd card is great if you don't want to use cfw
     
  18. RaphaelFR
    OP

    RaphaelFR Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    1
    Dec 9, 2016
    Brazil
    I'm trying to do this to be able to dsiware downgrade my stock 3ds, the modded 3ds is E region (arm9loaderhax + luma 3ds), the stock 3ds is U region, system transfer can only be done with same region, and i need to connect to eshop to perform both dsiware downgrade and system transfer
     
  19. Ronhero

    Ronhero Too Weird to Live, Too Rare to Die

    Member
    3,002
    1,054
    Jun 28, 2014
    United States
    Arizona Bay
    Look up cosmo 3ds as a a9hl bin, for o3ds you could also use the 3 sd card trick if you have issues it's basically the same concept
     
    Last edited by Ronhero, Dec 9, 2016
  20. RaphaelFR
    OP

    RaphaelFR Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    1
    Dec 9, 2016
    Brazil
    I think i'l try the 3 sd card method,don't wanna mess with changing my friend's CFW. They are both old3ds by the way
     
    Ronhero likes this.