not a single windows based wbfs gui detects my HDD. Only the dos one.

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by darky2003, May 22, 2009.

  1. darky2003
    OP

    Member darky2003 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    133
    Country:
    Belgium
    Hey,

    I really need some help here!
    I want to use a windows based wbfs tool but not a single one detects my drive.
    The drive has 2 partitions (500gb for wii wbfs formated and 250gb ntfs formated)

    Now when i connect it to my pc i only get to see the ntfs one (should be normal)
    and when using wbfs manager tools not a single one detects it.

    The only program that works is the first one that came out (the dos one).

    Any ideas??? [​IMG]
     
  2. Satangel

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    I may have had a similar problem.
    You should reformat your HDD (back-up everything first) and make sure you're WBFS Partition is the Primary partition.
    Google that if you don't know how to do it.

    That solved the problem for me.
     
  3. wiistarter

    Member wiistarter GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    385
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Windows needs to "SEE" the drive so it should show up in my computer as unformatted but have a drive letter.

    as Satangel said you have to make it a primary partition.

    First try and format the WBFS partition to FAT then make sure its the Primary partition and then format to WBFS. Thats how I did it..
     
  4. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,284
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Try to run it as administrator
     
  5. simpet

    Newcomer simpet Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    89
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    i have to run mine as administrator to see my HDD
     
  6. darky2003
    OP

    Member darky2003 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    133
    Country:
    Belgium
    ok, thanks guys.

    Gonna try it. [​IMG]
     
  7. jebrown19

    Newcomer jebrown19 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    65
    Country:
    Canada
    Not sure if you figured this out already or not, but I had a similar problem even with my drive properly formated with WFBS as the primary partition. I had to modify my Windows driver to make it see the second partition on my HD.

    A how to was posted by Victory144 A while back:

    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=148122

    might help you... It fixed the issue for me.

    Cheers,
     

Share This Page