Not a brick, but not usable for HBC either

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by terry1769, Sep 17, 2009.

Sep 17, 2009
  1. terry1769
    OP

    Newcomer terry1769 Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    I really wish I'd done my research ahead of time and/or found this community earlier. Now I come humbly seeking help to figure out what I did wrong. I'll try to be as thorough as I can here and include as much info as I can recall.

    I started with the guide at http://www.mikeandheth.com/games/109-store...tem-menu-4.html and had it mostly working with little trouble. The only problem I was aware of was some weird scrolling in the GUI of GSX Loader. I know now there were other problems...

    Bootmii has never loaded. There was nothing in that guide about using it to back up the NAND so I didn't realize it should be loading and wasn't. I have yet to ever get it to actually load. I have seen the load screen pop up for half a second on a number of occasions but it immediately disappears before I can do anything. I've tried installing it as boot2 and as IOS. Both install correctly but neither actually loads. Since it never loads I have no NAND backup. [​IMG]

    The scrolling problem has also moved into the HBC. If I have more than 4 items in the Apps folder on the SD card the HBC loads and just scrolls back and forth between the two pages of apps constantly. I can't actually click on anything and the only way out is the power button on the console. If I have 4 or less items it seems to work OK.

    If I load something with a GUI like GSX loader or the homebrew browser, they load, but I'm unable to click on any sort of selection. Some navigation works in the homebrew browser. I can use the right and left arrows to change categories and I can open the help or use the sort buttons on the right. I can't scroll up and down or actually select anything in any of the categories though. In GSX Loader I can't click on anything at all.

    Text screen apps like anytitle deleter or all of the IOS and CIOS updates etc. work just fine.

    I've run completely through the guide on the link above as well as the one on this forum. I can't seem to make any progress in getting it all working. My serial starts with LU57 so I shouldn't be in the LU64+ group. I started with, and am currently back at system menu 4.1.

    The Wii works just fine with disc games and I can't tell at all that anything's amiss unless trying to work with HBC or homebrew apps. We're planning on taking it on vacation with us next month to entertain the kids and would like to have all of the games on a hard drive to save space and keep from losing or damaging discs. Hopefully someone can help get me back on track.

    Thanks in advance!
     


  2. wchill

    Member wchill Resident chillxpert

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,407
    Country:
    United States
    If you bought your Wii as System Menu 4.0/4.1 or it was a later 3.4, it is a LU64+ Wii. Serial numbers don't make too much sense at the moment, it's better to refer to the date. Late 2008 was when these Wiis started coming out I believe.
     
  3. terry1769
    OP

    Newcomer terry1769 Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    Wii was bought June 10 2008. No idea what the original system menu was as I didn't even think of hacking it that far back. [​IMG]

    Additional:
    I've tried 6 different SD cards including two that are specifically on the bootmii compatibility list. I've also tried various format techniques for FAT, FAT32 and also tried the sdfv2000.exe SD formatter.
     
  4. mrgarrison

    Newcomer mrgarrison Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Location:
    Kelowna BC
    Country:
    Canada
    Wierd problem...

    I would start with DOP IOS v7 and replace your IOS files with current/clean ones

    http://wiibrew.org/wiki/Dop-IOS

    When updating IOS 36 and 60, install all available patches. Don't bother patching the others.
    If you have Preloader, make SURE you patch IOS 60 or you'll have to reinstall preloader after. Although I did just to be safe anyways...

    Then I would grab the hackmii installer and uninstall/reinstall the Homebrew Channel. As your wii works fine with everything except this, it would make sence that its just the HBC. But I could be wrong [​IMG]

    If the problem is in DOP IOS as well, try the uninstall/reinstall of HBC first.
     
  5. metroid4life14

    Member metroid4life14 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    308
    Country:
    United States
    What happens when you access the homebrew channel? You can load bootmii as an ios from the homebrew channel. Also, how are you preparing your sd cards for boot2 boomii? Are you running the hackmii installer via bannerbomb?

    If you can't access homebrew channel, then you had a corrupt wad and need to reinstall homebrew. If only bootmii as boot2 is the problem... either it's your wii or you're not preparing the sd correctly or your sd cards are not compatible (unlikely, since you tried a bunch of them).

    You can also check if bootmii boot2 has been installed correctly by booting without an sd card (there should be 3 flashes of blue light if you installed correctly).
     
  6. terry1769
    OP

    Newcomer terry1769 Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks Mrgarrison. I went ahead and tried it but the results are the same after replacing 36 and 60 with that tool and uninstalling/reinstalling HBC.
    Would it be safe/prudent to replace the other IOSs with the same tool in case I fat fingered somewhere and borked one of them?
     
  7. terry1769
    OP

    Newcomer terry1769 Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    metroid4life14,
    When I access HBC, if there are 4 or less items on the list, it loads fine and the apps load, but not correctly if they use a GUI. If there are more than 4 items in the list of apps, the screen jumps quickly back and forth between the the two screens of apps and I'm unable to click on anything to launch an app.

    I haven't been able to get bootmii to load as boot2 or IOS.

    I am using hackmii via bannerbomb.

    I was getting the flashes indicating bootmii was installed whether I had the card installed or not most of the time. Early on when I was getting the flash of the bootmii screen, I didn't get the flashes, but later, I'd just get the flashes. I did confirm that the files are in the correct place on the SD for bootmii.

    Two of the cars I've tried are on the compatibility list.
     
  8. technosexual

    Newcomer technosexual Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Messages:
    49
    Country:
    United States
    do you have more than one wiimote? sounds like it could be a bad one. if you only have one check if theres any gunk in the dpad or +/- buttons. or try to put more than 4 apps on your sd, start hbc then rip a battery out of the wiimote so it starts with nothing sync'd. see if that does anything

    otherwise you could reinstall hbc with the hackmii installer(it both removes and installs it). could try that.

    as far as bootmii not starting, it needs files on the sd card. whenever you set it up it would have made a sd:/bootmii/ folder. the files in there are needed or bootmii/boot2 just skips past itself and loads system menu. there is an option in the hackmii installer under bootmii for prepare sd card. i dont remember if that formats the sd card or writes the needed files tho.
     
  9. terry1769
    OP

    Newcomer terry1769 Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    I've tried two wiimotes. They also function fine in games loaded by disc.

    Tried uninstall and reinstall of HBC after DOP of IOS 36 and 60 (above).

    I have confirmed the files for bootmii are in their correct location on the card.

    Would it be safe/prudent to replace the other IOSs with the same tool in case I fat fingered somewhere and borked one of them?
     
  10. professa

    Newcomer professa Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    also try giving your wiimote a healthy whack, when i first installed the HBC on my mates wii his remote worked upside down (only in HBC - system menu & games ok)
    he did some research and found the answer was to give it a smack, worked like a charm.

    not exactly the same problem of course but worth a shot maybe


    also are you sure with bootmii that it's not just your tv not getting the signal
    i had that and used bootmii configuration utility (seperate app through HBC) to change the video settings for Bootmii (to in my case pal50)
     
  11. technosexual

    Newcomer technosexual Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Messages:
    49
    Country:
    United States
    there isnt really a need to go and replace all ios files, cause it only uses whats loaded.

    try this. use dop-ios to install ios61. then go uninstall and reinstall hbc using the hackmii installer. hbc should then be using ios61. you can confirm this by hitting home in hbc after the reinstall and checking the top right corner

    also, what version of the hackmii installer are you using?
     
  12. vettacossx

    Member vettacossx Wii Theme Team Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,329
    Location:
    Right Behind You! Uh Oh!
    Country:
    Ireland
    if you have ever downgraded the system....well lets just say downgrading and upgrading can cause that issue w/ the hbc ive only saw it on 2 other wiis b4....but I have saw that and while most experienced users may think "hey why dont you try another sd card" that didnt work either from my experience this happens RARELY when you go from 4.1 to 3.2 and back to 4.1 there seems to be issues with this and the weird thing thats differtent in these 2 wiis case from yours is...BOOTMII would ONLY install as a ios for those wiis and NOT as boot2 though they were fully able to make a nand backup and function aside from the issue with the HBC (also never tried less apps like having 4 in there so our always did that till we installed a new wad was even the BEER CHANNEL [​IMG])...All we did was install the HBC from a WAD and that seemed to do the trick for us...

    ALSO I had to make a few of my CORPS cios back into originals for the hackmii installer to work at all (the newer one) but after the update i re-ran cioscorps and all is fine....

    So for HBC i would see if you cant find a decent (confirmed and tested) HBC wad (got mine via torrent with MANY SEEDS (a good sign that its legit is massive seed counts)

    Also check into dop ios and ios sanity check maybe you just need to install a official IOS to fix this then try the proccess again? just throwing some stuff out 2 ponder [​IMG] good luck bro!
     
  13. CasperH

    CasperH Newbie

    It sounds like a problem with the WiiRemote
     
  14. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    My friend had the HBC scrolling back and forth. As it turned out, he needed to remove the GC memory cards. Not sure how they made the HBC jump back and forth like that...

    If you don't have any GC cards inserted, do what vettacosx said and install it from a wad. You can use pretty much any version of HBC. (my other wii has beta7 on it still, works fine). You could also try resyncing the wiimote, although it's unlikely to help.
     
  15. terry1769
    OP

    Newcomer terry1769 Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks all. Unfortunately I'm still in the same boat.
    Bootmii flashes briefly on startup but doesn't stay up long enough for me to click anything.
    Preloader is installed but I have yet to actually see it. I know it's installed though because if I boot without the SD card in it complains it can't find hacks.ini.

    I've tried smacking the wiimotes around on the off chance they just needed it. No help.
    I've tried the NTSC and PROGRESSIVE settings for the video in bootmii (I'm definitely not on PAL). NTSC makes it flash briefly on the screen. Progressive, it never shows at all.

    I've replaced IOS61 and then uninstalled and reinstalled HBC. No help.
    I uninstalled HBC and installed HBC 1.1 froma WAD. It now says its using IOS 36 but otherwise behaves exactly the same as before.
    I did SignCheck (=Sanity Check I think). Output below.

    I have no GC cards or controllers.
    I re-synced the wii remotes.

    I have a hard drive with my games I loaded from the wii when it was all working. USB Loader GX and Configurable USB Loader won't connect to the drive at all. Homebrew browser when it starts says it mounted the USB device so I don't know what's up there.
    Still can't click on anything or scroll up or down in homebrew browser. I can scroll left and right just fine.

    Just figured out something else. I can scroll up and down in the homebrew browser if I connect the nunchuck and use its joystick. Still select any of the items with any button. I can click on the tabs to navigate, the help button, or the buttons along the right side. Just not any of the downloadable items.

    At this point I can believe there may be something odd with both my wii remotes that could cause the issues with scrolling and not being able to click anything. It's a long shot, but it's a reasonable one. [​IMG]
    Anyone have any ideas about the remaining issues? Preloader and bootmii won't load and I can no longer get USB Loader to see my HD (or even a small thumb drive that worked previously).




    SignCheck 0.3 aka /dev/nintystuff build report
    Wii region Usa
    Wii unique device id 73564040

    IOS number "Trucha bug" "Flash access" "Boot2 access" "Usb2.0 IOS tree"

    IOS250 (ver 65535) Enabled Disabled Disabled Enabled
    IOS249 (ver 14) Enabled Disabled Disabled Enabled
    IOS222 (ver 4) Enabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS202 (ver 2) Enabled Enabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS61 (ver 4890) Enabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS60 (ver 6174) Disabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS57 (ver 5404) Enabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS56 (ver 4890) Enabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS55 (ver 5149) Enabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS53 (ver 5149) Enabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS38 (ver 3610) Enabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS37 (ver 3612) Enabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS36 (ver 3094) Enabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS35 (ver 3092) Enabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS34 (ver 3091) Enabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS33 (ver 2834) Enabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS31 (ver 3092) Enabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS28 (ver 1293) Enabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS22 (ver 780) Enabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS17 (ver 518) Enabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS14 (ver 263) Enabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS13 (ver 16) Enabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
     
  16. technosexual

    Newcomer technosexual Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Messages:
    49
    Country:
    United States
    are you sure the wiimote(s) work? try in a game that doesnt require a nunchuck.
     
  17. terry1769
    OP

    Newcomer terry1769 Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the help. [​IMG]

    I set the boot delay to 10. Bootmii flashes on the screen for half a second then it goes to a black screen for 10 seconds. Then the Wii goes into its normal boot sequence requesting to press A. Preloader also never gives me any kind of config screen. I only know it's there because of the hacks.ini error if I boot without the SD card.

    Same happens when trying to run it from HBC (installed as IOS and boot2, also tried each way individually).

    I'm using the standard component cable so NTSC is correct. I tried Progressive based on earlier suggestions and it didn't work.

    Got the WAD from a torrent as directed in this thread. The version was a typo. It was 1.0.1. It also popped up asking to download and install the latest, 1.0.3. After determining that 1.0.1 misbehaved the same way, I let it and am now back at 1.0.3.

    The partition format makes sense. USB Loader GX will mount a FAT drive and offer to let you format it. When it didn't connect to my HD, I put if a FAT32 formatted thumb drive that it detected just fine before to see if it still would. That drive was still attached when I loaded homebrew browser. Unfortunately it still doesn't tell me why USB Loader GX won't see it at all any more, nor the wbfs HD with games previously loaded through USB Loader GX.

    The wiimotes work fine with and without nunchucks in games. Haven't seen any problems with them at all outside of HB stuff. They are the two original wiimotes that came with the console bundle and not third party ones in case that matters.
     
  18. metroid4life14

    Member metroid4life14 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    308
    Country:
    United States
    Is it possible that bootmii and preloader are conflicting? Is sounds like you have preloader AND bootmii set to autoboot. Take out the sd card, set preloader to load to sysmenu, and then try bootmii.
     
  19. technosexual

    Newcomer technosexual Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Messages:
    49
    Country:
    United States
    not really. bootmii as boot2 loads before anything else on the system is started.

    as far as the guy with the problem goes, i cant think of anything else.
     
  20. terry1769
    OP

    Newcomer terry1769 Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    I can't get into preloader to set it to do anything. Is there a way to do t manually in the hacks.ini?

    Also, Preloader was only recently installed as part of trying to fix it. Bootmii was alone originally.

    Thanks for the help folks. If everyone is tapped I may have to give up on it. I'll keep watching to see if anyone else has an idea.
     

Share This Page