1. KleinesSinchen

    KleinesSinchen The Backup Reminder
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2018
    Messages:
    1,704
    Country:
    Germany
    Absurd? Why?
    Create a new backup with BootMii on a known good SD card (check with h2testw, F3 or F3X before trusting an SD) and store the backup on your computer as well. ModMii should be able to update any updated softmod if you just pretend it was the first time modding this Wii. Try it! NAND backup is part of the guide ModMii creates. Don't skip Priiloader – especially if you can't install BootMii into boot2!

    Nintendont is the best method for loading GameCube games from USB or SD (there are other possibilities). USB Loader GX supports FAT32 and NTFS formatted drives. FAT32 is the better option (I don't think Nintendont supports NTFS). Dumping your discs to external HDD should split them in case they are larger than 4GB. Wii Backup Manager can prepare everything on your computer (split huge ISO into multiple WBFS files and put them into the correct folder for USB loading).

    If you have any further questions or problems, just ask again. Somebody should be able to help you.

    Good luck and have fun!
     
  2. Kazekai

    Kazekai GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    187
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you for answering but I have a minor update.

    I managed to find my Wii backups! :D They were in the last place I looked. ^_^;

    Um, so I guess I just install this all like normal then?
     
    alexander1970 likes this.
  3. wittymommy09

    wittymommy09 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    Hello. Writing this as i try to fix my kid's Wii - who modded/hacked it into not working. To fix it, I did a ModMii load on an SD card and got everything to work enough for me to load what was needed....figured out the issue was that the System Menu had disappeared but i got it restored by finding the 4.3U WAD in NUS and loaded it.

    However, the internet connection on the Wii is not working and keeps popping up error 50299, and the wireless connection that works when added/tested then converts to 'wired' when i try to get it working. I've tried all the usual fixes (resetting our router, putting the wifi on certain channels like 1 and 11).

    I'm new to this so would appreciate help. I am semi computer literate and have learned a lot about WADs, IOS, Homebrew, BootMii in the past 48 hours trying to fix his Wii, but can't get this last thing sorted and don't know enough about them on what i should do next.

    And of course my special needs son is devastated. So much appreciate any help anyone can offer to this n00b mom who is being driven crazy.
     
    jeannotte likes this.
  4. jeannotte

    jeannotte GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2016
    Messages:
    2,005
    Country:
    France
    Hello,

    Post a syscheck report here, following this guide, please == <https://gbatemp.net/threads/posting-a-system-check.300279/
     
    alexander1970 likes this.
  5. wittymommy09

    wittymommy09 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States

    Hello, thanks very much for the tip! I ran the report and the output is below.


    SysCheck HDE v2.4.0 HacksDen Edition by JoostinOnline, Double_A, R2-D2199, and Nano
    ...runs on IOS58 (rev 6176).
    Region: NTSC-U
    System Menu 4.3U (v513)
    Drive date: 07.14.2008
    Homebrew Channel 1.1.2 running on IOS58
    Hollywood v0x21
    Console ID: 126917204
    Console Type: Wii
    Shop Channel Country: United States (49)
    Boot2 v4
    Found 90 titles.
    Found 50 IOS on this console. 9 of them are stubs.
    IOS3 (rev 65280): Stub
    IOS4 (rev 65280): Stub
    IOS9 (rev 1034): No Patches
    IOS10 (rev 768): Stub
    IOS11 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
    IOS12 (rev 526): No Patches
    IOS13 (rev 1032): No Patches
    IOS14 (rev 1032): No Patches
    IOS15 (rev 1032): No Patches
    IOS16 (rev 512): Stub
    IOS17 (rev 1032): No Patches
    IOS20 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
    IOS21 (rev 1039): No Patches
    IOS22 (rev 1294): No Patches
    IOS28 (rev 1807): No Patches
    IOS30 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
    IOS31 (rev 3608): No Patches
    IOS33 (rev 3608): No Patches
    IOS34 (rev 3608): No Patches
    IOS35 (rev 3608): No Patches
    IOS36 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access
    IOS37 (rev 5663): No Patches
    IOS38 (rev 4124): No Patches
    IOS40 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
    IOS41 (rev 3607): No Patches
    IOS43 (rev 3607): No Patches
    IOS45 (rev 3607): No Patches
    IOS46 (rev 3607): No Patches
    IOS48 (rev 4124): No Patches
    IOS50 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
    IOS51 (rev 4864): Stub
    IOS52 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
    IOS53 (rev 5663): No Patches
    IOS55 (rev 5663): No Patches
    IOS56 (rev 5662): No Patches
    IOS57 (rev 5919): No Patches
    IOS58 (rev 6176): USB 2.0
    IOS60 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
    IOS61 (rev 5662): No Patches
    IOS62 (rev 6430): No Patches
    IOS70 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
    IOS80 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
    IOS202[60] (rev 65535, Info: hermesrodries-v6): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS222 (rev 65280): Stub
    IOS223 (rev 65280): Stub
    IOS224[57] (rev 65535, Info: hermesrodries-v6): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS236 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access
    IOS249 (rev 65280): Stub
    IOS250 (rev 65280): Stub
    IOS254 (rev 65281): BootMii
    BC v6
    MIOS v10
    Report generated on 05/26/2020.
     
    Last edited by wittymommy09, May 27, 2020
    jeannotte and alexander1970 like this.
  6. alexander1970

    alexander1970 Wuff Wuff.
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2018
    Messages:
    9,361
    Country:
    Austria
    Hello.:)

    Welcome to GBAtemp and the Wii Section.

    Thank you for your sysCheck.
    It says clearly you have no custom IOS installed.

    These are needed for the USBLoaders/Wii Game Load.

    I have read you have no Internet on your Wii,so maybe the best and safest Way to correct this is to use ModMii.

    If you managed in the Meantime to get a Wifi/Internet Connection on your Wii you can use instead this Guide and the d2xcIOS Installer to do this manually.:)

    Good Luck
    Thank you.:)
     
    wittymommy09 and jeannotte like this.
  7. wittymommy09

    wittymommy09 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States

    thanks! I did use ModMii step by step the first time but...had to install the system menu wad after when I saw ModMii could not connect to download these menus...something my kiddo had done before had gotten rid of the system menu (error finding it in Priiloader...this is what prompted me to help) ..so I got the menu from NUS and loaded the wad through MMM.

    Question: would installing 4.3u after ModMii have overwritten anything I did? I.e. does install order matter? Seems that could be possible based on what I am trying to read up on. Will try the whole ModMii process again this evening if that’s the case. Appreciate the guidance. :)
     
    alexander1970 and jeannotte like this.
  8. alexander1970

    alexander1970 Wuff Wuff.
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2018
    Messages:
    9,361
    Country:
    Austria
    Thank you.:)

    A Wii System Update should not delete your Homebrew Channel and Company.But Priiloader for sure and your custom IOSes.
    So,yes you have to do ModMii again in the worst Case.:D

    Good Luck
    Thank you.:)
     
    wittymommy09 and jeannotte like this.
  9. wittymommy09

    wittymommy09 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States

    I'm back...no luck with the internet/wifi. :( Ran a new sysCheck below again after redoing a modMii install.

    Again....for the wifi....i add the connection...it tests successfully....and when i have to click on User Agreements, it is unable to connect and then the internet connection switches to wired rather than wireless. And in Homebrew Channel, it always shows as Network Not Initialized. Makes me think it's something like firmware, or a setting, or otherwise on the console, but i'd have no idea where to start.

    Thanks in advance for any help once again....so much appreciated!



    SysCheck HDE v2.4.0 HacksDen Edition by JoostinOnline, Double_A, R2-D2199, and Nano
    ...runs on IOS58 (rev 6176).

    Region: NTSC-U
    System Menu 4.3U (v513)
    Priiloader installed
    Drive date: 07.14.2008
    Homebrew Channel 1.1.2 running on IOS58

    Hollywood v0x21
    Console ID: 126917204
    Console Type: Wii
    Shop Channel Country: United States (49)
    Boot2 v4
    Found 90 titles.
    Found 50 IOS on this console. 5 of them are stubs.

    IOS3 (rev 65280): Stub
    IOS4 (rev 65280): Stub
    IOS9 (rev 1034): No Patches
    IOS10 (rev 768): Stub
    IOS11 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
    IOS12 (rev 526): No Patches
    IOS13 (rev 1032): No Patches
    IOS14 (rev 1032): No Patches
    IOS15 (rev 1032): No Patches
    IOS16 (rev 512): Stub
    IOS17 (rev 1032): No Patches
    IOS20 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
    IOS21 (rev 1039): No Patches
    IOS22 (rev 1294): No Patches
    IOS28 (rev 1807): No Patches
    IOS30 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
    IOS31 (rev 3608): No Patches
    IOS33 (rev 3608): No Patches
    IOS34 (rev 3608): No Patches
    IOS35 (rev 3608): No Patches
    IOS36 (rev 3608): No Patches
    IOS37 (rev 5663): No Patches
    IOS38 (rev 4124): No Patches
    IOS40 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
    IOS41 (rev 3607): No Patches
    IOS43 (rev 3607): No Patches
    IOS45 (rev 3607): No Patches
    IOS46 (rev 3607): No Patches
    IOS48 (rev 4124): No Patches
    IOS50 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
    IOS51 (rev 4864): Stub
    IOS52 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
    IOS53 (rev 5663): No Patches
    IOS55 (rev 5663): No Patches
    IOS56 (rev 5662): No Patches
    IOS57 (rev 5919): No Patches
    IOS58 (rev 6176): USB 2.0
    IOS60 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
    IOS61 (rev 5662): No Patches
    IOS62 (rev 6430): No Patches
    IOS70 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
    IOS80 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
    IOS202[60] (rev 65535, Info: hermesrodries-v6): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS222[38] (rev 4, Info: hermes-v4): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS223[38+37] (rev 4, Info: hermes-v4): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS224[57] (rev 65535, Info: hermesrodries-v6): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS236[36] (rev 65535, Info: rev 3351): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access
    IOS249[57] (rev 21008, Info: d2x-v8final): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS250[56] (rev 21008, Info: d2x-v8final): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS254 (rev 65281): BootMii
    BC v6
    MIOS v10
    Report generated on 05/27/2020.
     
    Last edited by wittymommy09, May 28, 2020
    jeannotte and alexander1970 like this.
  10. alexander1970

    alexander1970 Wuff Wuff.
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2018
    Messages:
    9,361
    Country:
    Austria
    Hello.:)

    Thank you for your sysCheck,it is good.

    It sounds like your Wii´s Wifi Module maybe have an Issue or

    If you have an USB HDD connected,please disconnect it.
    If you have one,please DO NOT place it on the TOP from your Wii,this maybe interfere the Wii´s WiFi.
    (The HDD Case/Controller).Please put it behind/aside.The same can happen on the Wii U.
    https://gbatemp.net/threads/wii-u-wifi-suddenly-cant-connect-to-router.376888/page-2#post-8933649

    Thank you.:)
     
    wittymommy09 and jeannotte like this.
  11. wittymommy09

    wittymommy09 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks so much - nothing has changed or is hooked up and there is nothing on top of the Wii. i find it strange that the WiFi has only stopped working after these mods that required the system menu install, so it makes me think there is a software issue. Is there a way to check on the drivers related to the WiFi hardware before I go down the path of ordering a new WiFi module (as this doesn’t sound very easy!) ?

    Thank you again all - will appreciate any suggestions!
     
    alexander1970 likes this.
  12. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    9,438
    Country:
    United States
    wiiconnect24? enable it, then see if the led turns orange when you turn the system off. it's a stretch, and I don't know if it will let you know anything really. turn it off afterwards, because it can cause the wii to become unbelievably hot.
     
    wittymommy09 and alexander1970 like this.
  13. wittymommy09

    wittymommy09 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you— no luck there either unfortunately. :(

    May be a stretch, but is it worthwhile to find someone who can repair this if I cannot figure it out? Any recommendations from the experts here (or is this even a good idea)? I am in the US on the east coast, but if someone were reliable would be ok mailing to them.
     
    Last edited by wittymommy09, May 28, 2020
  14. jeannotte

    jeannotte GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2016
    Messages:
    2,005
    Country:
    France
    Hello

    Did you delete all the connections in the wii settings, then recreate a new connection with your box? (see the result)
     
    wittymommy09 and alexander1970 like this.
  15. wittymommy09

    wittymommy09 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    Yes I did thanks for asking :)
    It’s strange - it connects to it, passes the connection test, and then the error I get (50299) makes me think it did not retain the WiFi connection settings....I am looking around (Or happy for any ideas) on how to see if there is any kind of utility that could test my WiFi Firmware/configurations before I take apart the Wii/replace the WiFi module or have someone else do it. Thank you again, you all are so helpful with the ideas/suggestions.
     
    alexander1970 and jeannotte like this.
  16. jeannotte

    jeannotte GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2016
    Messages:
    2,005
    Country:
    France
    Last edited by jeannotte, May 29, 2020
    alexander1970 and wittymommy09 like this.
  17. wittymommy09

    wittymommy09 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    No issues there as far as I can tell. The console isn’t far from the box (directly above it) and none of the consoles have ever had issues with WiFi in the house to date :)

    I have gone through every guide I can find on this error and no luck....Thanks again though...appreciate the ideas :) keep them coming if anything comes to mind!
     
    alexander1970 and jeannotte like this.
  18. wittymommy09

    wittymommy09 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    So...as an update...happy to report...i took the last resort of formatting the Wii memory....and got the WiFi working again. :) :) :)

    Thanks again to everyone who tried to help esp Alexander1970 and Jeannotte :) though after spending days reading through this forum, now this has my interest and I may take over the Wii hacking from my son :)
     
  19. DBZFan102

    DBZFan102 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2020
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Brazil
    Hello, I want to ask a question, does updating my IOS or c1OS erase my saved games? It may be a noobish thing to ask, but I need to update it so I can use SaveGame Manager GX. So I want to know in advance what to prepare for.
     
    jeannotte and alexander1970 like this.
  20. alexander1970

    alexander1970 Wuff Wuff.
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2018
    Messages:
    9,361
    Country:
    Austria
    Hello.:)

    Thank you for asking.
    You can be be completely reassured,your Savegames on your Wii´s NAND/Memory will not be touched.:)

    May I ask please,which cIOS you need to update ?
    If you like,you can post a sysCheck from your actual Wii´s Status/cIOS Installation,so we can have a Look on it and maybe help you if you want.:)

    Thank you.:)
     
    jeannotte likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - PARADISE,