1. Turrican3

    Turrican3 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Italy
    Thanks! :)
     
    banjo2 and alexander1970 like this.
  2. KleinesSinchen

    KleinesSinchen The Backup Reminder
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2018
    Messages:
    1,422
    Country:
    Germany
    To avoid searching countless old topics I’ll just ask here and hope somebody has an answer:

    Does anybody know what I have to do to get New Super Mario Bros. Wii running from DVD-R directly from disc channel? I’ve set Priiloader to force disc based games to use IOS 249. Other copies simply work. New Mario fails to load with “Error 002”
    Has this to do with the BCA protection? Legit disc also fails to even start when forcing IOS 249 is active in Priiloader (working fine otherwise).

    The backup loads and plays without real problems (slow loading like all DVD-R) when using Neogamma as loader.

    My Wii consoles don't have a modchip – softmodded by ModMii.
    =============

    Please don't tell me to use USB loading. I already do – working fine. I'm much too sensitive to noise to bear that wooshing sound from the drive the whole time when playing. This is for learning and completeness (and maybe building a fine Newer Super Mario Bros. DVD-R including printed cover and disc).
     
    jeannotte likes this.
  3. XFlak

    XFlak Wiitired but still kicking
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    10,266
    Country:
    Canada
    What do u have installed to slot 249? Try d2x v8 final with base 57
     
    KleinesSinchen and jeannotte like this.
  4. KleinesSinchen

    KleinesSinchen The Backup Reminder
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2018
    Messages:
    1,422
    Country:
    Germany
    That is what I already have. Just verified it.

    I found out Error 002 is not related to the BCA protection. The BCA thing is more subtle. It teases the user, lets them play a few minutes and then fails with "An error has occurred… blablabla". This is exactly what happens with my unmodifed image on DVD-R when turning off the patches Neogamma applies on the fly.

    The BCA protection does not explain why the game does not even start from disc channel. Neogamma also forces IOS249.

    This is – of course – pure cosmetic. Loading games with a backup loader instead of disc channel is okay. It still bothers me not to know why it fails.
     
    alexander1970 likes this.
  5. XFlak

    XFlak Wiitired but still kicking
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    10,266
    Country:
    Canada
    U have updates blocked?
     
    KleinesSinchen and alexander1970 like this.
  6. FancyNintendoGamer567

    FancyNintendoGamer567 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2017
    Messages:
    930
    Country:
    United States
    The only thing I can think close enough is just autobooting USB Loader GX and running games from there (as you can run games from disc in GX w/o installing them).
     
    KleinesSinchen likes this.
  7. alexander1970

    alexander1970 Austrian Guy - allowed make grammatical Errors
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2018
    Messages:
    6,687
    Country:
    Austria
    Hello.:)

    I can confirm the Error #002 with the following Priiloader Settings:

    P1360111.JPG

    I think the "Force Disc Games to run under IOS249" is the Culprit.:)

    P1360112.JPG P1360113.JPG P1360114.JPG P1360110.JPG
     
    jeannotte and KleinesSinchen like this.
  8. KleinesSinchen

    KleinesSinchen The Backup Reminder
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2018
    Messages:
    1,422
    Country:
    Germany
    What is the alternative? When starting the game without forcing it to IOS249 it also errors out (with black background and the generic "An error has occurred" garbage) because it loads IOS 53 which is not a cIOS. None of my backups run from disc channel without forcing ISO249 in Priiloader.

    Did you try this with your d2pro? This should load in any case.

    Blocking updates or not did not change anything.
    =============


    I think I will stop trying at this point. As already mentioned: It is a cosmetic issue and Neogamma does the trick (by also loading through IOS249 and this is puzzling).
    Nevertheless a big thank you to you all.
     
    jeannotte, alexander1970 and banjo2 like this.
  9. alexander1970

    alexander1970 Austrian Guy - allowed make grammatical Errors
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2018
    Messages:
    6,687
    Country:
    Austria
    On the d2pro Wii - Error #002
    On the softmodded Wii - Neogamma R9 B56 Auto always tries and sucessful loaded New Super Mario Bros on IOS53

    P1360116.JPG P1360117.JPG P1360118.JPG P1360119.JPG P1360120.JPG P1360121.JPG P1360122.JPG

    I think it has to do with this Setting.:)
     
    KleinesSinchen and jeannotte like this.
  10. XFlak

    XFlak Wiitired but still kicking
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    10,266
    Country:
    Canada
    I would never recommend darkcorp because it violates every wii it touches, but it would get this working. It basically installs patched IOSs to overwrite every stock IOS slot, so u would also need to disable the force 249 on disc channel hack if going in this direction.

    As I said, I'm not a fan of darkcorp, it's not without it's potential side effects. For example, the hackmii installer will refuse to run on fully dark corped wii's. But if u already got the hbc and bootmii installed maybe u don't care? There could very well be other side effects, I've never ventured down this particular road so can't speak from personal experience
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2020
  11. KleinesSinchen

    KleinesSinchen The Backup Reminder
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2018
    Messages:
    1,422
    Country:
    Germany
    From what I've read about it, I'm not a fan of DarkCorp either. I would have tested it temporary on a Wii with [email protected] for easy restore – but the DarkCorp installer does not even show more than a black screen (maybe I should try installing all then WADs with a WAD manager??)

    But the package contained the answer to the problem. It is indeed a check in newer games which throws the 002 when forced running under the wrong IOS.

    @alexander1970 Neogamma seems to patch the game and/or the IOS on the fly. No matter if setting to "block IOS reload" (using 249) or not (using 53), the backup disc works like a charm from Neogamma (with BCA check also disarmed).
    ==============

    I would say: Answer found, problem fully solved. Insisting on loading from Disc Channel would be really silly.

    Again: Thank you all!
     
  12. vowoqueoriginal

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Cote d'Ivoire
    How do I restore my wii to being unmodded?, I got an already modded one but the method used is very old and I don't want my wii to spontaneously get bricked again
    Last wii I had bricked after playing online and turning off the console, this is how I know how unreliable the modder was

    Pd: I know nothing about wii modding
     
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2020
  13. XFlak

    XFlak Wiitired but still kicking
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    10,266
    Country:
    Canada
    Use ModMii, it will overwrite any outdated mods and get u running the latest and greatest. No need to "virginize"
     
    jeannotte and alexander1970 like this.
  14. vowoqueoriginal

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Cote d'Ivoire
    How would I do that?
    Can I start using this guide even if the wii is modded?
    [wii.guide/letterbomb]
     
    jeannotte likes this.
  15. jeannotte

    jeannotte GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2016
    Messages:
    1,298
    Country:
    France
    Hello,

    Yes, Modmii will overwrite your old hack and update it with the report file "syscheck.CSV".
     
  16. XFlak

    XFlak Wiitired but still kicking
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    10,266
    Country:
    Canada
    Your can use its syscheck updater wizard or the main wizard and answer the q's like it's never been modded before
     
    jeannotte likes this.
  17. vowoqueoriginal

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Cote d'Ivoire
    So I got stuck up to the point in the guide where it asks me to do a nand backup, the wiimote isn't picking up, I made sure to sync it before, what to do?
    Sorry if I'm asking too many questions

    Nevermind, I read that the power button cycles through options while reset selects
     
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2020
    banjo2 likes this.
  18. vowoqueoriginal

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Cote d'Ivoire
    Sorry for the double post but there's a usb loader gx installed to the wii itself, from before I started this process, it's not a forwarder because it works even without an usb or sd card inserted in, should I delete this usb loader gx channel?
     
  19. XFlak

    XFlak Wiitired but still kicking
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    10,266
    Country:
    Canada
    Yes you can delete it from the wii's settings / data management menu
     
    jeannotte likes this.
  20. rgjr77

    rgjr77 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United States
    Hello, I was a fan of Darkcorp and never had an issue back in the day. Do you know what files are needed apart from the ones in the "lite" pack? I never discard anything and I know I have the wads in a folder just need to know which ones they are I was not the best at organizing and thought wiihacks.com would be around forever LOL ..... I haven't modded a wii in so long and want to run discs from disc channel, yes I know usbs etc... but disc is what I want.


    Thanks !!!
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - PARADISE,