1. Vilagamer999

    Vilagamer999 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2018
    Messages:
    113
    Country:
    United States
    Btw, what wiimote did you use? One with wii motion plus or not? I haven’t found any documentation saying if I can use a wii motion plus remote for this exploit...thanks!
     
  2. formattingmonster

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Argentina
    Hi, thanks for the link!. I'll give FEF1's guide a try when i get an sd
     
  3. ChibiMofo

    ChibiMofo NPC Chibi-Robo for Wii needs a fan translation
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2019
    Messages:
    220
    Country:
    Canada
    As it happens, proper USB flash drives work for most people who tried them - and continue to work for us. And sometimes when it doesn't, it isn't even related to using a flash drive but due to the particular flash drive itself. Just like how this issue was related to a specific hard drive and not because he was using a hard drive. If you had been using a flash drive, you would have told him not to and he would have switched possibly to the drive that ended up working for him and you would have concluded that flash drives are a problem. See how easy it is to be misled into believing that flash drives are actually a problem when they aren't? Small amounts of anecdotal evidence have led to some bad advice here. Quality flash drives from SanDisk (not counterfeits) work perfectly fine with Wii.
     
  4. alexander1970

    alexander1970 Austrian Guy - allowed make grammatical Errors
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2018
    Messages:
    6,629
    Country:
    Austria
    Hello.:)

    I also use(d) USB Sticks (Intenso 3.0 for Example) since 2016 and they works perfect for me.
    Until the USBLoader GX r1272 comes out...
    Since that Days the Issues with USB Sticks/Thumb Drives and that Kind has more than doubled.:D
    Also many USB 3.0 and higher USB Stick/Devices have "Troubles" with that Loader.
    The Older the Better ..maybe the Motto for USB Sticks.:(

    But not to say the USBLoader GX is bad,no.I think @Cyan ´s Intention was maybe a better Recognition and Loading Compatibility with new and big (>2 TB) HDDs.
    We may never find out...

    Thank you.:)
     
    jeannotte likes this.
  5. Mike6

    Mike6 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    I think I have more or less beaten Wii1, my cranky Wii, into shape. Its Boot2, HBC installed, usb lan adapter tested and working as connection 1, and in the process I've even played some Lego SW, but I haven't ventured into any real network stuff. Settings menu currently shows, ver 3.1u, but I think HackMii did a bunch of updates when I finally got it running.

    WiiConnect24, currently is off, due to me being chicken to turn it on.
    When I ran the wired connection test, took awhile, said OK, then wanted to do an update, I said no.
    With no SD installed, HBC shows on the channels menu, but when selected bubble screen shows network symbol and I see adapter blinking away, but 15 min later no change.

    Any general LAN/Internet suggestions?

    I'm thinking of running ModMii again to get the IOS to 4.3, and set a few more options, but figured better to ask here first. Thanks.
     
    jeannotte likes this.
  6. XFlak

    XFlak Wiitired but still kicking
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    10,262
    Country:
    Canada
    Use modmii and go to 4.1, or 4.3 if u like extra failed anti-homebrew measures because that's all they added in 4.2 and 4.3
     
    alexander1970 and jeannotte like this.
  7. Mike6

    Mike6 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    4.3 does sound tempting, but I picked 4.1u, which I think completes my noob phase.

    Slightly not clear with ModMii, does option fc clean up files on the pc, the SD, or the Wii, which I have officially nicknamed Wii1?
     
  8. XFlak

    XFlak Wiitired but still kicking
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    10,262
    Country:
    Canada
    On the SD

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Or I guess technically any folder you point it at
     
    jeannotte likes this.
  9. Turrican3

    Turrican3 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Italy
    Hey there!
    Don't think this deserves a dedicated thread, but feel free to tell me if this is actually the case.

    Sooo, to cut a long story short, I've just purchased a second hand PAL Wii, which was already softmodded. System firmware is 4.3

    With a little bit googling I discovered that among the things installed there's this Priiloader which has an option to turn the Wii into a region free console.

    Had a look at my genuine import software shelf and picked some random titles...

    Tried Super Paper Mario (USA), fine.
    Tried Captain Rainbow (Japan), fine

    Tried Super Mario Galaxy 2 (USA)... black screen.

    Is there anything I can do/check to see if I can run this game?
    Please note I don't care about being able to run backups (quite the contrary, I've purchased this console to finally turn to ISO all of my Gamecube/Wii collection) and I would like to make as few as possible - if any - further modifications, so playing with the aforementioned ISO of the game is not what I'm interested in.
     
    jeannotte and alexander1970 like this.
  10. alexander1970

    alexander1970 Austrian Guy - allowed make grammatical Errors
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2018
    Messages:
    6,629
    Country:
    Austria
    Hello.:)

    Important Points you can check before all other Actions please:

    - USB device (HDD or USB Stick/Thumbdrive and so on) ?
    - Format of your USB Device (FAT32 HIGHLY recommended)
    - One or more Partitions on your USB Device ?
    - USB Device recognized as MBR or GPT Drive ?

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    - How are your Wii Games transferred from the PC to the USB Device ?
    - USB Device plugged into the correct USB Port 0

    [​IMG]


    Maybe FIRST you can check your USBLoader´s Version(s).
    (Depending which one you use)
    - USBLoader GX v3.0 r1272
    - Configurable USBLoader v70 r78.11
    - WiiFlow Lite Mod - v5.4.0

    To get more Informations about your Softmod and how actual it is,you can make a sysCheck to see if all is ok.
    https://gbatemp.net/threads/posting-a-system-check.300279/

    Then you can use @XFlak ´s ModMii Tool for an update if needed.
    https://gbatemp.net/threads/modmii-for-windows-official-support-topic.207126/

    Thank you and
    Good Luck.:)
     
    Vilagamer999, Turrican3 and jeannotte like this.
  11. Turrican3

    Turrican3 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Italy
    @alexander1970

    Thanks for your reply!

    There must be a misunderstanding though, what I'm trying to run is the genuine, USA region Super Mario Galaxy 2 disc!

    And the other two games I mentioned are genuine discs, too.

    So absolutely no USB loader nor device involved here.
     
    banjo2 and alexander1970 like this.
  12. banjo2

    banjo2 little man
    Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2016
    Messages:
    1,016
    Country:
    United States
    Hold reset upon starting up a Wii, a menu like this should appear. Navigate to the highlighted option.
    IMG_20200123_165525372.jpg

    Do as you wish with this menu, but make sure you at least have these enabled, then save settings:
    IMG_20200123_165633290.jpg
    That should do the trick, I think.
     
  13. Turrican3

    Turrican3 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Italy
    Thanks banjo2!

    I will doublecheck later when I come back home... but I'm quite confident those option are already active: as a matter of fact, all three genuine discs do appear on the main Wii launch menu i.e. they are recognized, and can be launched.

    Only difference is, as I said, that Super Mario Galaxy 2 hangs with a black screen while Super Paper Mario and Captain Rainbow execute flawlessly, so I assume this is not related to the capability (or lack thereof) to run other region discs.
     
  14. alexander1970

    alexander1970 Austrian Guy - allowed make grammatical Errors
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2018
    Messages:
    6,629
    Country:
    Austria
    Hello.:)

    Your IOS56 is maybe outdated/not the correct Version.
    Super Mario Galaxy 2 needs this to work correctly (also the Disc Version !).

    Maybe a sysCheck gives you more Answers.:)
    https://gbatemp.net/threads/posting-a-system-check.300279/

    And because your Disc Update is blocked from PRIILOADER the Game Disc can not update it.


    Thank you.:)
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2020
    Turrican3 likes this.
  15. Turrican3

    Turrican3 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Italy
    Got it @alexander1970 !

    I will install (run) syscheck then, and report back later.
     
    jeannotte and alexander1970 like this.
  16. alexander1970

    alexander1970 Austrian Guy - allowed make grammatical Errors
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2018
    Messages:
    6,629
    Country:
    Austria
    A Correction please::)
    The Black Screen is the Result of the blocked Disc Update from PRIILOADER.:)

    If you use an USBLoader,the Update Part is REMOVED from the ISO with the WiiBackup Manager.
    And there for there is no Update and the Game works with "Block Disc Update" ENABLED in PRIILOADER.:)
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2020
    jeannotte and Turrican3 like this.
  17. Turrican3

    Turrican3 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Italy
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2020
    jeannotte likes this.
  18. alexander1970

    alexander1970 Austrian Guy - allowed make grammatical Errors
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2018
    Messages:
    6,629
    Country:
    Austria
    No defintely NO Update !!

    In the worst Case it overwrites/removes your Softmod completely !!
    I had this challenge last Week on my chipped Wii with Rockband 3 and Resident Evil.That is why I know about the Black Screen/Update Thing.

    Do not update from the Game Disc.


    That is why USBLoader is preferred over Disc Loading.:D
     
    jeannotte and Turrican3 like this.
  19. Turrican3

    Turrican3 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Italy
    Lol, didn't even have to try syscheck.

    Game just began working... by setting the Wii system language to English.

    Problem solved, thanks everybody!
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2020
  20. alexander1970

    alexander1970 Austrian Guy - allowed make grammatical Errors
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2018
    Messages:
    6,629
    Country:
    Austria
    Thank you for your Update.

    Another Checkpoint on our "To Help User" List.:)

    Glad to hear it works now.
    Have Fun with your Wii and Super Mario Galaxy 2.:yaywii:
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - PARADISE,