Tutorial NOOB friendly guide to Downgrading your 3DS (From FW <10.7!!)

Didja downgrade successfully from 10.4/10.5/10.6 ?

  • O3ds yes

    Votes: 137 41.6%
  • O3ds no

    Votes: 18 5.5%
  • New 3DS yes

    Votes: 128 38.9%
  • New 3DS no

    Votes: 18 5.5%
  • I'll wait until yls8/smea releases an entrypoint for me

    Votes: 73 22.2%

  • Total voters
    329

TheHaxForU

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2012
Messages
187
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
226
Country
United States
Oot3dHax's payload is version-specific. Once you downgrade, you need the payload for the downgraded firmware instead of for the original firmware. It's a good idea to have a second entrypoint for the downgrade process if your regular entrypoint is OoT3D.

(Hey, can we get that information added to the instructions?)
thanks ive got it all figured out now :]
 

NintroPower

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 17, 2015
Messages
35
Trophies
0
XP
81
Country
United States
I getting errors! I'm trying this on my New 3DS 10.7 with SMDhax and I checked my files in SafesysUpdater and then when I launch sysUpdater I get a black screen or the cannot get CIA infomations. Safesysupdater also says HAX INTI do I need to use a different entry point like OOThax?
 

pokota

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 14, 2016
Messages
30
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
122
Country
United States
I getting errors! I'm trying this on my New 3DS 10.7 with SMDhax and I checked my files in SafesysUpdater and then when I launch sysUpdater I get a black screen or the cannot get CIA infomations. Safesysupdater also says HAX INTI do I need to use a different entry point like OOThax?
According to the first post, SMDHax won't work with this.

Be aware that your OoT3dhax entry point is firmware-dependent and you'll need to change your entry payload to account for the downgraded version (meaning "don't use the 10.7 OoTHax save file to try and enter from 9.2 firmware"). If you have a physical card, that's your best bet for having an available entry point all the way through the process.
 

Nelkia

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 17, 2013
Messages
14
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
143
Country
Gambia, The
Hello, first of all thank you for your newbie friendly guide. I am trying to downgrade my n3ds. I have the version 9.4 on my N3ds ant want to downgrade it to 9.2. my problem is either i am getting a blackscreen entering the sYsupdatwe or i am getting the error "failes to get cia info" i tried it with webhax, menuhax and ninjhax (ninjacube on skY3ds). 80% of the time im getting the blackscreen.
 

Salamencizer

Cute Hot Whatever
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2015
Messages
802
Trophies
0
Age
21
Location
In your heart
Website
gbatemp.net
XP
698
Country
India
Hello, first of all thank you for your newbie friendly guide. I am trying to downgrade my n3ds. I have the version 9.4 on my N3ds ant want to downgrade it to 9.2. my problem is either i am getting a blackscreen entering the sYsupdatwe or i am getting the error "failes to get cia info" i tried it with webhax, menuhax and ninjhax (ninjacube on skY3ds). 80% of the time im getting the blackscreen.
Are you using SafeSysUpdater first? Do you have a folder called 'updates' (and not 'update' or 'downgrades') on the root of your SD Card?
 

Nelkia

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 17, 2013
Messages
14
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
143
Country
Gambia, The
So i started safeSysUpdater and it tells me everything is fine with my updates. So do i have to do SafeSysUpdater first everytime i restart my n3ds and then sysupdater? Well "failled to load Cia information" again lets try for more.

I am using the sysUpdater 0.4.2b
 
Last edited by Nelkia,

Salamencizer

Cute Hot Whatever
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2015
Messages
802
Trophies
0
Age
21
Location
In your heart
Website
gbatemp.net
XP
698
Country
India
So i started safeSysUpdater and it tells me everything is fine with my updates. So do i have to do SafeSysUpdater first everytime i restart my n3ds and then sysupdater? Well "failled to load Cia information" again lets try for more.

I am using the sysUpdater 0.4.2b
Hmmm try downloading the latest one
Or try PlaiSysUpdater
 
  • Like
Reactions: Nelkia

Nelkia

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 17, 2013
Messages
14
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
143
Country
Gambia, The
Hey so I am back with some news. I tried out the PlaiSysUpdater and well it worked i guess. I mean i am at 9.2-20U. But my Problem is. The Downgrade didnt go 100%, it told me that i have a problem or smthign and need to reboot my n3ds. So i did and got blackscreen, i had to get out my sd card and boot without it so i had to make the theme. now im using the DowngradeChecker and this is what it tells me:

Checking installed titles...
Title ID 0x000400300000b902
Extra title
Title ID 0x0004013820000002
Expected Version 0x42e0
Installed version 0x4706
Complete
Checking missing titles...
Complete
Press (A) to continue


So do i need to start the PlaiSysUpdater again and downgrade again?
 

Salamencizer

Cute Hot Whatever
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2015
Messages
802
Trophies
0
Age
21
Location
In your heart
Website
gbatemp.net
XP
698
Country
India
Hey so I am back with some news. I tried out the PlaiSysUpdater and well it worked i guess. I mean i am at 9.2-20U. But my Problem is. The Downgrade didnt go 100%, it told me that i have a problem or smthign and need to reboot my n3ds. So i did and got blackscreen, i had to get out my sd card and boot without it so i had to make the theme. now im using the DowngradeChecker and this is what it tells me:

Checking installed titles...
Title ID 0x000400300000b902
Extra title
Title ID 0x0004013820000002
Expected Version 0x42e0
Installed version 0x4706
Complete
Checking missing titles...
Complete
Press (A) to continue


So do i need to start the PlaiSysUpdater again and downgrade again?
Its not clear what you're trying to say
There is a downgrade check log in its folder. can you attach it here please?
 
  • Like
Reactions: Nelkia

Nelkia

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 17, 2013
Messages
14
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
143
Country
Gambia, The
I guess you mean the check.log file in the 3ds/downgrade_check foldger right?

Title ID 0x000400300000b902
Extra title
Title ID 0x0004013820000002
Expected version 0x42e0
Installed version 0x4706

That is the same i posted before.
Back to my Problem. I am not sure if i did it right that i got to 9.2-20U.
I got a Blackscreen saying i need to reboot my N3ds...( click the power button bla bla... if thats not working i should write to support).
And this is what downgrade_check is telling me and I am not sure if i did it right or wrong.
Thank you anyways for your effort you did a big progress in my desperation :)
 

Salamencizer

Cute Hot Whatever
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2015
Messages
802
Trophies
0
Age
21
Location
In your heart
Website
gbatemp.net
XP
698
Country
India
I guess you mean the check.log file in the 3ds/downgrade_check foldger right?

Title ID 0x000400300000b902
Extra title
Title ID 0x0004013820000002
Expected version 0x42e0
Installed version 0x4706

That is the same i posted before.
Back to my Problem. I am not sure if i did it right that i got to 9.2-20U.
I got a Blackscreen saying i need to reboot my N3ds...( click the power button bla bla... if thats not working i should write to support).
And this is what downgrade_check is telling me and I am not sure if i did it right or wrong.
Thank you anyways for your effort you did a big progress in my desperation :)
Okay, try running PlaiSysUpdater again.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: https://pcsx2.net/download/releases/windows.html Vlkan on the nightly build kicks ass