Non working custom IOS'es

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Ghork, Dec 22, 2009.

Dec 22, 2009

Non working custom IOS'es by Ghork at 6:34 PM (1,867 Views / 0 Likes) 15 replies

  1. Ghork
    OP

    Member Ghork GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    157
    Country:
    Sweden
    Hi, I was going to help my friend hack his wii, I installed homebrew channel, connected his wii to the internet and updated the wii to 4.1
    but after noticing the wii shop channel didn't work and installing new version with wad manager made the screen just go black when starting it, so I updated his wii to 4.2 and now the shop channel works but not some of the cIOS'es.
    So I tried the trucha bug restorer 1.11 but it doesn't seem to help...

    How can I fix this? please help!



    with the trucha bug restorer I tried to install patched IOS 36 with downgraded IOS 15 but it didn't help IOS 36 couldn't still install cIOS 249.
    the only thing happening from using trucha bug restorer was the homebrew channel going upside down...

    have been trying to fix his wii all day, very much time spent searching for solutions
     
  2. jazvdb

    Member jazvdb GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    835
    Location:
    In front of computer...
    Country:
    United States
    Most likely:

    Stubbed IOSs
     
  3. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    Use AnyTitle Deleter MOD (let it use IOS36 or 250 if it asks) to remove IOS249, 202, 222 and 223
     
  4. Ghork
    OP

    Member Ghork GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    157
    Country:
    Sweden
    shouldn't IOS 36 be able to install things via wad manager or cIOS installers?
     
  5. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    Yes, but as long as the stubs are there, the installers won't let you
     
  6. Ghork
    OP

    Member Ghork GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    157
    Country:
    Sweden
    and are there risks with removing IOS249, 202, 222 and 223? since they COULD be real and not stubs
     
  7. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    Even if they are "real", you can safely remove them
    But normally you can see the version numbers of those IOS in ATD
    If the versions of those are very small (less than 20) to be the "real" IOS things
    (while IOS250 has a very big number)
     
  8. pepxl

    Member pepxl GFX W!Z4RD

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    3,263
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    no risks at all in removing those IOS as no game or sys menu use them as the are custiom IOS stubs to prevent backup loading
     
  9. Ghork
    OP

    Member Ghork GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    157
    Country:
    Sweden
    yeah I think I've heard about that number thing xD that the high numbers was cIOS but I still thought it might be unsure to remove them


    Great thanks to all of you, gonna try the any title deleter mod now then [​IMG]
     
  10. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    Just to be clear: with "real" I mean the non-stubbed ones (so actually they're not real at all) [​IMG]
     
  11. Ghork
    OP

    Member Ghork GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    157
    Country:
    Sweden
    ehm, [​IMG] I get errors when trying to uninstall those IOSes using IOS 36 [​IMG]
    "Error! ISFS_open (ret = -106)" then "Ticket delete failed (no ticket?) -102" and then "Error! ISFS_delete (ret = -102)"
     
  12. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    if they still erase then who cares you got the job done.
     
  13. Ghork
    OP

    Member Ghork GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    157
    Country:
    Sweden
    it doesn't work they don't get deleted [​IMG]
     
  14. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    If you still have IOS250, try using that one with ATD
     
  15. giantpune

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
    when you use trucha bug restorer, make sure to enable all 3 patches to IOS 36. the fsperms one is off by default. onse you have IOS36 with all 3 patches, start the ATD mod that lets you select what IOS to use and pick 36. then try to delete the above mentioned IOSes. they are stubbed if they are version 65280.
     
  16. Ghork
    OP

    Member Ghork GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    157
    Country:
    Sweden
    oh I only had the ones that were from default x) I'll try that...

    EDIT: Thanks! now my only problem that remains is the upside down HBC but I bet thats easy to search for so I'll fix it [​IMG]
     

Share This Page